Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: PK Sharpener and Windows Vista?  (Read 14329 times)
jlmwyo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


« on: November 11, 2006, 05:07:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Has anyone had any sucess at installing PK Sharpener under Windows Vista? For some reason it won't take my key at all, just flat refuses to use it. Weird stuff. Is there a workaround?
Logged

Images of Wyoming

Link To My Gallery

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 11:27:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Since Vista is, as yet not an offically supported OS for any version of Photoshop, PixelGenius is not supporting it as yet. Whether or not it will work is simply unknown...it's beta, after all.
Logged
bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2006, 08:04:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Since Vista is, as yet not an offically supported OS for any version of Photoshop, PixelGenius is not supporting it as yet. Whether or not it will work is simply unknown...it's beta, after all.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84746\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Well, Vista has been in beta for years now and if Pixel Genius does not know if PK sharpener will work with Vista, there is a serious problem with their software development. One purpose of the beta is to allow software and hardware developers to make sure that their product works with the beta version.

I just read that Vista has been released for manufacture and its release is imminent.
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2006, 08:17:51 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well, Vista has been in beta for years now and if Pixel Genius does not know if PK sharpener will work with Vista, there is a serious problem with their software development. One purpose of the beta is to allow software and hardware developers to make sure that their product works with the beta version.

I just read that Vista has been released for manufacture and its release is imminent.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84776\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Also the Vista Release Candidate has been out for a bit, surely someone has had a look...
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2006, 10:36:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Again, since Vista is -NOT- an OS officially supported by Photoshop, PixelGenius can -NOT- officially support it. We produce plug-ins for Photoshop...not for Vista. And, an RC is not final, it's still "beta".
Logged
jlmwyo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2006, 01:28:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Again, since Vista is -NOT- an OS officially supported by Photoshop, PixelGenius can -NOT- officially support it. We produce plug-ins for Photoshop...not for Vista. And, an RC is not final, it's still "beta".
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84795\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

What will happen if you support it, will Men In Black come to your house?  

Seriously thou, you guys kinda had to know that people WOULD be moving over to this new OS, and Tim's observations about its status are correct its going out to PC manufacturer's for a January launch, no not the RC2 build, but the RTM (release to manufacturing). In fact I believe the RTM is available to MSDN subscribers allready.

Anyway, it won't take the key. Just so you know  
Logged

Images of Wyoming

Link To My Gallery

bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2006, 02:11:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Again, since Vista is -NOT- an OS officially supported by Photoshop, PixelGenius can -NOT- officially support it. We produce plug-ins for Photoshop...not for Vista. And, an RC is not final, it's still "beta".
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84795\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

OK, that is fine. But the question is will you support PK sharpener in PSCS2 running under Vista? If you have not planned for Vista support by now, as you imply when you say whether PK will run with Vista is unknown, your users may not be able to use your product for some time.
Logged
jlmwyo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2006, 02:33:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
OK, that is fine. But the question is will you support PK sharpener in PSCS2 running under Vista? If you have not planned for Vista support by now, as you imply when you say whether PK will run with Vista is unknown, your users may not be able to use your product for some time.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84818\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


That's what I'd like to know too. While CS2 might not be 'supported' under Vista, it does RUN, and I don't want to give up PK Sharpener.

It should be easy to get the RTM build of Vista now for testing gentlemen.
Logged

Images of Wyoming

Link To My Gallery

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2006, 08:37:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That's what I'd like to know too. While CS2 might not be 'supported' under Vista, it does RUN, and I don't want to give up PK Sharpener.

It should be easy to get the RTM build of Vista now for testing gentlemen.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84896\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Nowhere do I see Jeff saying our engineer doesn't have Vista nor if he can or cannot run PK Sharpener under Vista! He's simply saying that OS is not released and not supported. That being the case, whether we today can or cannot run PK Sharpener in any versions of Photoshop under Vista isn't something under discussion. WHEN Vista ships, we can talk.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2006, 10:05:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Nowhere do I see Jeff saying our engineer doesn't have Vista nor if he can or cannot run PK Sharpener under Vista! He's simply saying that OS is not released and not supported. That being the case, whether we today can or cannot run PK Sharpener in any versions of Photoshop under Vista isn't something under discussion. WHEN Vista ships, we can talk.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84928\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Here is Jeffs first response quoted verbatim: "Since Vista is, as yet not an offically [sic] supported OS for any version of Photoshop, PixelGenius is not supporting it as yet. Whether or not it will work is simply unknown...it's beta, after all."

Since PK behavior under Vista is "unknown" implies that PK has not been tested with Vista. Why can't you guys tell us what we want to know rather than obfuscating the issue and antagonizing your users?
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2006, 10:55:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Since PK behavior under Vista is "unknown" implies that PK has not been tested with Vista. Why can't you guys tell us what we want to know rather than obfuscating the issue and antagonizing your users?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84945\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

We've told you all that's necessary at this point in time. The product isn't supported and most if not all software companies don't publicly talk about unsupported products. If you're under the impression that our engineers have no idea about Vista, that's incorrect. Saying anything further isn't necessary. The same is true if the discussion shifted to Leopard (the next OS X version) or CS3. Both are beta/unsupported software products and like all such products, are restricted by NDAs. We don't break NDAs!
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2006, 11:30:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Why can't you guys tell us what we want to know rather than obfuscating the issue and antagonizing your users?
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Well, I don't know for a fact you ARE a user...have you contacted PG Tech Support? Have you supplied the steps required to reproduce your issue? Have you supplied the required information to troubleshoot your issue?

It's real simple...in a public forum, I'm not going to engage in any discussion beyond what I've stated...Vista, as of now, is not an officially supported OS since it's beta. If you are having issues with Vista and Photoshop CS2 and any PixelGenius product, you are welcome to contact PG Tech Support on this page: [a href=\"http://www.pixelgenius.com/support.html]PixelGenius Customer Support[/url]
Logged
bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2006, 12:31:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well, I don't know for a fact you ARE a user...have you contacted PG Tech Support? Have you supplied the steps required to reproduce your issue? Have you supplied the required information to troubleshoot your issue?

It's real simple...in a public forum, I'm not going to engage in any discussion beyond what I've stated...Vista, as of now, is not an officially supported OS since it's beta. If you are having issues with Vista and Photoshop CS2 and any PixelGenius product, you are welcome to contact PG Tech Support on this page: PixelGenius Customer Support
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes, I am a registered user as you could confirm by checking your database. I do not yet have Vista, but plan to upgrade as soon as it is released and would like to know if PK will be supported and am not pleased with your response. You seem to have an uncanny ability to PO your users.

If PK does not work with Vista, there are other alternatives such as the freeware tools offered by Glen Mitchel, PhD. I simply may not upgrade PK if you ever get around to issuing an update, which you have not done for some time.

[a href=\"http://www.thelightsrightstudio.com/TLRProfessionalSharpeningToolkit.htm]http://www.thelightsrightstudio.com/TLRPro...ningToolkit.htm[/url]
Logged
bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2006, 12:42:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
We've told you all that's necessary at this point in time. The product isn't supported and most if not all software companies don't publicly talk about unsupported products. If you're under the impression that our engineers have no idea about Vista, that's incorrect. Saying anything further isn't necessary. The same is true if the discussion shifted to Leopard (the next OS X version) or CS3. Both are beta/unsupported software products and like all such products, are restricted by NDAs. We don't break NDAs!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84956\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

So telling us if PK will work with Vista is breaking a non-disclosure? That doesn't sound logical. In customer support, I thought the customer was always right. See my response to your arrogant partner Shewe. This is not the first time he has antagonized your customers.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2006, 12:50:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
So telling us if PK will work with Vista is breaking a non-disclosure? That doesn't sound logical. In customer support, I thought the customer was always right. See my response to your arrogant partner Shewe. This is not the first time he has antagonized your customers.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84974\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'm not sure why everyone is getting into a pissing contest when none is required. As stated, Vista is a beta. When it ships and when NDA's and other issues are behind us, we can take this topic up again (I suggest it will be a moot point). IF you currently have Vista running and have any issues, you should take this up with MS since it's a beta product that you're using (Photoshop and PhotoKit are not). Good luck asking Adobe about any possible issues with CS and Vista too. IF Vista ships on time as MS says it will (January?), lets talk. Until that time, there's no need to worry about what may or may not happen up to that point.

Even when we agree that the customer is always right, that doesn’t entitle the customer to ask or receive information about future products that are not finished or supported. This is a moving target at this time. IF you have Vista, I have to assume you're a legitimate beta site and I'd be shocked if you were not under NDA. That alone precludes a discussion.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2006, 12:56:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I do not yet have Vista, but plan to upgrade as soon as it is released and would like to know if PK will be supported and am not pleased with your response. You seem to have an uncanny ability to PO your users.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84969\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

So, you don't even have Vista, yet you seem more than happy to ding PixelGenius for not supporting a beta OS? Ok. . .I get it, you're preparing to get pissed off in the event we don't support Vista as an OS.

Well, here's my answer to you: we will fully support Vista when it is released in final commercial form. If we need to do a free update to make it compatible for Photoshop running under Vista, we will do so. If customers contact PG Tech support, we will try to address their issues...but since Vista is a BETA OS, we do not officially support it at this time.
Logged
bjanes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2825



« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2006, 01:28:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
So, you don't even have Vista, yet you seem more than happy to ding PixelGenius for not supporting a beta OS? Ok. . .I get it, you're preparing to get pissed off in the event we don't support Vista as an OS.

Well, here's my answer to you: we will fully support Vista when it is released in final commercial form. If we need to do a free update to make it compatible for Photoshop running under Vista, we will do so. If customers contact PG Tech support, we will try to address their issues...but since Vista is a BETA OS, we do not officially support it at this time.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84978\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

OK, Jeff, that is all I need to know and you could have said this in the first place rather than making some cryptic statement about unknown--unknown to whom? If I had Vista running on my machine I would already know the answer to my question.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2006, 01:37:24 PM by bjanes » Logged
pcrov
Guest
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2006, 05:38:48 PM »
ReplyReply

The software industry would be great if it wasn't for the f-ing users.
Logged
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2006, 10:26:25 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Again, since Vista is -NOT- an OS officially supported by Photoshop, PixelGenius can -NOT- officially support it. We produce plug-ins for Photoshop...not for Vista. And, an RC is not final, it's still "beta".
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

[a href=\"http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid=%7B9BE8C45B%2D5328%2D4CBB%2D846D%2DC37C68E149AB%7D&siteid=myyahoo&dist=myyahoo]http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Stor...oo&dist=myyahoo[/url]

You've a little over 2 weeks.
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2006, 11:01:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You've a little over 2 weeks.
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Did you bother to read the article?

"The world's largest software company said Monday that customers will be able to buy licensing agreements to run Windows Vista Business and Microsoft Office Small Business 2007 on five or more personal computers.

The move will put small businesses on the same footing as larger rivals, who also will be able to buy the new operating system and business software ahead of the general release scheduled for Jan. 30."

So, you gonna buy a 5 seat license?

See: [a href=\"http://photoshopnews.com/2006/11/09/its-time-windows-vista-goes-gold/]It's Time: Windows Vista Goes Gold[/url]

"the public launch of Vista is scheduled for January 30, 2007"
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad