Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Minotla Raw files???  (Read 4479 times)
MrIconoclast
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


« on: July 21, 2006, 03:10:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,  I downloaded the first Windows version of Lightroom, axious to try it out.  The first thing I noticed is that the import command will import JPGs but not the Minolta Raw files from my A2.

Do I have to do something special to get Lightroom to import raw files?

I have looked around the menu system and can't find anything referring to RAW files or any type of plug-in I might need.    I thought Lightroom had a RAW convertor built into it, but maybe I am wrong.
Logged
Phuong
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 11:12:34 PM »
ReplyReply

not exactly the same thing, but RSE wouldn't open raw images from my KM Dimage 7 either. i hope in time this'll be fixed.
Logged
oldcsar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 126


« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2006, 12:50:47 AM »
ReplyReply

I have no problem opening my Digital Rebel (CRW) files. It imports normally without any hitches.

I'm not sure if Lightroom's configured to accept DNG (i haven't switched over yet. however, it would be moronic if their new program didn't support adobe's new format), but you could always try converting your A2 files into DNG and then importing them into LR.
Logged

michael
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4731



« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2006, 07:23:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Lightroom uses the same raw conversion code as does Camera Raw, therefore any camera supported by CR is supported by Lightroom.

DNG is fully supported in Lighroom, both for input and output.

Michael
« Last Edit: July 22, 2006, 07:25:16 AM by michael » Logged
Malcolm MacGarvin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2006, 12:22:53 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi,  I downloaded the first Windows version of Lightroom, axious to try it out.  The first thing I noticed is that the import command will import JPGs but not the Minolta Raw files from my A2.
Hello there - not sure how helpful this is but the mac version imported my A2 raw files without any problems
Logged
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6925


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2006, 05:40:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

I started testing Lightroom previous tuesday, after an Iceland trip (without seeing Mr. Reichman). I shot mostly with KM 7D but also had some pictures taken with A2. Both Lightroom and RSP were working fine for me.

I feel that RSP is better than Lightroom regarding RAW conversion, but I assume that Adobe will merge technology from RSP into Lightroom, now that have acquired Pixmantec. My judgement is naturally linfluenced by experience and working habbits with the Pixmantec product.

Best regards

Erik


Quote
Hi,  I downloaded the first Windows version of Lightroom, axious to try it out.  The first thing I noticed is that the import command will import JPGs but not the Minolta Raw files from my A2.

Do I have to do something special to get Lightroom to import raw files?

I have looked around the menu system and can't find anything referring to RAW files or any type of plug-in I might need.    I thought Lightroom had a RAW convertor built into it, but maybe I am wrong.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71414\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

MrIconoclast
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2006, 09:37:53 AM »
ReplyReply

I have found that LightRoom works  with my Minolta RAW files.  I think the initial problem was caused by the fact I was just starting up the learning curve and did not operate LightRoom correctly.

Also, LR is very slow on my 4 year old Dell, and I may have mistaken the snail's pace processing for not being able to process the RAW files.   LR really crawls on my machine which does meet the minimum specs.   As a result it takes a very long time for the RAW file images to appear on the screen.  Jpg files show up much faster in comparison and that gives the impression that the RAW files are not being processed by LR.

Maybe Santa will bring me an Apple Mac Pro???
« Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 09:40:00 AM by MrPaul » Logged
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6925


WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2006, 09:08:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

I actually was guessing that the speed issue may have been your problem. Handling RAW files is unfortunately quite slow. I have been mostly using RawShooters Premium since it was released. I would say that RSP is a much more finished produvt than Lightroom, but RSP is at the end of the road and Lightroom has not even crossed the start line.

I feel that it is our obligation, as beta testers, to make suggestions to Adobe on how we feel they could improve their product.

Best regards

Erik

Quote
I have found that LightRoom works  with my Minolta RAW files.  I think the initial problem was caused by the fact I was just starting up the learning curve and did not operate LightRoom correctly.

Also, LR is very slow on my 4 year old Dell, and I may have mistaken the snail's pace processing for not being able to process the RAW files.   LR really crawls on my machine which does meet the minimum specs.   As a result it takes a very long time for the RAW file images to appear on the screen.  Jpg files show up much faster in comparison and that gives the impression that the RAW files are not being processed by LR.

Maybe Santa will bring me an Apple Mac Pro???
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=72810\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

DaveLon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2006, 01:39:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Not sure but using Lightroom on the Mac, I find no specific slow downs with RAW files from either Minolta Dimage A2 or Canon S70 compaired to Canon D20 RAW files and no specific slowdown overall.

Dave S
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad