Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Use Camera Profiles.. not possible?  (Read 12903 times)
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #40 on: April 11, 2007, 07:30:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
What? You lost me.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=111944\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Andrew -

It's just a user workflow issue.

- In ACR/PS:
 I take a Raw image. Open with ACR. Twiddle the ACR sliders. Get it roughly right. Then move to PS, apply curves etc. Now only can I see my final image *with my signature curves*.

- In C1/PS:
 I load my image and set my *signature camera profile*. Now, as I twiddle the C1 controls, my *signature look* is already overlaid on the image. I haven't yet even opened PS !!!!

Edmund
« Last Edit: April 12, 2007, 06:59:45 AM by eronald » Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #41 on: April 11, 2007, 07:34:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Also, what gives you the idea ACR doesn't use profiles? It does (two).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=111946\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes, I know. One happens to be the profile of Thomas Knoll's lightbox.

Sorry, I couldn't resist


Edmund

PS. This comes from the story of how Thomas profiled his cameras at home with his lightbox.

Actually as I write this, I'm browsing the source code of dng_validate.cpp which Adobe has released as free code to show the world how they convert DNG files.

Edmund
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 07:39:01 PM by eronald » Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8636



WWW
« Reply #42 on: April 11, 2007, 07:37:37 PM »
ReplyReply

Hum... I can't say I have the same problem. I do 95% of all global corrections in Lightroom (ACR would apply since they have the same rendering controls).

What's that got to do with input profiles? Can't you build a custom rendering preset in ACR that accomplishes the same thing? IOW, you could use a profile or you could just tweak the rendering controls as you wish, save it. Not at all different from scanning too (I used to build presets that did alter curves and other tweaks in FlexColor when I used an Imacon).

I see the need for rendering controls that produce a desired appearance that you can save and use often on other similar files. The same could be done with a profile but when the rubber meets the road, what's the difference? A LUT, a Profile or a set of metadata corrections.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8636



WWW
« Reply #43 on: April 11, 2007, 07:39:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Actually he uses a GretagMacbeth Judge with two illuminants to build his profiles.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #44 on: April 11, 2007, 07:43:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hum... I can't say I have the same problem. I do 95% of all global corrections in Lightroom (ACR would apply since they have the same rendering controls).

I see the need for rendering controls that produce a desired appearance that you can save and use often on other similar files. The same could be done with a profile but when the rubber meets the road, what's the difference? A LUT, a Profile or a set of metadata corrections.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=111952\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]



The result is the same of course, but the workflow different.

It's the overlay effect: I'm twiddling one set of controls, but looking at the effect through the  "filter" of my "signature look profile". I have several of these, I dial in a look, and twiddle. Say the look says less magenta (for faces) then even while I add saturation, the faces have less magenta ...

Edmund
Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #45 on: April 11, 2007, 07:47:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Andrew,

 To cut and paste on a Mac you get the material and then go to the edit point and paste in, or as I remember on some older machines (Xerox ?) you would mark an edit point and then go gather the material. The effect is the same - but the mental workflow is not.

Edmund
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 07:48:24 PM by eronald » Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #46 on: April 12, 2007, 07:57:45 AM »
ReplyReply

I've put up a blog post about this topic. Nothing new, but better written.

http://photofeedback.blogspot.com/2007/04/...s-raw-film.html


Edmund
« Last Edit: April 12, 2007, 07:58:17 AM by eronald » Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5427


WWW
« Reply #47 on: April 12, 2007, 09:25:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Maybe next version?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=112117\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Don't hold your breath...
Logged
eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3881



WWW
« Reply #48 on: April 13, 2007, 04:22:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Don't hold your breath...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=112128\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'm sure the next version will have added a few more sliders, though

It's the old mouse vs. keyboard debate. As a Director of IBM told me once "We don't need mice - we aren't children!". Nanny always thinks she knows best what interface you should be using.


Edmund
Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad