Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Z3100 Test target  (Read 5981 times)
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« on: March 18, 2007, 05:30:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Were is the test target file located? I can't find it??
   C
Logged
Jim Cole
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 362



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2007, 05:40:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Chris,

Are you talking about the one with the strawberries, etc...?

Jim
Logged

Jim Cole
Whitestown, IN
www.jimcolephoto.com
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2007, 06:16:02 PM »
ReplyReply

the actual 500 patch target
Logged
Jim Cole
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 362



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2007, 07:20:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry Chris, I don't know where that is. I realized after I answered before that you had said "Target" not photo.

Hope you find it.

Jim
Logged

Jim Cole
Whitestown, IN
www.jimcolephoto.com
Greg_E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2007, 07:47:29 PM »
ReplyReply

It is possible that an image file does not exist, the software could simply send the numbers through the driver. Though there should be a reference file somewhere, or you could pull it out of a profile that was built from the HP software.
Logged
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2007, 09:26:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
It is possible that an image file does not exist, the software could simply send the numbers through the driver. Though there should be a reference file somewhere, or you could pull it out of a profile that was built from the HP software.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107375\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]



can't find it...........................
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2007, 10:00:39 AM »
ReplyReply

When trying to open the profile in profile maker , it fails. So it may be a little more difficult. You can export the text data from Colorthink though.
The charts are however in the APS , including the ref file and tiff, of all the charts including the tc 9.18.

What do you want to do with the internal profile chart?
Logged
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2007, 10:11:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
When trying to open the profile in profile maker , it fails. So it may be a little more difficult. You can export the text data from Colorthink though.
The charts are however in the APS , including the ref file and tiff, of all the charts including the tc 9.18.

What do you want to do with the internal profile chart?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107707\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]




profile my epson 3800  : )
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2007, 01:30:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
profile my epson 3800  : )
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107710\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You can with APS. Print the chart out on the Epson, read it in the Z and profile.
Currently the page set ups though are not correct in APS. Epect an update quickly to allow 17" pages .
Logged
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2007, 01:40:40 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You can with APS. Print the chart out on the Epson, read it in the Z and profile.
Currently the page set ups though are not correct in APS. Epect an update quickly to allow 17" pages .
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107738\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]



i was trying to be cheap and do it without aps : )
Logged
zirmedien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2007, 01:53:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
i was trying to be cheap and do it without aps : )
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107739\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Yes, I would like this way to profile my others machines too, but I think the target is only on the printers harddisk and there's no ftp- or other account to read this file.
Logged
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1435



« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2007, 02:34:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You can with APS. Print the chart out on the Epson, read it in the Z and profile.
Currently the page set ups though are not correct in APS. Epect an update quickly to allow 17" pages .
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107738\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Nothing smaller than a 17" wide page?  Couldn't this be accomplished on a 13" wide page?  It would sure be nice.
Logged

Regards,
Ron
Greg_E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2007, 03:51:38 PM »
ReplyReply

If someone with ColorThink or ColorshopX would pull the text data out of the profile, then you could build the target in photoshop and be all set. Not as easy as it seems at first, but also not that hard, it just takes a bunch of time and persistance.
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2007, 04:38:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Nothing smaller than a 17" wide page?  Couldn't this be accomplished on a 13" wide page?  It would sure be nice.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107745\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes it would be. I just requested the same today. It is possible to do, is the only news I have on that.
I have been using A3+ sheets for many years 13x19".  For posting charts though people usually sent me A4 or letter 3 pages of the 918 charts.
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2007, 04:40:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
If someone with ColorThink or ColorshopX would pull the text data out of the profile, then you could build the target in photoshop and be all set. Not as easy as it seems at first, but also not that hard, it just takes a bunch of time and persistance.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107755\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes you'd have to reconstruct the bars that the red optical sensor runs over to tell the machine where it is in the chart/line.
Logged
chris anderson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2007, 04:46:09 PM »
ReplyReply

anybody want to split the cost of aps and get it with me, hehe : )
Logged
Greg_E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2007, 07:13:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Neil,

Again the bars would present little obstacle since they already have a print to measure from. Again, not the hardest task in the world, just time consuming. I did check the latest version of Xrite's Colorport, but it does not have anything about the Z series printers.

If someone will zip and send a profile from the HP "basic" software to me, I'll try using ColorshopX to pull the measurement file back out. It will then be up to someone else to build the target since I have no idea what it looks like. A picture of the printed target and maybe some measurements would be good too.

I'd bet there is a way to measure those patches with a hand held spectro and push it back into the software too (if you really try)
« Last Edit: March 21, 2007, 02:25:15 AM by Greg_E » Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2007, 02:20:48 AM »
ReplyReply

There will always be a hack but it will be  lot more work than it's worth. Since everyone that has a spectro will have a profiling app it would probably be better to just do it that way.
The APS is or will be exportable so it would be better to export, print, and measure in the Z than hacking the PRintProfiler set ups.
A side note. All measures on the Z are spectral. The results are in the profiles so there you can find lots of insights to colour.
Logged
Greg_E
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2007, 02:45:50 AM »
ReplyReply

For all those people that want to try and make a hack, Neil sent me the text file for one of these profiles. You'll have to parse the data out of the file to make the target. I also noted that the measurements do not start until 410nm which means it is spectrally a little shorter than the Xrite instuments have been. This may become a problem with papers that have a lot of OBA in them as it will not see them as well as a device that goes down to 380nm or even 400nm. I wonder if the Isis has the same limitation?

The data is too large to put in a post, so if I have time tomorrow I'll try and distil it down to something more useful. If not I'll zip up the text and just give a link to download it. You will still have a lot of work ahead of you to make this target. I've done this same thing before, and it is very time consuming, but if you want it bad enough, then I guess you'll put in the effort. Since I don't have one of these printers, I'm not going to put in too much effort for you.

Here is a sample of what you might have to deal with:
Quote
BEGIN_DATA_FORMAT
 ID   RGB_R   RGB_G   RGB_B   MEASURED   SPECTRAL_380   SPECTRAL_390   SPECTRAL_400   
SPECTRAL_410   SPECTRAL_420   SPECTRAL_430   SPECTRAL_440   SPECTRAL_450   
SPECTRAL_460   SPECTRAL_470   SPECTRAL_480   SPECTRAL_490   SPECTRAL_500   SPECTRAL_510   
SPECTRAL_520   SPECTRAL_530   SPECTRAL_540   SPECTRAL_550   SPECTRAL_560   
SPECTRAL_570   SPECTRAL_580   SPECTRAL_590   SPECTRAL_600   SPECTRAL_610   SPECTRAL_620   
SPECTRAL_630   SPECTRAL_640   SPECTRAL_650   SPECTRAL_660   SPECTRAL_670   
SPECTRAL_680   SPECTRAL_690   SPECTRAL_700   SPECTRAL_710   SPECTRAL_720   SPECTRAL_730
END_DATA_FORMAT
BEGIN_DATA
 0   0   0   0   1   0   0   0   0.01063741744   0.02127483487   0.02303142101   
0.02213389613   0.0221980568   0.02217584848   0.0222490672   0.02234395035   0.02244795114   
0.02255921066   0.0226723142   0.0227853898   0.0228935685   0.02300041728   
0.023105748   0.02321596816   0.02334711142   0.02347011305   0.02354280651   
0.02362053469   0.02376078442   0.02391494438   0.02403546497   0.02417666279   
0.02441275306   0.02463648655   0.02471843921   0.02479936182   0.02502514981   
0.02525093779   0.02525093779   0.02525093779   0.02525093779
 1   0   0   43   1   0   0   0   0.02189087309   0.04378174618   0.04649745673   
0.04372559488   0.04372611269   0.04360675812   0.04324242845   0.04259163141   
0.04150215536   0.04018103331   0.03868666291   0.0373127237   0.03641371429   0.03586558625   
0.0356576629   0.0358043015   0.03634950891   0.03719362989   0.03843490034   
0.03952364996   0.03964309767   0.03969278559   0.04036279768   0.04146471992   
0.04326913133   0.04508911818   0.04623613134   0.04698566347   0.04720794782   
0.04743023589   0.04743023589   0.04743023589   0.04743023589
 2   0   0   85   1   0   0   0   0.03300821036   0.06601642072   0.07153562456   
0.06877535582   0.06913318485   0.06855603307   0.0667828694   0.06383511424   0.0592979081   
0.0542190671   0.04932828248   0.0451650694   0.04271586612   0.04136960953   
0.04083227366   0.04113919288   0.04224806279   0.04409779236   0.04714257643   
0.04979426414   0.04980152473   0.04960811138   0.05093384534   0.05369918048   
0.05919241905   0.06502982974   0.06905434281   0.0718742907   0.07272135466   
0.07356841862   0.07356841862   0.07356841862   0.07356841862
 3   0   0   128   1   0   0   0   0.05152605474   0.1030521095   0.112324208   0.1084652022   
0.1085634008   0.1064684391   0.1016528979   0.09433627129   0.08366829902   
0.07233079523   0.06260818243   0.05484238639   0.05059063435   0.04849139228   
0.04765665159   0.048223041   0.04997814819   0.05308108032   0.05867266282   
0.0635953024   0.06356818974   0.06310180575   0.06506066024   0.07010182738   
0.08151201904   0.09426686168   0.1043687612   0.1120241061   0.1143204048   0.1166167036   
0.1166167036   0.1166167036   0.1166167036

That also shows that 380nm-400nm are not measured. This may prevent the i1 from getting an LED light source. I would be interested to see what the Isis has for an output.
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2007, 02:55:41 AM »
ReplyReply

It's intentional tht there is not light emitted , nor read in the 380-410 range.
The spectro then has no UV to make or read.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad