Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: ITPC Data  (Read 3134 times)
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« on: March 10, 2007, 12:33:56 AM »
ReplyReply

ITPC data created in LR is can't be read by most other programs, such as Photo Mechinic.  Yet, Photo Mechanic ITPC data can be read by LR.  Same situation with Bibble or DP4.  I tried this with TIFFs saved by each program.  

So...
What is the reason for this?  If LR ITPC can't be read by other programs, what good is it?
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2007, 12:59:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
ITPC data created in LR is can't be read by most other programs, such as Photo Mechinic.  Yet, Photo Mechanic ITPC data can be read by LR.  Same situation with Bibble or DP4.  I tried this with TIFFs saved by each program.   

So...
What is the reason for this?  If LR ITPC can't be read by other programs, what good is it?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=105772\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Oh yes it can. Tried it just now on old version of Breezebrowser, Portfolio, iView. What exactly are you doing?
Logged

James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2007, 09:18:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Entered copyright information, address and a few other items using LR.  Everytime LR is loaded, I can see that IPTC data.  Then I open the photos using Photo Mechanic, Capture NX, and a trial version of Capture One.  The IPTC data from LR cannot be read by those programs.  LR reads the IPTC data written by these other programs.

I read or heard something about other programs (other than CS2) not being able to read LR IPTC data.  I don't have access to the programs you mentioned, but it would seem this info should be viewed by all programs.   My old workflow involved Photo Mechanic.  I was hoping to use only LR, CS2, and NX every now and then.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2007, 09:21:10 AM »
ReplyReply

Did you ever use Metadata > XMP > Export XMP?
Logged

James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2007, 09:47:59 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm guessing that I need to do that??  Didn't think LR would require a two step process to write IPTC data.
Logged
seanmcfoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2007, 09:53:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I'm guessing that I need to do that??  Didn't think LR would require a two step process to write IPTC data.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=105829\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
You can set it to be automatic in the Preferences, but it does give a performance hit. It also applies this automatically to exported files (unless you click minimise Metadata).
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759



WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2007, 10:05:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I'm guessing that I need to do that??  Didn't think LR would require a two step process to write IPTC data.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=105829\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Well, it depends what type of image you are talking about. At first you said you were dealing with TIF files, then you refer to CaptureOne so it sounds like you're worried about raw files.

Remember that LR is a database and holds the metadata in the database, not appending it to the file each time you enter something. LR writes IPTC data directly into documented file types (psd, jpg, tif, dng) when you export a file, or when you choose that command (or set a preference for continuous writing). For non-documented file types, mainly raw files, you have to generate XMP sidecars and that's done either by that menu command or by the preference.

It then depends on whether the other program can read XMP-format metadata (XMP can be inside the image or in the sidecar). I thought the latest version of PM could do so, Bridge and iView can, but NX will certainly have a problem, as does Aperture. Don't know about C1.

With these things the devil's in the detail so you need to be very precise when you say "Everytime LR is loaded, I can see that IPTC data. Then I open the photos using Photo Mechanic, Capture NX, and a trial version of Capture One. " What format are "the photos" - still raw or tifs? What happens between "data." and "Then...." - do you export or just close LR?

John
Logged

James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2007, 10:44:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks to everybody, I now get it...daaaa

John,

The PM does allow the loading XMP files.  My habit of using PM to write IPTC (and not reading Camera Bits help or what's new) caused me to over look the "IPTC Stationary" "Load...", where you upload the XMP file.  NX doesn't allow this and I'm too busy learning LR to figure out Capture One.


Sorry for putting you all through this exercise.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad