Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Viewing Linked Images  (Read 11806 times)
dlashier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 518



WWW
« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2006, 07:49:16 PM »
ReplyReply

> It is also possible that the Apache configuration has been changed to disallow PHP/CGI/whatever from overriding content type etc.

That's the most reasonable explanation (rather than the board sw). I just assumed Mark administered the server also and had checked this - being an ISP I sometimes forget that many people use a hosting service.

- DL
Logged

Mark Guertin
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2006, 10:50:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Alhough I'm a bit too tired to say with certainty whether the following is relevant when PHP can set its own HTTP headers, consider the following anyway, but don't chase the geese for too long.

One typical reason is that the hosting provider sets a new configuration option in Apache, or that there is one set in .htaccess.  It is also possible that the Apache configuration has been changed to disallow PHP/CGI/whatever from overriding content type etc.

You might want to check if someone removed the option of overriding FileInfo (http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/mod/core.html#allowoverride).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=68475\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks for the reply Jani

I wish it was that simple (it's not a header or mime type issue with apache) .. but stay tuned have an update coming this week that should solve things for us, and get us up to date with IPB, but still retain some legacy functionality we need for our large member base.

Also just to be known, php can set it's own headers but this is also not the issue -- I know what it is but we have to upgrade to solve the issues without compromising some needed security fixes.

Mark
Logged
OnyimBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 284


WWW
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2006, 06:16:46 PM »
ReplyReply

I know Michael said no more "me toos", but that was nearly a month ago and I'm still having the same problem with firefox. IE starts to open the file then drops it, telling me the connection was reset.
Just me or still the same problem?
Bob.
Logged

Mark Guertin
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2006, 06:25:55 PM »
ReplyReply

The problem still exists.  I ran into a few issues with upgrading the forum software that I have to work out before we can upgrade, but it's in the works.  Sorry for the delays folks.

Mark
Logged
OnyimBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 284


WWW
« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2006, 07:42:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Mark. Other people seem to have worked out ways around the problem in "User Critiques" - could someone explain how? I've tried all the methods desrcibed so far without success - I either get ascii or a thumbnail, or nothing, and I'm feeling    left out!
Bob.
Logged

JRandallNichols
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72


« Reply #25 on: July 02, 2006, 09:11:44 PM »
ReplyReply

The only work-around I have seen is to use IE from Microsoft.  I'm not usually a conspiracy theorist, but since everything and other browsers worked until about  a month ago, doesn't this raise the question whether Microsoft itself may be the culprit?  I know this sounds pretty cheesy, but when IE is the last man standing, someone needs to ask the question.
Logged

Randy
OnyimBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 284


WWW
« Reply #26 on: July 02, 2006, 09:26:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks JR. IE now seems to be working on my machine. May have been the 2way satellite broadband set up I'm using.
Logged

jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2006, 06:40:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The only work-around I have seen is to use IE from Microsoft.  I'm not usually a conspiracy theorist, but since everything and other browsers worked until about  a month ago, doesn't this raise the question whether Microsoft itself may be the culprit?  I know this sounds pretty cheesy, but when IE is the last man standing, someone needs to ask the question.
No, the breakage has nothing to do with Microsoft directly, but Microsoft is partly to blame for implementing a browser that acts in a decisively insecure manner.

IE basically ignores what the web server says, and goes guessing on its own about the file type. This can lead to all sorts of interesting bugs.

Firefox and Opera try to adhere to the standards, and are "punished" for it.

So when people who write web software only test with IE, they're basically not testing well enough; that's a common enough problem, and has been a central point in web design literature for a decade.
Logged

Jan
Mark Guertin
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2006, 03:57:51 AM »
ReplyReply

This should (hopefully) now be fixed.  Tested in Safari, Firefox and IE ok.

It required some brute force header generation repair (they were doing some pretty bizarre things with the attachment headers like trying to force as inline downloads for some reason).  I reset it to something a little more sane.  

If it adversely affects any other functionality or anyone has problems with viewing attachments please let me know.

Mark
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7969



WWW
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2006, 11:24:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
This should (hopefully) now be fixed.  Tested in Safari, Firefox and IE ok.

It required some brute force header generation repair (they were doing some pretty bizarre things with the attachment headers like trying to force as inline downloads for some reason).  I reset it to something a little more sane. 

If it adversely affects any other functionality or anyone has problems with viewing attachments please let me know.

Mark
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=78083\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
And it works beautifully in Opera, too. Thank you, Mark!    

Eric
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
magicmarc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2006, 01:38:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Hey guys,

I'm having the same problem on my forum, can i ask what method was exactly taken to get around this?

Marc
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad