Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: how the hell do I get support from Adobe?  (Read 7887 times)
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« on: March 12, 2007, 03:39:30 AM »
ReplyReply

How many hoops must one jump through to get support from Adobe? I have put up 2 websites with adobe lightroom galleries and continue to have problems with them loading properly. You have to hit the refresh button on a regular basis to get it to load. I've tried every possible means to contact them to get answers, but to no avail. How do I get this fixed? Why will it not work? There seems to be many bugs with the web galleries yet there seem to be no fixes. I'm at my wits end. I'm using dreamweaver to build, and all of the "puts" say successful. So why the problems?
Any one else have problems or answers? We all pay our money for these programs that are supposed to work, but don't. There should be someone from adobe to answer our questions or help out a bit. Where are they? Rant over.

Cheers, Ted
Logged
Sid EOS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 03:44:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi, what ways have you tried to contact them?

Have you been to the User to user forum? Apologies for asking if you have.
Logged


Sid Jervis
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2007, 03:46:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi, what ways have you tried to contact them?

Have you been to the User to user forum? Apologies for asking if you have.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106192\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

No problem. I have been there, but I could not find a way to post a topic. So I'm here.
Ted
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2007, 04:01:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
No problem. I have been there, but I could not find a way to post a topic. So I'm here.
Ted
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106193\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Cudos to them for providing us with some of the best software on the planet, but their support and access to it is seriously lacking. Maybe they should have the designers of Photoshop design their support site. That would be a treat! C'mon Adobe! Where are you?
Logged
Sid EOS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2007, 04:01:44 AM »
ReplyReply

User to user forum  http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx/.3bc2cf0a/  
then add topic.

You can report bugs to Adobe:

http://www.adobe.com/support/photoshoplightroom/

Bottom of page option 4.

User to user would be a good place to search first.
Logged


Sid Jervis
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2007, 04:05:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
User to user forum  http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx/.3bc2cf0a/   
then add topic.

You can report bugs to Adobe:

http://www.adobe.com/support/photoshoplightroom/

Bottom of page option 4.

User to user would be a good place to search first.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106195\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The reply bugs to: is under construction.
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2007, 04:06:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
User to user forum  http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx/.3bc2cf0a/   
then add topic.

You can report bugs to Adobe:

http://www.adobe.com/support/photoshoplightroom/

Bottom of page option 4.

User to user would be a good place to search first.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106195\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The report bugs to: is under construction.
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2007, 04:08:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The report bugs to: is under construction.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106198\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I think I've been cut off!
Ted
Logged
Sid EOS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28


« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2007, 04:33:30 AM »
ReplyReply

I just reported a bug, it works for me at present.

??
Logged


Sid Jervis
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2007, 04:39:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I think I've been cut off!
Ted
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106200\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I guess my point is: There are so many questions and topics regarding lightroom problems. Why are they all posted here? Why can we not get answers "easily" from the people who wrote this program. Where is the support from on of the largest software manufactures on the planet?

Ted
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2007, 04:45:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I just reported a bug, it works for me at present.

??
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106201\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

OK. For example? What was your question? and what was the solution you have recieved?
Logged
jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2007, 04:49:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I guess my point is: There are so many questions and topics regarding lightroom problems. Why are they all posted here? Why can we not get answers "easily" from the people who wrote this program.
Because probably only a double-digit number of people were involved in the development of this software, and if they were to answer all such questions, they wouldn't have time to develop new software or fix bugs.

Perhaps if you could post a link to one of your galleries, someone could have a look at it and help you. The problem may be with something else than Lightroom.
Logged

Jan
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2007, 04:53:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Because probably only a double-digit number of people were involved in the development of this software, and if they were to answer all such questions, they wouldn't have time to develop new software or fix bugs.

Perhaps if you could post a link to one of your galleries, someone could have a look at it and help you. The problem may be with something else than Lightroom.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106205\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

www.kuzemski.com
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2007, 05:05:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
OK. For example? What was your question? and what was the solution you have recieved?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106204\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Face it.  Their support sucks!
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2758



WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2007, 05:35:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Your gallery3 loads fine here - Firefox on XP2.

With most big company software, you get far better support from other users so you'd be well advised to post to Adobe's user forums.
Logged

TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2007, 02:40:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Your gallery3 loads fine here - Firefox on XP2.

With most big company software, you get far better support from other users so you'd be well advised to post to Adobe's user forums.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106214\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks John,
I have reported the problem to Adobe and am still waiting to here back. I have posted on the Adobe Lightroom forum, but no one has answered. I have read reports of similar problems at the lightroom forum, but none of them have answers either. I have been in contact with a local web design company that will try to fix it for me at $85/hour. I'll see what adobe says first, but I will likely have to pay someone to fix this, or abandon the lightroom web galleries for now. I will update this for others benefit once I get some answers or solutions.
Cheers, Ted
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 2758



WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2007, 02:53:04 AM »
ReplyReply

Ted

I suspect there's something not quite right in the JavaScript Flash detection script and you're going to have to be very specific about which browsers have the problem - I'd bother about IE6, IE7, Firefox 1 & 2, Safari, Opera. And on what OS too? But it might be how you've set things up - not saying you've boobed, but it might be as simple as upper and lower case or spaces in folder or file names.

You may have read postings at Adobe from Micah Bowers who knows as much as anyone about how these templates work (there's a reason for that too). Have you looked at his extra info at BlueFire http://blog.bluefire.tv/ ?  Who knows, it may save you those fees.

John

ps They'll really have to know what they are doing with JS and XML - it's a coding issue rather than a fluffy design thing
Logged

TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2007, 03:25:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Ted

I suspect there's something not quite right in the JavaScript Flash detection script and you're going to have to be very specific about which browsers have the problem - I'd bother about IE6, IE7, Firefox 1 & 2, Safari, Opera. And on what OS too? But it might be how you've set things up - not saying you've boobed, but it might be as simple as upper and lower case or spaces in folder or file names.

You may have read postings at Adobe from Micah Bowers who knows as much as anyone about how these templates work (there's a reason for that too). Have you looked at his extra info at BlueFire http://blog.bluefire.tv/ ?  Who knows, it may save you those fees.

John

ps They'll really have to know what they are doing with JS and XML - it's a coding issue rather than a fluffy design thing
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106369\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks John,
There are some really good tips at Bluefire. Thanks again. What I don't get is: are the lightroom galleries not: stand alone galleries? Regardless of how I design my site, spaces, folders etc, I am providing a link to the gallery which has its own index page and set of instructions to load. If it does not load, how is that affected by my design?
Cheers, Ted
Logged
jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2007, 04:09:40 AM »
ReplyReply

The gallery does not load fine under Opera, Safari or Firefox on Mac OS 10.4.8 (Intel).

With Firefox, the images either don't appear in due time, or Firefox crashes. Apparently, there's something odd with the Flash code.

With Safari, it's s-l-o-w, loading the thumbnails takes ages, and there's now way you'll get me to wait for the "Loading Image..." on the right side of your gallery.

Your front page images are also slow in loading.

My guess is that there are two problems here:

1) Bandwidth to your website from my computer isn't good enough for the demands of your Flash gallery. It's hardly good enough for your front page.

2) There's at least one bug in the Flash code.
Logged

Jan
Micah
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #19 on: March 13, 2007, 03:16:16 PM »
ReplyReply

It does seem like there is some kind of bug in the flash movie.  I've been looking into it myslef.  (fyi I don't work at Adobe) It appears that Flash galleries that have images in the header sometimes have a problem loading images.  It seems to occur only on certain web servers, and then only on certain end-user machines.  For example, the galleries on www.kuzemski.com all work fine on all my office machines (5) and browsers.  If my guess is correct, the only fix (for now) would be to remove the graphic from the header.  If you really want your logo to show up on your gallery page, you could add it to the html page itslef, and then "turn off" the header in the gallery.  

Here's how you'd do that:
first you need to remove the image from the gallery:
Open the "style.xml" file found inside a gallery folder structure inside the "resources/styles" folder in your favorite text editor.   Now find the following line of text on line 58 (it will have a different file name in it ):
<pageTitleImg visible="true" src="bin/filepath/mylogo.png"/>
and change it to this:
<pageTitleImg visible="false" src=""/>

Note that you don't have to turn off the header bar, but given that you don't have anything else up there besides your logo, I assumed you would want to..
Turn off the header bar:
on line 57 <headerBarEnabled enabled="true"/> change it to "false"

Now save your style.xml file to the same spot, and launch the "index.html" page to double check that you did it correctly.

Now add your logo into the html page itslef:
open "index.html" and just below the "<body>" tag
place your image, maybe something like this:
<img src="bin/images/logo/mylogo.jpg" alt="Ted Kuzemski Photgoraphy" hspace="20" />

Note that I used the "hspace" tag to push it a bit to the right from the left edge of the window, you can use "vspace" as well to space it from the top of the window and top of the gallery (or <br> tags just above or below the img tag, etc)

Hope that helps...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad