Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Control when LR launches  (Read 4186 times)
sadja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« on: March 12, 2007, 09:17:38 AM »
ReplyReply

I would like to control when LR launches. In Preferences/File Management I've selected 'do nothing' when memory card is detected. Nonetheless, LR launches when I insert a memory card into the reader.

OS is Win XP Pro.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9100



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 02:13:04 PM »
ReplyReply

That's odd. Doesn't do that on a Mac.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2007, 02:24:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I would like to control when LR launches. In Preferences/File Management I've selected 'do nothing' when memory card is detected. Nonetheless, LR launches when I insert a memory card into the reader.

OS is Win XP Pro.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106245\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

does to me to (win)
Logged
gfabbri
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17



« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2007, 03:52:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
does to me to (win)
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106292\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yup.  Very annoying!  Insert a jump drive -- LR boots.  Attach a HD, LR boots.  Hopefully they'll address this in an update, as I too have poked everywhere & can't figure out how to get it to go away.  I mean, I like LR and all, but c'mon!
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9100



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2007, 04:54:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Clearly a bug since this appears to be a PC issue. Might want to file a report with more specifics like the flavor of windows and hardware.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2007, 05:17:02 PM »
ReplyReply

In XP, you can disable the Adobe Camera Downloader in the System Tray

John
Logged

Mary K
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 107


« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2007, 05:21:26 PM »
ReplyReply

I have the same problem & I'm running Windows XP -- hope this is worked out soon!

Mary
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2007, 05:22:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Mary

Read my post - you can stop it yourself

John
Logged

DaHen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2007, 08:19:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have the same problem & I'm running Windows XP

Mary
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106336\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


   Mary,

  Like johnbeardy mentioned, go down to the System Tray. Then right click on the "Adobe Photo Downloader" icon. Then click on "Disable".

  Worked here, LR no longer opens when I insert a media card.    

      DaHen
Logged

My System: Windows8. Intel Core i7-3770 CPU 3.40GHz 8GB Ram
C Drive: WD SATA 1TB. and an external WD USB 640GB.
LR 4.2 & 5.2 & CS6
Epson R220, HP 7960 Printer
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2007, 05:12:10 AM »
ReplyReply

To stop the Downloader initiating each time you restart Windows, you also need to change another setting. From the Windows start menu, Start > Run and type "msconfig". Then go to the Startup tab, and untick apdproxy.exe.

John
Logged

Mary K
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 107


« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2007, 07:27:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks John and DaHen,  I've made the recommended changes and that has appeared to solve the problem.

Mary
Logged

sadja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2007, 07:44:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
In XP, you can disable the Adobe Camera Downloader in the System Tray

John
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106333\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

That worked, thanks. Wasn't even aware that the downloader was in the system tray.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2007, 12:27:15 PM »
ReplyReply

The funny thing is, attaching an iPod launches Lightroom. It only had on it one Bela Fleck & the Flecktones CD - the Downloader must have thought it was a raw file!

John
Logged

David White
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2007, 03:22:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The funny thing is, attaching an iPod launches Lightroom. It only had on it one Bela Fleck & the Flecktones CD - the Downloader must have thought it was a raw file!

John
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106476\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


You probably have the disk enabled on the iPod so it sees a new drive and thinks it should import some photos from it.
Logged

David White
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2007, 04:31:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You probably have the disk enabled on the iPod so it sees a new drive and thinks it should import some photos from it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=106511\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Nah, it's the banjo that does it.  
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad