Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Raw Conversion and Resolution  (Read 3224 times)
Jonathan Ratzlaff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 193


« on: November 05, 2006, 07:12:01 PM »
ReplyReply

One frustration in Lightroom raw conversion is the limited resolution settings available; at least at first glance.  It may be important to me because I am using a Fuji S-2 camera and there is a lot more image datea in a 12MP conversion than there is in a 6MP conversion.   So there is a tradeoff; good image adjustment, low resolution and resultant loss of image quality when exported into Photoshop
Logged
jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2006, 08:44:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
One frustration in Lightroom raw conversion is the limited resolution settings available; at least at first glance.  It may be important to me because I am using a Fuji S-2 camera and there is a lot more image datea in a 12MP conversion than there is in a 6MP conversion.   So there is a tradeoff; good image adjustment, low resolution and resultant loss of image quality when exported into Photoshop
I'm not sure exactly what it is that you're complaining about.

When, for instance, I edit a roughly 13 MPx 5D image in Photoshop, that's fine by Lightroom. I can also export it to e.g. DNG in full size, or constrain the image dimensions freely.

Are you sure that you're using the latest version of the Beta? Check that you have build 264255 (Help->About Adobe Lightroom in Windows, Lightroom->About Adobe Lightroom in the Mac version).
Logged

Jan
61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2006, 10:06:03 AM »
ReplyReply

He has one of the "Super CCD" Fuji cameras that make the dubious claim that their 6mp camera contains so much detail due to the honeycomb sensor design that the image can be up-rezzed to 12mp and it will look like a native 12mp image. I haven't personally seen any evidence of that being the case but that is beside the point here.

The camera is natively only 6mp and so LR only outputs it at 6mp. ACR has the ability to up-rezz upon output and maybe that ability will be included in LR by the time it reaches 1.0.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2006, 10:07:22 AM by 61Dynamic » Logged
John Sheehy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 838


« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2006, 01:44:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
He has one of the "Super CCD" Fuji cameras that make the dubious claim that their 6mp camera contains so much detail due to the honeycomb sensor design that the image can be up-rezzed to 12mp and it will look like a native 12mp image. I haven't personally seen any evidence of that being the case but that is beside the point here.

The camera is natively only 6mp and so LR only outputs it at 6mp. ACR has the ability to up-rezz upon output and maybe that ability will be included in LR by the time it reaches 1.0.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83812\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

While the claim is indeed dubious, it is impossible to render the full resolution that the camera does capture with only 6MP.  IOW, it takes 12MP in the output to display the 6MP captured.
Logged
61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2006, 02:59:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
While the claim is indeed dubious, it is impossible to render the full resolution that the camera does capture with only 6MP.  IOW, it takes 12MP in the output to display the 6MP captured.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=83842\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
No offense, but that doesn't make sense. You can't create something from nothing. If the data didn't exist in the 6mp file, it still won't exist when interpolated up to 12mp.

Granted, due to the unique design of the chip, Fuji may just have some tricks up the sleeve in the way their software works the file to make it more efficient at extracting detail above 6mp compared to other raw developers.
Logged
Jonathan Ratzlaff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 193


« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2006, 07:32:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Actually the resolution is higher than a 6mp camera.  It is much closer to 8MP as the dpreview results will protray.  At any rate I do get much less resolution from an image developed in lightroom as compared to ACR and it is frustrating not being able to take advantage of it.
Logged
jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2006, 07:51:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Actually the resolution is higher than a 6mp camera.  It is much closer to 8MP as the dpreview results will protray.  At any rate I do get much less resolution from an image developed in lightroom as compared to ACR and it is frustrating not being able to take advantage of it.
I'm not sure whether you are confirming what the others have assumed here or not, but if you are, then the problem does not lie in developing nor exporting, but rather in importing into Lightroom.

This seems rather strange, since Lightroom uses or at least used the same raw engine as Photoshop/ACR.

When you view your raw image in the library, what resolution does it claim that your image has, in number of pixels width x height (see example below)?

[attachment=1158:attachment]
Logged

Jan
Jonathan Ratzlaff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 193


« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2006, 11:59:02 PM »
ReplyReply

It brings it in at 6MP as does ACR in photoshop.  It is just that output isn't there.  The import is raw sensor data and the conversion seems to be more limited  as far as resolution is concerned.  Probably one of the reasons for the difference is that  Fuji is the only user of a hexagonal sensor array and as a result most raw converters ignore it completely.
Logged
stewarthemley
Guest
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2006, 04:07:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
It brings it in at 6MP as does ACR in photoshop.  It is just that output isn't there.  The import is raw sensor data and the conversion seems to be more limited  as far as resolution is concerned.  Probably one of the reasons for the difference is that  Fuji is the only user of a hexagonal sensor array and as a result most raw converters ignore it completely.
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Silkypix 3 has a setting specifically for the Fuji cameras. It's available on a 30 day free trial here  [a href=\"http://www.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIX/english/]http://www.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIX/english/[/url]
Logged
indianavince
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 32


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2006, 09:23:56 AM »
ReplyReply

I am a very long-time Fuji user and am always getting comments about how clean my "12MP"--34GB files are!

Fuji is an oddball the Bibble folks and Aperature have yet been able to embrasse the files.


Now the S3 is confusing with the ability to turn on and off the B+W pixels in Raw capture... I most shoot with them off as it slows the camera down.  IF (seldom) I choose to use the B+W pixels and extended range I use it in jpeg capture mode only.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2006, 09:26:32 AM by indianavince » Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad