Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Dell Ultrasharp 2405FPW  (Read 14091 times)
spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« on: October 22, 2006, 04:03:39 PM »
ReplyReply

This seems like a great deal for the $, but am I being naive?  Can I use it for critical editing?

thanx in advance
Logged
ARD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 293



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2006, 04:54:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Native resolution 1920 x 1200  
Claimed viewing angle (vertical) 178
Claimed viewing angle (horizontal) 178
Brightness 500 cd/m
Contrast ratio 1000:1  
Pixel response time 16 ms
Vertical scan range 76 Hz
Horizontal scan range 81 kHz

Specs look good
Logged
spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2006, 05:42:03 PM »
ReplyReply

sorry all, i meant the 20" version: 2007WFP

anyone using it or know about it? dell has it for only about $340
here: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/Product...uctlisting.aspx
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2006, 09:08:15 PM »
ReplyReply

The early production 7 series has some issues but they have been resolved for months.   The 5 series tested slightly better, but the 7 is still phenominal.  I use the 2405 and absolutely LOVE it, it calibrated perfectly!  My advice is to not limit yourself to the 20 - you will kick yourself in the pant VERY soon.  The 24 can be had for just $200 more with coupon and shipping deals.  I got mine for $650 shipped last November and they continue to fall.  Google for 'dell coupon' and keep checking - at least every other month they are cut deeply.
Logged

Roy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2006, 09:16:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
sorry all, i meant the 20" version: 2007WFP

The Dell 2005 WFP uses the same Philips 20.1 " LCD panel used in Apple 20" displays. It has good colour and a wide viewing angle. I assume (but don't know) that the new 2007 uses the same panel with newer electronics.

Dell makes its own backlighting. A problem with the 2005 is that minimum brightness is very bright, around 200 cd/m^2, much higher than most people use for photo editing. I suspect (but once again don't know) that the 2007 has the same problem. Dell makes displays for the general computer market where brighter is better.
Logged

Roy
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2006, 09:30:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes the backlighting is the same - however the 'problem' is simply hype.  Yes the *hardware* lower limit is too high, however using the software driver to slightly reduce it into calibration, it is perfect.  Just because you have to use software *and* hardware to get it done is not an issue in actual use.  People report this 'problem' on forums ad nausium, and having one in front of my face, I can tell it's a non-issue.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 09:30:31 PM by kaelaria » Logged

spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2006, 09:38:40 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Yes the backlighting is the same - however the 'problem' is simply hype.  Yes the *hardware* lower limit is too high, however using the software driver to slightly reduce it into calibration, it is perfect.  Just because you have to use software *and* hardware to get it done is not an issue in actual use.  People report this 'problem' on forums ad nausium, and having one in front of my face, I can tell it's a non-issue.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81685\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Thanx so much,

I have to admit here, that I am a mere novice getting started in serious photo editing.   If I just run a quality hardware calibration device on the dell, will it take
care of this issue....or is there something else I would need to do?

thanx agian!
Logged
spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2006, 09:44:57 PM »
ReplyReply

kaelaria,

I've also read about banding issues w/dvi.
has this been fixed?
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2006, 09:59:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes they have, and yes all you need is a good calibrator.  I use the Eye One, and it's flawless.
Logged

ericstaud
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 384


WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2006, 10:01:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi kaelaria,

What brighness level do you adjust your Dell to?

-Eric
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2006, 10:15:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Hardware Brightness all the way down.  With the current Nvidia drivers, software Brightness is on 41%, which correlates to 82% on the previous generation drivers - don't ask me why they switched scales.  RGB are of course at thier custom levels.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2006, 10:15:58 PM by kaelaria » Logged

spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2006, 10:52:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hardware Brightness all the way down.  With the current Nvidia drivers, software Brightness is on 41%, which correlates to 82% on the previous generation drivers - don't ask me why they switched scales.  RGB are of course at thier custom levels.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81693\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

kaelaria,

I though you just said you let the calibrater adjust the brightness, and don't do it manually?  Does your above quote contradict that?
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2006, 11:16:32 PM »
ReplyReply

No I didn't and that's not how they work anyway.  The calibration file does not adjust contrast and brightness.  You set those interactively with the calibration program before the color profile is measured and set.

By 'it calibrates perfectly' I mean adjusting the controls gets it into the range prefered by the calibration program perfectly.  Then the program does it's thing and viola, you have your profile.
Logged

jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603



WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2006, 05:20:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Yes the backlighting is the same - however the 'problem' is simply hype.  Yes the *hardware* lower limit is too high, however using the software driver to slightly reduce it into calibration, it is perfect.  Just because you have to use software *and* hardware to get it done is not an issue in actual use.  People report this 'problem' on forums ad nausium, and having one in front of my face, I can tell it's a non-issue.
It is a problem, because if you adjust the brightness in software, you also reduce the available luminosity range per 8-bit channel. Or in other words; you'll have less than the full range of 256 intensities per colour.

This is not a "non-issue".  When you're evaluating your images in preparation for printing or display on other, calibrated monitors, you're likely to get "problems".

You can read more about this in this thread or [http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=9613&hl=dell+2405]this thread (see quote of Karl Lang by neoprinter)[/url].
Logged

Jan
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2006, 07:35:51 AM »
ReplyReply

If this was a discussion about 100% accurate professional equipment I would agree.  But the almost imperceptible amount that it needs to be dimmed (which yes, in an 8 bit environment will cut the available resolution of the gamut by a small amount) would be an issue.  This however, is not - it's just a guy at home like me, who will not even be able to see the difference nor would ever need to.  If you actually had one, you would know, and would know how much people blow this out of proportion without ever actually using one.

My prints match my screen as well as I can see with my own eyes.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2006, 07:59:22 AM by kaelaria » Logged

jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603



WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2006, 08:12:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
If this was a discussion about 100% accurate professional equipment I would agree.  But the almost imperceptible amount that it needs to be dimmed (which yes, in an 8 bit environment will cut the available resolution of the gamut by a small amount) would be an issue.  This however, is not - it's just a guy at home like me, who will not even be able to see the difference nor would ever need to.
The guy wrote, and I quote:

Quote
Can I use it for critical editing?

"Critical editing" does not imply regular home use. It implies that the original poster wants to do, well, critical editing.

Quote
If you actually had one, you would know, and would know how much people blow this out of proportion without ever actually using one.
Read the linked threads instead of making and posting wild assumptions.

You're handing out what is, in my opinion, bad advice, based on those assumptions.

Sure, it might work for your "guy at home" purposes, I'm not disputing that, but that wasn't what was asked for.
Logged

Jan
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2006, 08:31:21 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm a guy at home, and I do critical editing.  I guess our definition of critical editing is different.  I'm not a studio using it to make a living.  I use it to critically edit my shots to make prints.  Incidently the gamut of the monitor, even dimmed, is beyond paper/printers to the best of my knowledge.
Logged

spphoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56


« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2006, 09:10:07 AM »
ReplyReply

I guess I should clarify, yes I am a guy at home, but I intend to submit to an agency.
I'm looking for all input here and it's been apprecieted from both of you.  

...so if this is for an agency (albeit a small one), can I reley on the dell?

also, the dell has a composite video in port.  My camera connects to the "video in" port on a tv, and the camera's lcd is displayed on the tv, can I do the same with the dell's composite video in port, or is that different?

Thanx!
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2006, 09:11:38 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
...so if this is for an agency (albeit a small one), can I reley on the dell?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81754\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


I have no idea, I have never done so (yet), and am not aware of how critical that is to doing so.  Hopefully someone who has, or knows, and has used the Dells can comment.
Logged

kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2184



WWW
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2006, 09:13:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
also, the dell has a composite video in port.  My camera connects to the "video in" port on a tv, and the camera's lcd is displayed on the tv, can I do the same with the dell's composite video in port, or is that different?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=81754\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes, you can.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad