Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Colorimeter drivers for 64 bit systems  (Read 19461 times)
danag42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2006, 09:01:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
But there's a huge snag. There are still no 64 bit drivers available for for my X-rite DTP94 colorimeter which I bought from ColorEyes, bundled with their software.

I find this huge delay in providing 64 bit drivers very strange. When I first enquired, I got 2 conflicting messages. One effectively said, 'there are no plans to develop 64 bit drivers. We have enough headaches with 32 bit drivers." Another reply immediately following, said in effect, 'we are expecting 64 bit drivers from X-Rite soon'.


[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=65298\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


If you have the Xrite Optix XR (which is the one you listed) I have the 64 bit drivers for you.  Email me at - info at gartenphotography.com - and Ill foirward the email with the drivers.

They are not released yet, but they've been tested and they work fine.

 

Make sure the subject includes the phrase Luminous Landscape so the spameater won't get it.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2006, 09:02:55 PM by danag42 » Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #21 on: May 31, 2006, 03:13:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
If you have the Xrite Optix XR (which is the one you listed) I have the 64 bit drivers for you.  Email me at - info at gartenphotography.com - and Ill foirward the email with the drivers.

They are not released yet, but they've been tested and they work fine.

 

Make sure the subject includes the phrase Luminous Landscape so the spameater won't get it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66964\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
 


Thanks, Dana. I've sent you an email.
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2006, 12:49:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Okay! For those interested, some feedback.

I've installed the driver sent to me from Dana. Installation appears to be successful. Device manager tells me the DTP-94 colorimeter is installed correctly.

I've downloaded and installed the latest software from ColorEyes, V.3.1.07. I've installed the latest driver from Matrox for my P650, V. 1.11.00.114.

Problem is, there's an error when calibrating the calibrator. At some point in the initial stage of calibration, the software asks one to place the colorimeter on a non-reflective black surface. I've chosen a surface painted with matte black paint. That's as non-reflective as one can get and works fine with my 32 bit system.

It doesn't work with my 64 bit system and I cannot proceed beyond that point.

Any suggestions?

ps. Perhaps I should give a bit more information. Intel Pentium D 3.00GHz, Win XP 64 bit, 2x76GB Raptors, 2x200GB WD SATA drives. 6GB RAM. Mother board: Asus P5WD2 Premium. No RAID configuration. Monitor: Sony CRT 19" G400, fairly old.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2006, 01:18:06 AM by Ray » Logged
Serge Cashman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200


« Reply #23 on: June 03, 2006, 12:28:23 AM »
ReplyReply

I run into the same problem when trying i1 LT with Coloreyes in 32 bit. Which probably means the drivers don't really work.
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2006, 11:24:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I run into the same problem when trying i1 LT with Coloreyes in 32 bit. Which probably means the drivers don't really work.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67246\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Not necessarily! The driver might be working perfectly (in fact 'device manager' tells me the DTP94 driver is working okay) but the ColorEyes software might not  support a 64 bit system. The latest Gretag Macbeth software, i1Match 3.6 is advertised as supporting Win XP 64 bit. Unfortunately, having downloaded that software, it doesn't recognise my colorimeter.

Having messed around installing and uninstalling both software and colorimeter several times as well as hooking up the computer to a different monitor, I now find I can't even open the ColorEyes software anymore.  The next stage I suppose is to update the BIOS of my motherboard.
Logged
tived
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 688


WWW
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2006, 10:27:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
  The next stage I suppose is to update the BIOS of my motherboard.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67281\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hi Mate,

Naah, you need swap the tires on your car, buy a new toaster and clap three times with your feet! ;-)

Damn, Ray, my heart goes out to you, i thought you went and bought the iOne? Plaza camera in Perth, still have a few of those Blue Eyes Lacie! i think @ AUD$330
though would have been nice to have coloreyes going.

dumb question but is coloreyes a free download, if so I could try it out for you with the above colormeter

cheers

Henrik
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2006, 11:52:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
is coloreyes a free download, if so I could try it out for you with the above colormeter

[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hey!, what a great idea, Henrik! Goodonya   . It so happens Integrated-Color have a trial version of their latest software. Good for 7 day or 9 sessions (or vice versa). That would be great if you could try it out. Their site is [a href=\"http://www.integrated-color.com/updates/index.html]here[/url] .

Thanks.

BTW, I cancelled my order for the EyeOne. There appeared to be no stocks in Australia. Kayell couldn't advise me when the next shipment was due, and in any case, I thought I might have been able to save a couple of hundred by getting the LaCie product. Unfortunately LaCie in Australia know nothing about using their Blue Eye with i1Match software, at which point I got confused. The software generally does not contain the colorimeter driver, as far as I see. The drivers are usually included in a separate folder on the software disc. LaCie do not include 64 bit drivers in their package, so I presume that the i1Match v3.6 software does include a 64 bit driver. Is this the case?
« Last Edit: June 04, 2006, 12:24:57 PM by Ray » Logged
danag42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #27 on: June 06, 2006, 08:40:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Okay! For those interested, some feedback.

I've installed the driver sent to me from Dana. Installation appears to be successful. Device manager tells me the DTP-94 colorimeter is installed correctly.

I've downloaded and installed the latest software from ColorEyes, V.3.1.07. I've installed the latest driver from Matrox for my P650, V. 1.11.00.114.

Problem is, there's an error when calibrating the calibrator. At some point in the initial stage of calibration, the software asks one to place the colorimeter on a non-reflective black surface. I've chosen a surface painted with matte black paint. That's as non-reflective as one can get and works fine with my 32 bit system.

It doesn't work with my 64 bit system and I cannot proceed beyond that point.

Any suggestions?


I use Monaco EZ Color with the Monaco Optx XR and have had no problem.  The monitor calibrates, and my prints match my screen as much as can be expected from transmissive to reflective media.  Perhaps the software doesn't like 64 bit.

Try this: Use Compatability Mode in your calibration software and set it to XP.  Since your OS is already XP, I assume that it means 32 bit XP.  

Let us know what happens!

« Last Edit: June 06, 2006, 08:43:39 PM by danag42 » Logged
tived
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 688


WWW
« Reply #28 on: June 07, 2006, 03:20:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Ray,

I am using the very setup! blue eye with iMatch 3.6 ....only bought it if it would work and I could test in on my box, and no problemo!
I am very pleased with it.

I doubt, that Lacie would acknowlede this officially (they are drones! not made to think independently!nor as a collection! sorry long story!) Anyway, it does work on my daughters life! head on the block
I can calibrate both my two dell on windows xp x64!!! and they are beautiful (if that is possible!) ;-) besides I wouldn't tell you this if it wasn't - would you like me to post you a screen grap! email me! I understand your hesitation!

Henrik
« Last Edit: June 07, 2006, 03:23:12 AM by tived » Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #29 on: June 07, 2006, 07:49:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
...besides I wouldn't tell you this if it wasn't - would you like me to post you a screen grap! email me! I understand your hesitation!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67599\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Henrik,
I never doubted that you are telling me like it is. It's just that my experience with computers makes me wary of new products, especially when they are not officially endorsed and trumpeted by the seller. For all I know, there may be some quirk in my system or conflict that might be cause the problem. If I were to buy a LaCie Blue Eye and for some 'not understood' reason it didn't work, I would have no recourse for a refund if the supplier never claimed it would work on a 64 bit system. For this reason, I'd prefer to pay a bit more for a ColorEyes Display 2 with i1Match 3.6 software which does claim to support 64 bit.

I'm still waiting for a reply from ColorEyes support regarding this issue.
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #30 on: June 07, 2006, 08:36:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Try this: Use Compatability Mode in your calibration software and set it to XP.  Since your OS is already XP, I assume that it means 32 bit XP. 

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67581\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Dana,
I don't see any 'compatibility mode' option in the software, but thanks for the suggestion.
Logged
tived
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 688


WWW
« Reply #31 on: June 08, 2006, 03:39:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Ray,

sorry that I came across a lot harsher then I did not intend that to be the case, please accept my apology!

I tried running the trail version of coloreyes from the website you gave me, with no luck.

My Lacie Blue eye, come up in device properties as Gretag Macbeth display 2, I guess if you buy the real macoy then there is no doubt.

did you have a version of color eyes that is 64bit capable? Hmm, like to try that!

Ray, once again I am really sorry if I have in anyway offended you

Henrik
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #32 on: June 08, 2006, 10:58:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Hey! Mate!, you haven't offended me at all. I've just sent you a PM.
Logged
Jeromee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #33 on: July 08, 2006, 05:14:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Ray,

I am in a same situation as you : owner of a ColorEyes Display+ X-Rite DTP94, and not being able to profile my display on XP 64.

My PC runs an XP 32 / XP 64 dual boot. My first try was therefore to assign my ColorEyes profile made under XP 32 as the default system profile of XP 64 (of course not using the Video LUT Loader since it crashes), expecting some little improvement in color display.

It did not worked at all, as if XP 64 were totally ignoring this system profile. and I had to live in XP 64 with a very unpleasant display look (ugly whitish).

I then downloaded and installed Eye One Match 3.6.1 software, expecting to get something of it, like a 64-bit DTP 94 driver for instance, which I didn't get, but instead I had the very good surprise to have my ColorEyes XP 32 profile now properly loaded by XP 64. Apparently Eye One Match installs some LUT Loader that is missing in XP 64.

I should check now if the overall system is reliable from a colorimetric point of view, i.e. if the same picture is displayed "almost the same" in both OS (it seems so at first sight).
Logged
Serge Cashman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200


« Reply #34 on: July 08, 2006, 06:59:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Apparently Eye One Match installs some LUT Loader that is missing in XP 64.

It does. Without an LUT loader there's no point assigning a profile (unless you don't use LUT adjustments during calibration, like when calibrating to native white point and gamma).
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #35 on: July 13, 2006, 09:38:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I then downloaded and installed Eye One Match 3.6.1 software, expecting to get something of it, like a 64-bit DTP 94 driver for instance, which I didn't get, but instead I had the very good surprise to have my ColorEyes XP 32 profile now properly loaded by XP 64. Apparently Eye One Match installs some LUT Loader that is missing in XP 64.

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=70103\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Jeromee,
Well, done! Is everything now working as it should? Have you had time to evaluate and compare profiles?

I resisted installing a dual boot, partly because a new copy of Win XP Pro is not free, partly because I'm always fearful of hassles taking up a lot of my time when I mess around with computers (I like to put a value on my time), partly because the performance of the full 64 bit system has some advantages which I didn't want to lose, such as use of 6GB of RAM, faster operation in PS and full 16x burning of DVDs (which doesn't occur on the same model of drive with the same discs on my 32 bit system) and partly because I never realised it would be possible to segue from a 32 bit installed profile to 64 bit.

Anyway, I received my 'Eye One Display 2' yesterday, downloaded the latest i1Match 3.6.1 software, and now have my 64 bit system calibrated and running smoothly. First impressions are, the accuracy of the match between screen and print is at least as good as the match I got with my 32 bit system (but I've had enough of pixel-peeping for a while   ). The 64 bit Epson drives for the 7600 work flawlessly and so does Qimage.

I also pixked up a LaCie Big Disk 500GB USB 2.0 external hard drive. With 500GB already installed internally on my 64 bit system, I should now have enough space to organise most of my photos. Of course I use DVDs as back-up.
Logged
tived
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 688


WWW
« Reply #36 on: July 15, 2006, 10:31:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Ray,

great to hear you are up and running again in full color ;-)

cheers

Henrik
A Dane Down Under
On the west coast ;-)
in the most remote capital village in the southern end of this planet ;-)
Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #37 on: July 16, 2006, 07:14:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Henrik
A Dane Down Under
On the west coast ;-)
in the most remote capital village in the southern end of this planet ;-)
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=70821\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hey! It's good to get away from it all, isn't it?  
Logged
danag42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #38 on: July 31, 2006, 09:19:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Dana,
I don't see any 'compatibility mode' option in the software, but thanks for the suggestion.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=67611\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The Compatability mode is in Windows, not the program.  Go to the place you start the software from, either the shortcut in the Programs menu or the desktop icon.  Right-click the shortcut instead of left-click, and you will see a tab called Compatability.  Turn it on and select Windows XP.

This can be done for any program on your machine.  It's very useful.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2006, 09:20:28 AM by danag42 » Logged
Ray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8874


« Reply #39 on: July 31, 2006, 05:23:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Right-click the shortcut instead of left-click, and you will see a tab called Compatability. Turn it on and select Windows XP.

This can be done for any program on your machine. It's very useful.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=72230\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Darn! This is what happens when one is not fully computer literate. It's too late now, however. My i1 Display 2 has done the job.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2006, 05:28:19 PM by Ray » Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad