Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom with NAS server  (Read 2737 times)
troyhouse
Guest
« on: March 02, 2007, 07:12:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start  it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
Logged
DavidLehman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 48


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 09:07:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104326\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I know a certain someone would say to get yourself a LaCie...But I'm curious too, Troy, I just got that NAS thingie from the hermit in Jersey who repaired my drives, as the backup to my ProSataSS8 back en los Estados Unidos...

And I still want to know how you use your imac on the plane
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 09:09:07 AM by DavidLehman » Logged

pss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2007, 04:16:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Has anyone made a library of their NAS server(in my case an infrant)? It can be done if the library is local but every time I start  it I get the following
"Checking Locations of folders and photos"
and it takes forever to verify them. Any way to avoid this?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104326\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

i have an infrant as well, i don't think it works to have the library on it....i would post on the adobe forum, you will probably get a better answer there....
Logged

boku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2007, 06:29:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
i have an infrant as well, i don't think it works to have the library on it....i would post on the adobe forum, you will probably get a better answer there....
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104452\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

That has been my experience. I can't build a library from the files that reside on my Buffalo Terastation NAS.

I don't think anyone has major-league DAM thing perfected yet - not iView (aka Mirosoft), not Adobe, not Apple. We are all buying software that hasn't tackled some serious integrity and scaling issues in a robust manner.
Logged

Bob Kulon

Oh, one more thing...
Play it Straight and Play it True, my Brother.
pss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2007, 07:05:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That has been my experience. I can't build a library from the files that reside on my Buffalo Terastation NAS.

I don't think anyone has major-league DAM thing perfected yet - not iView (aka Mirosoft), not Adobe, not Apple. We are all buying software that hasn't tackled some serious integrity and scaling issues in a robust manner.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=104472\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
i can import files from my infrant, no problem at all, i cannot have a library on my infrant....
Logged

julian_love
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2007, 03:47:11 AM »
ReplyReply

This isn't just a NAS thing, I think it will occur with any external drives. I store my image files on two external Firewire drives (Lacie Big Disk 1TB) and have the same problem. My Lightroom library is stored locally on my MacBook Pro and every time I start it up I get "searching for files and folders"....I just cancel the task (click the little X next to the progress bar) and it doesn't seems to cause any problems...

Julian
Logged

Mark Graf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2007, 02:39:05 PM »
ReplyReply

I use an Infrant ReadyNAS NV+.
No problems with cataloging files stored there, although I the search for folders everytime LR is started is a bit annoying.   Contrary to what Iview does, LR doesn't seem to have any speed issues with files stored on NAS.

My library is on a local HD.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad