Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Panoramic printing with Epson 3800: YES!  (Read 6604 times)
RenTiel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« on: January 04, 2007, 09:53:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,
The Imageprint RIPdriver for Epsons 3800 is available.
I just received an email from Colorbyte with the information that panoramic printing with this printer is possible.
So the restriction on used paper length caused by the Epson driver is a thing of the past.
This is for me as a panoramic photographer good news. Upgrading from an Epson 2100 Imageprintdriver to a 3800 one costs $550

regards,
Rene
Logged
picnic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 10:11:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi,
The Imageprint RIPdriver for Epsons 3800 is available.
I just received an email from Colorbyte with the information that panoramic printing with this printer is possible.
So the restriction on used paper length caused by the Epson driver is a thing of the past.
This is for me as a panoramic photographer good news. Upgrading from an Epson 2100 Imageprintdriver to a 3800 one costs $550

regards,
Rene
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93643\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Please keep us updated.  How long are you planning to print--and how are you going to handle the paper?

Diane
Logged
BradSmith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 258


« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2007, 11:24:32 AM »
ReplyReply

And how are you going to pay the $550?    UGH!
 
Logged
picnic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2007, 12:31:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
And how are you going to pay the $550?    UGH!
 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93667\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

There's that too---one wonders if a 4800 wouldn't have been the better choice with roll--of course without knowing the needs of the OP.  I would certainly not consider this---but am wondering if its possible for them to implement this--perhaps Mike Chaney at Qimage may be able to do so (orignally he said in reply to a question by me  that the fact that the printer didn't have banner or roll support probably would make it not possible).  Its also probable that I would never need longer than 37 1/4" LOL (I haven't calculated, but I doubt my 3 panel flat stitch panos with a TS would need longer than this).

Diane
Logged
Jo Irps
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2007, 03:09:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Well, $550 is a lot of dough for an non-pro. I've heard that Epson is supposed to come out with their own PAGE PROOFER EX for the 3800, which costs only about 1/5th.
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2007, 05:02:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well, $550 is a lot of dough for an non-pro. I've heard that Epson is supposed to come out with their own PAGE PROOFER EX for the 3800, which costs only about 1/5th.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93721\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

What is "page proofer ex"? What does it do?

Eric
Logged

Jo Irps
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2007, 05:45:35 PM »
ReplyReply

It seems that Epson Page Proofer EX is only known in Europe. Look at this website and click on Product Documentation. It does not support the 3800 yet, so we have to wait and see.

http://esupport.epson-europe.com/GettingSt...0BE3A50BD8652D0
Logged
duranash
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2007, 11:50:45 AM »
ReplyReply

In looking at this page (after doing some language translations) - it appears that Page Proofer is being shipped with the 3800 in Europe?

http://www.blende7.at/datenblaetter/Epson/...Brochure_DE.pdf
Logged
NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2007, 01:29:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
In looking at this page (after doing some language translations) - it appears that Page Proofer is being shipped with the 3800 in Europe?

http://www.blende7.at/datenblaetter/Epson/...Brochure_DE.pdf
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106461\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The german brochure mentions that the 3800 is compatible with Page Proofer. My european version of 3800 was not shipped (Greece) with Page Proofer.
Logged

Nikos
Jo Irps
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2007, 06:03:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The german brochure mentions that the 3800 is compatible with Page Proofer.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106932\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I've found out that Page Proofer EX does not support panorama prints longer than the printer driver's max of 37 1/4". The reason is that the printer does not have the Roll Paper or Banner settings. Thats why Quimage is also limited to that lenght.

In the meantime Epson has released their own Epson Stylus RIP Professional for the 3800, but have not found out yet if it supports panos longer than 37 1/4". It has the tyling feature, so it might work.
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2007, 06:37:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Jo, where can I find more information about the new RIP from Epson?
Logged

Doombrain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2007, 06:46:17 AM »
ReplyReply

http://www.epson.co.uk/contact/brochure/Ot...usRIP_ProV3.pdf

http://www.epson.co.uk/reseller/docs/rrp.pdf page 30
« Last Edit: March 16, 2007, 06:47:04 AM by Doombrain » Logged
Doombrain
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2007, 06:47:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I've found out that Page Proofer EX does not support panorama prints longer than the printer driver's max of 37 1/4". The reason is that the printer does not have the Roll Paper or Banner settings. Thats why Quimage is also limited to that lenght.

In the meantime Epson has released their own Epson Stylus RIP Professional for the 3800, but have not found out yet if it supports panos longer than 37 1/4". It has the tyling feature, so it might work.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106953\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

if it didn't, it would just be a case of editing the PPD file.
Logged
Jo Irps
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2007, 08:29:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
if it didn't, it would just be a case of editing the PPD file.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106962\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

How would you do that?

Btw. I just realised that Epsons price for the RIP is just as rediculouse as the Colorbite one.
Logged
Mark D Segal
Contributor
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6830


WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2007, 09:54:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
There's that too---one wonders if a 4800 wouldn't have been the better choice with roll--of course without knowing the needs of the OP. 
Diane
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=93678\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Diane, for anyone who wants to print on both matte and non-matte media the Epson 4800 is not recommended. This is what I have and I feel locked-in the by the exhorbitant cost and nuissance of flushing ink with each switch between these categories of media. This was a huge design error on Epson's part, and they are now making good with the 3800, but the 3800 now seems to have some reported issues (complaints about over-inking of Enhanced Matte, lack of suction causing head strikes & ink smearing, lack of a media-type for Epson Premium semi-matte), causing me some concern about the wisdom of buying it pending further information about the extent of these problems and their remedies.
Logged

Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
duranash
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2007, 10:03:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Where can I get some more info and read about where these issues/problems
Logged
Mark D Segal
Contributor
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6830


WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 17, 2007, 10:07:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Check discussion on other threads in this Forum and other web forums. It's around. Can't pinpoint exact links just now, but you can search and find. I intend to make further inquiries to determine how real these issues are, because it is tempting to buy one of these machines for their reported qualities.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2007, 10:08:38 PM by MarkDS » Logged

Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2007, 09:06:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Where can I get some more info and read about where these issues/problems
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Search on this page:

[a href=\"http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/Epson3800/faq.html]http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/Epson3800/faq.html[/url]

There is indeed no Media Type for Premium Semi-Matte. Odd given that Premium Semi-Matte is offered in 17 x 22 sheets. I have read elsewhere that Epson may be discontinuing Premium Semi-Matte or replacing it with something else. Maybe this is related.

I did encounter head strikes initially but then found ways to work around them. Since then, no head strikes. See here:

http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/Ep...html#headstrike
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad