Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon 35D  (Read 6395 times)
Ronny Nilsen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 341


WWW
« on: February 09, 2006, 01:05:45 AM »
ReplyReply

This URL is to a Norwegian photo magazine, but it have som pictures of a 35D.

35D

The data is:
10 mega pixels
1.3x crop factor (not confirmed)

And from the picyures it looks like it vill use EF-S lenses also, not just EF mount. They claim to have two independent sources for this, but time will tell if this is true.  
Logged

jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2006, 05:31:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Well, it says that Canon will announce new products on February 21st, so I guess we'll just have to wait until then.
Logged

Jan
benInMA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186


« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2006, 08:40:03 AM »
ReplyReply

The pictures don't look very believable.

It looks like a photochop of one of the existing cameras.   It might be my eyes fooling me but the Pentaprism area looks smaller then the 20D.   And why would it be so noticeably wider?   (Note it is wider then it's grip)

The final thing is the weird 35D logo, if it is real it would be a very new & different label from anything Canon has put out before.

However if it's really 1.3x that's pretty sweet.   1.3x & 10mp is probably right about the same "sweet spot" that the 5D is at in terms of megapixels versus sensor size.

If this had come out before the 5D I'd almost surely have bought one (under the impression FF at a reasonable price was still impossible).
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2006, 09:45:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Looks real to me.
Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2006, 10:09:28 AM »
ReplyReply

1.3X crop would effectively kill any future sales of the EF-S lenses and also hurt the 5D sales. I doubt Canon would be so stupid.
Logged

macgyver
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 510


« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2006, 10:42:07 AM »
ReplyReply

If it's a 1.3,  I have to think it will be because they were forced to do so by technical llimitations, not by choice.  And, on that note, doesn't the D2x show that that size sensor works with that pixel count?
Logged
benInMA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186


« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2006, 10:58:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Canon and Nikon clearly have different ideas about acceptable tradeoffs in terms of megapixels vs. noise and how many pixels you should cram into a given sensor size.
Logged
Frere Jacques
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2006, 11:17:00 AM »
ReplyReply

I don't know Canon gear very well, but where did the AF-assist lamp go...?
Logged
benInMA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186


« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2006, 11:24:07 AM »
ReplyReply

The 1DII/1DsII/5D do not have an AF Assist lamp and really don't need one.

It would make a lot of sense for an update to the 20D to have the AF unit from the 5D, probably getting rid of most of the need for the lamp.

The lamp is annoying and obtrusive to subjects anyway.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad