Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: how the hell do I get support from Adobe?  (Read 7716 times)
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2007, 02:33:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
It does seem like there is some kind of bug in the flash movie.  I've been looking into it myslef.  (fyi I don't work at Adobe) It appears that Flash galleries that have images in the header sometimes have a problem loading images.  It seems to occur only on certain web servers, and then only on certain end-user machines.  For example, the galleries on www.kuzemski.com all work fine on all my office machines (5) and browsers.  If my guess is correct, the only fix (for now) would be to remove the graphic from the header.  If you really want your logo to show up on your gallery page, you could add it to the html page itslef, and then "turn off" the header in the gallery. 

Here's how you'd do that:
first you need to remove the image from the gallery:
Open the "style.xml" file found inside a gallery folder structure inside the "resources/styles" folder in your favorite text editor.   Now find the following line of text on line 58 (it will have a different file name in it ):
<pageTitleImg visible="true" src="bin/filepath/mylogo.png"/>
and change it to this:
<pageTitleImg visible="false" src=""/>

Note that you don't have to turn off the header bar, but given that you don't have anything else up there besides your logo, I assumed you would want to..
Turn off the header bar:
on line 57 <headerBarEnabled enabled="true"/> change it to "false"

Now save your style.xml file to the same spot, and launch the "index.html" page to double check that you did it correctly.

Now add your logo into the html page itslef:
open "index.html" and just below the "<body>" tag
place your image, maybe something like this:
<img src="bin/images/logo/mylogo.jpg" alt="Ted Kuzemski Photgoraphy" hspace="20" />

Note that I used the "hspace" tag to push it a bit to the right from the left edge of the window, you can use "vspace" as well to space it from the top of the window and top of the gallery (or <br> tags just above or below the img tag, etc)

Hope that helps...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106508\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Wow! Thanks alot! I'm not sure I'm savy enough to do that, but I will give it a try and/or pass the info along to Adobe. I am finally working with Adobe support to try to resolve this. I have some odd things happening, like the keyboard shortcuts "L" "F" etc, to dim lights, etc., does not work in the web module, but does work in all of the other modules. It makes me wonder if there is a bug in the web module itself within my downloaded version of the program. I should have an answer soon from Adobe. I want to make sure that it is not a program flaw first, before I pay someone to correct my problem, or try other possible solutions.

thanks again,
Ted
Logged
TedK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2007, 03:06:38 AM »
ReplyReply

All's well that ends well. I thought I should follow up and conclude this thread with a bit of good and bad news. First, the good news. I now have my site up and running, utilizing the Adobe lightroom web gallery. I ended up paying a local web design firm to fix my site. Atomic Crayon in Victoria did a fantastic job of researching and troubleshooting, and providing a quick solution. In the end the problem was a glitch that someone else had alerted me to, regarding using a picture file in the header. If you place your logo (as a jpeg or any other picture type file) in the header bar, chances are that the gallery may not load properly, or get hung up. In my case, it stopped the flash movie from loading at all, unless you refreshed your browser. This is fixed by removing the file from the header, and in my case, adding a seperate logo that stands alone from the gallery. If anyone needs to know how we did this, contact me and I will supply details.

The bad news is that Adobe does not recognize this as a problem of theirs. I was told by the support team that if the gallery is exported to a folder on my hard drive, and then opened from that location into a browser, and it works, then it works. Indeed it does work in this scenario. Unfortunately, if you want to take it to the next step and include it in a web site of your choice, it likely will not work. The code needs to be changed in order for it to perform as needed. I am hoping that the code will be changed for Lightroom v1.1 so that this problem will be eliminated. We will see.

Thanks everyone for your help on this forum. It helped me provide many possible solutions to the web design firm that I used. In the end, you all saved me a few bucks.

Cheers, Ted
www.kuzemski.com
Logged
BFoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 240



WWW
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2007, 04:01:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Why after a year of beta versions and the aquisition of Raw Shooter Premium (which had no gliches and ran twice as fast) from pixmantic, does multimillion dollar company like adobe stuff up the release of a $300 software program, that seems to causing no end of problems for multiple users, with little of no available back up?

Why?
Logged

jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2007, 05:36:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Why after a year of beta versions and the aquisition of Raw Shooter Premium (which had no gliches and ran twice as fast) from pixmantic, does multimillion dollar company like adobe stuff up the release of a $300 software program, that seems to causing no end of problems for multiple users, with little of no available back up?

Why?
It's interesting that you ask this question of Adobe, but not of, say, Microsoft, who've been at it for 22 years with Windows now.
Logged

Jan
macgyver
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 510


« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2007, 04:11:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
It's interesting that you ask this question of Adobe, but not of, say, Microsoft, who've been at it for 22 years with Windows now.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=108652\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


But we are used to it from them!
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad