Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: How to measure d-max?  (Read 5230 times)
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« on: January 30, 2007, 05:16:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi everyone,

I have an i1 spectro and use EyeOne Match to make printer profiles. I often see discussions of d-max in reference to max black density. How do you perform this measurement? Can I use EyeOne Match to do this, or do I need some other software?

Thanks,
Eric
Logged

Stephen Best
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 05:23:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi everyone,

I have an i1 spectro and use EyeOne Match to make printer profiles. I often see discussions of d-max in reference to max black density. How do you perform this measurement? Can I use EyeOne Match to do this, or do I need some other software?

Thanks,
Eric
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Use Eye-One Share, available for download from X-Rite/GM's site. This will give you an L* value which you can plug into Bruce Lindbloom's online calculator:

[a href=\"http://www.brucelindbloom.com/index.html?CompandCalculator.html]http://www.brucelindbloom.com/index.html?C...Calculator.html[/url]
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2007, 06:06:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Great, thanks!!

Eric
Logged

ricgal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2007, 01:51:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Use Eye-One Share, available for download from X-Rite/GM's site. This will give you an L* value which you can plug into Bruce Lindbloom's online calculator:

http://www.brucelindbloom.com/index.html?C...Calculator.html
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98393\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Can the same thing be done with an X Rite Pulse do you know?
Cheers
Logged

www.ricbower.com- Art and Fashion Photography
www.ricbower.co.uk- Wedding Photography
www.ricbowerphotography.co.uk- Commercial Photography
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2007, 03:29:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Can the same thing be done with an X Rite Pulse do you know?

I think so. When you measure the black patch with the pulse you should also get an L* value. I'm not sure if the Pulse software tells you what the L* value is, but ColorPort (which works with the pulse and is a free d/l from the xrite site) will let you export your Lab measured values. So just look up the L* value and plug it in to the calculator above ...

Eric
Logged

ricgal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2007, 03:43:38 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I think so. When you measure the black patch with the pulse you should also get an L* value. I'm not sure if the Pulse software tells you what the L* value is, but ColorPort (which works with the pulse and is a free d/l from the xrite site) will let you export your Lab measured values. So just look up the L* value and plug it in to the calculator above ...

Eric
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98592\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks-  will give a try!
Logged

www.ricbower.com- Art and Fashion Photography
www.ricbower.co.uk- Wedding Photography
www.ricbowerphotography.co.uk- Commercial Photography
Stephen Best
Guest
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2007, 04:05:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Can the same thing be done with an X Rite Pulse do you know?
Cheers
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=98583\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

X-Rite sells (or used to sell) a product called ColorShop that does density readings and lots more. Whether it will work with your Pulse I don't know.
Logged
Greg_E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2007, 06:05:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, ColorshopX works fine with the DTP20 spectro, they include it with the accessory kit. Or you can buy it separately from Xrite direct.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad