Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom Beta 4.1 - Now available  (Read 5865 times)
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1913



WWW
« on: October 19, 2006, 08:28:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Not sure oif anyone else has already posted this - but there has been an update and 4.1 is now available for download.

Bug Fixes

Photoshop Lightroom beta 4.1 was posted on 10/19/2006 in order to resolve some issues with the original beta 4 build. The following bugs were fixed:

There was an issue where a user could not edit a metadata field after editing it for another picture which has been fixed.
The preview cache was using wrong relative path.
There were a couple fixes in the database update feature, fixing a few situations where the database would not update properly.  Also, upgraded libraries would not always allow images to be moved between shoots.
There was an problem selecting an existing folder for web galleries. The web gallery would move all images previously in the folder to the trash silently. This has been fixed. All contents of directory where a web gallery is saved are sent to the trash with no warning. Also in web, large exported galleries will now have all the images expected.
The app had a couple unexpected failures canceling dialogs. Selecting cancel on the Enter Password dialog now reliably works, as does selecting cancel in Page Setup.
The shoot selection should no longer change unexpectedly.
The "Additional External Editor" preference and the "Edit in Photoshop" preference are now separate.
If you had mixed managed photos and by reference files, the paths of by reference files would be changed when changing the location of the managed folder.
Images exported with Constrain Pixels would produce the wrong result for portrait-oriented images .
There are some changes in the relationship between Luminance and Saturation.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 08:32:19 PM by JHolko » Logged

jeffball
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 09:33:22 PM »
ReplyReply

A quick go-round with the Windows version indicates the "jumping bug" from "Shoot to Shoot" has been fixed.  That's a relief to no longer need to resort to other database workarounds to avoid the jumping bug.  Thanks to Adobe for pretty quick response.
Logged

picnic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 11:01:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
A quick go-round with the Windows version indicates the "jumping bug" from "Shoot to Shoot" has been fixed.  That's a relief to no longer need to resort to other database workarounds to avoid the jumping bug.  Thanks to Adobe for pretty quick response.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81269\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Jeff--is this the one that jumped if you had nested folders?  I had dragged my nested folders out--as per the temporary solution at the ADobe forums, but it was a pain in the neck as they ended up not the way I wanted them.  Need to dl the new beta and try it.

Diane B
Logged
ranjans
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2006, 02:46:01 AM »
ReplyReply

How do we install this new update, do we overwrite it or uninstall the old version, if so then what happenes to the alreday imported LR database?
Any pointer in that direction?
Logged
picnic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2006, 07:57:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
How do we install this new update, do we overwrite it or uninstall the old version, if so then what happenes to the alreday imported LR database?
Any pointer in that direction?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81290\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

On another forum I learned that its necessary to uninstall 4.0 first.  I'm assuming the library will remain as it did when upgrading from 3.0 to 4.0, but don't know that for sure.  I just dled it and haven't installed yet.

Diane
Logged
James DeMoss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2006, 08:14:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
How do we install this new update, do we overwrite it or uninstall the old version, if so then what happenes to the alreday imported LR database?
Any pointer in that direction?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81290\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I was able to install over Beta 4 with out a hitch on any of my machines. One of which is a 1.6 Celeron Laptop with 512megs. Lightroom is evolving just great!

Cheers :-)

___

James
Logged
jeffball
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2006, 08:29:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Like James, I installed over previous version 4 and it worked fine.  I simply replied "yes" to the "update library" prompt (or something similar.)  I had "jumping" occuring when I viewed "shoots" with filter "on" or "off" and now it is stable in that Library viewing mode.  So far...so good...
Logged

ranjans
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2006, 09:07:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Like James, I installed over previous version 4 and it worked fine.  I simply replied "yes" to the "update library" prompt (or something similar.)  I had "jumping" occuring when I viewed "shoots" with filter "on" or "off" and now it is stable in that Library viewing mode.  So far...so good...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81330\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks I will just overwrite the old version.
Logged
James DeMoss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2006, 09:12:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Thanks I will just overwrite the old version.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81338\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

A word of caution, if Lightroom goes to BETA 5, do a complete reinstall and backup important images first. Since 4.1 was a "mild update" I tried the overwrite as part of my evaluation of this BETA and my experience with beta products. ADOBE forums gave me the confidence that there would be little consequence to doing so.

Cheers ;-)

___

James
Logged
spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2006, 12:54:54 PM »
ReplyReply

whats the build # for 4.1?
on the splash screen is still says it's beta 4, not 4.1?
Logged
ranjans
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2006, 12:59:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
whats the build # for 4.1?
on the splash screen is still says it's beta 4, not 4.1?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81379\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I just uninstalled the old version & reinstalled the new version, it asked for updating the library & it did it quite sucessfully.

Splash screen still says beta v4 but the file version is updated.
Logged
James DeMoss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2006, 01:00:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
whats the build # for 4.1?
on the splash screen is still says it's beta 4, not 4.1?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81379\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

 The Build # number is 257134
Logged
spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2006, 01:04:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The Build # number is 257134
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81382\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

mine says 264255 on the spalsh screen?
the splash screen also says "adobe lightroom beta 4" not 4.1
do i still have beta 4 and not 4.1 on my comp? i just
downloaded and installed it???
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2904



WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2006, 02:17:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
mine says 264255 on the spalsh screen?
That's correct.

John
Logged

KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 632


« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2006, 04:26:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
A word of caution, if Lightroom goes to BETA 5, do a complete reinstall and backup important images first. Since 4.1 was a "mild update" I tried the overwrite as part of my evaluation of this BETA and my experience with beta products. ADOBE forums gave me the confidence that there would be little consequence to doing so.

Cheers ;-)

___

James
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81340\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I believe that there will not be a Beta 5. If I remember correctly, Adobe stated that Beta 4 would be the final beta before release in '07.
Logged

The destination is our goal but its the journey that educates us.
katemann
Guest
« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2006, 07:58:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Adobe advises to uninstall 4.0 and reinstall the new version. Many were installing on top of 4 and found that the version number and build number were not updating properly (and perhaps the program). Better safe than in a mess where beta software is concerned.

264255 is the new version number.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad