Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Question for users of Photomatix Pro  (Read 2431 times)
Xen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« on: February 24, 2007, 12:22:28 PM »
ReplyReply

I am having an issue with Photomatix Pro.  I am proficient at creating an image with it (take the bracketed shots, combine, tone map...) and the final results I am very pleased with.  However, when I open it in photoshop, it says it doesn't have an embedded profile.  So I apply the profile I use, ProPhoto RGB, and the colors from my image from Photomatix become all blown out fluorescent like.  Am I missing something?  Or do images that are produced in Photomatix have no color management?

This has become an issue because I when printing some of them, they came out pretty awful.  So I am going back and trying to fix them, and thats when I noticed they have no profile, and when adding mine, they look like crap.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2007, 12:24:07 PM by Xen » Logged
photopat
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2007, 12:51:21 PM »
ReplyReply

I dont have much experience of Photomatix,but if you know the colorspace an untagged image is in ( as you know your untagged images are in ProPhoto  RGB colorspace )

Here is what you do when you open those images in  Photoshop.

1 Chose.Leave as is. (Don't colormanage)

2. Then in PS go to Edit-> asign profile-> and in your case chose ProPhoto RGB
Then your colors  will be right.

Patrick.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2007, 12:53:09 PM by photopat » Logged
Xen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2007, 02:04:32 PM »
ReplyReply

What is the difference between Assign Profile, and Convert Profile?
Logged
Xen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2007, 05:50:33 PM »
ReplyReply

That didn't work.  The photo looks normal in Photomatix, and when viewed in 'Preview' but when I open in Photoshop, even when not selecting color managements, the whole things looks screwy.  I am really confused.  This whole thing is odd.
Logged
photopat
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2007, 01:27:04 AM »
ReplyReply

Did you assign a profile to the image from within PS after you had open the image, as in step 2 on my first reply ?

Quote
2. Then in PS go to Edit-> asign profile-> and in your case chose ProPhoto RGB
Then your colors will be right.

If not then your colors will look " screwy".
« Last Edit: February 25, 2007, 07:04:20 AM by photopat » Logged
Hendrik
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 93


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2007, 03:29:34 AM »
ReplyReply

double post
« Last Edit: February 25, 2007, 03:30:29 AM by Hendrik » Logged
jackbingham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2007, 09:31:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Photomatix unfortunately strips of the profile before processing. This is something I have been talking with them about for a while. If prophotorgb looks bad it may well be that they assume everything is adobe rgb and handle the input as such. What happens when you start with adobe rgb before processing and then assign it afterwards.
Logged

Jack Bingham
Integrated Color Corp Makers of Coloreyes Display
rzych
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2007, 11:46:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Photomatix v2.3.3 stand alone is not color managed - their web site states that. Version 2.4 which is in beta testing is to be color managed. If you use their plug-in from within PS to tone map an HDR file, then your output would be color managed.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad