Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Inkjet Tranny  (Read 2886 times)
ricgal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« on: December 07, 2006, 09:19:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Can anyone suggest how to imitate LF Tranny with inkjet?  Pictorico is too milky,  Kodak Back lit Films are no good and writing back to film  too expensive for the empoverished client  ( they need to be tactile for a display at Graduate London Fashion Week).
Hopw does Geoff Wall do his huge Lightboxes?
Logged

www.ricbower.com- Art and Fashion Photography
www.ricbower.co.uk- Wedding Photography
www.ricbowerphotography.co.uk- Commercial Photography
meierruedi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2006, 11:33:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Jeff Wall's work is very probably on Duratrans (translucent RA-4 paper). The thing is you won't get a real black (even J.W. doesn't have em!)
I tried Duratrans and many different inkjet films and in my opinion Pictorico is the best, if you know how to handle it:
key is trying different profiles and messing around with the amount of ink applied to the "film".
It's a question of finding the balance between print-heads smearing around and getting dense/saturated colours.
If you can (depends on the printer/driver), try and print in single pass mode with maximum waiting time before the head goes on.
Logged
ricgal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2006, 05:19:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks- I will give Pictorico another go-  do you a dye based machine?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2006, 05:20:21 PM by ricgal » Logged

www.ricbower.com- Art and Fashion Photography
www.ricbower.co.uk- Wedding Photography
www.ricbowerphotography.co.uk- Commercial Photography
meierruedi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2006, 12:12:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, Epson 7600.
Logged
NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2006, 03:08:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Yes, Epson 7600.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89428\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

That's a pigment printer. Can you put dye inks in the 7600 as well?
Logged

Nikos
dlashier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 518



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2006, 04:34:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That's a pigment printer. Can you put dye inks in the 7600 as well?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=89526\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
It can be ordered either way, and switched with some pain.

- DL
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad