Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR to support Canon's CR2 format?  (Read 3527 times)
pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« on: September 19, 2006, 11:18:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Does anyone have info on whether LR will support Canon's CR2 format? I have to presume that that will be the case, given Canon's shift from CRW to CR2. Any specific info relating to this would be appreciated. Thanks--
Logged
Paul Sumi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216


« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2006, 12:24:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Does anyone have info on whether LR will support Canon's CR2 format? I have to presume that that will be the case, given Canon's shift from CRW to CR2. Any specific info relating to this would be appreciated. Thanks--
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76943\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Both Mac and PC versions already do.  Not sure it supports the 30D/400D flavors yet, though.

Paul
« Last Edit: September 19, 2006, 12:26:44 PM by PaulS » Logged

61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2006, 01:09:17 PM »
ReplyReply

It supports all Canon cameras that Camera Raw 3.4 supported.
Logged
pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2006, 01:41:34 PM »
ReplyReply

The new Canon XTi CR2 format is not "recognized" by LR. So it's not cut & dry. No new owners of the XTi can use the beta version until Adobe adds Canon's format. Interesting, Mac's Aperature has already adopted the new CR2.  
Logged
seanmcfoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2006, 07:59:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The new Canon XTi CR2 format is not "recognized" by LR. So it's not cut & dry. No new owners of the XTi can use the beta version until Adobe adds Canon's format. Interesting, Mac's Aperature has already adopted the new CR2. 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=76964\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Well have you imported a file into Aperture from the 400D yet?
The CR2 format has been around a long time. And Lightroom does support it. If you were specific about the 400D, then you are refering to new RAW, rather than a new file type.
The 400D is a new camera, barely 2 weeks old and even the version of DPP that supports is not publicly available. Beta 3 is how old now? Beta will support the 400D and even the Nikon D80, before ACR 3.6 will.
Logged

GregW
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 305


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2006, 06:45:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well have you imported a file into Aperture from the 400D yet?
The CR2 format has been around a long time. And Lightroom does support it. If you were specific about the 400D, then you are refering to new RAW, rather than a new file type.
The 400D is a new camera, barely 2 weeks old and even the version of DPP that supports is not publicly available. Beta 3 is how old now? Beta will support the 400D and even the Nikon D80, before ACR 3.6 will.
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The changes to Camera raw are nicely summarized over at Rob Galbraith's site.

[a href=\"http://robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-7898-8573]http://robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page....cid=7-7898-8573[/url]

The D80 and 400D will be supported in the next release (3.6) due in the fall.  Depending on when the next Lightroom beta arrives it may include support for these two soon to be popular bodies.
Logged
seanmcfoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2006, 01:00:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The changes to Camera raw are nicely summarized over at Rob Galbraith's site.

http://robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page....cid=7-7898-8573

The D80 and 400D will be supported in the next release (3.6) due in the fall.  Depending on when the next Lightroom beta arrives it may include support for these two soon to be popular bodies.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77049\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thomas Knoll has already said that Beta 4 will support them.
Logged

pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2006, 06:34:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks to all who have replied. No, LR Beta 3 does not support the current 400D iteration of CR2; I've tried--no luck. Yes, Aperature does. But all indications are that Beta 4 will cover these new iterations. So new XTi owners will not be left in the cold.
Logged
seanmcfoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2006, 10:15:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Thanks to all who have replied. No, LR Beta 3 does not support the current 400D iteration of CR2; I've tried--no luck. Yes, Aperature does. But all indications are that Beta 4 will cover these new iterations. So new XTi owners will not be left in the cold.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=77102\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'm opening the box on my 400D as I type...
Logged

pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2006, 11:11:43 AM »
ReplyReply

The new Beta 4 imports CR2 (400D) XTi files beautifully. Hooray!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad