Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Workflow with Fuji Frontier in Lab  (Read 2312 times)
arsbbr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


WWW
« on: March 19, 2007, 07:03:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi, I have question concerning the workflow with Lightroom and a Fuji Frontier printer in the lab.

Is it possible to use the print module to get all the benefits of the module (like contact sheets, print sharpening, color profile preview etc.) for JPEG export? In principal I just need some JPEGs to send it to the lab, BUT in the right resolution and with an integrated Frontier profile. So is there a way with the print module or is it just build for printer directly connected to the computer?

Or, if there is no solution with the print module - how exactly would wise workflow for sending images to the lab look like?

Thanks in advance,
arsbbr
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9093



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2007, 09:13:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Nope, not unless you have the Frontier directly hooked up to the computer running LR.

On a Mac, anything you can print, you can save as a PDF. So in theory, you could save out a PDF, then RIP it in Photoshop and send to the Frontier but that's kind of a pain.

In version 1.0. the print module assumes you're hooked up to the printer.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
arsbbr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2007, 11:55:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for your fast response... I got a more or less a solution.

With the attached Automator workflow in the folder ~/Library/PDF Services/ you can access the workflow in the print dialog.
It converts the PDFs to JPEGs (quality 10, 300dpi). In order to make this work, one just has to create a new paper format without margins in the preferred size and choose 300dpi in the Lightroom print module.
The workflow also works with more the one page.

It saves the created JPEGs in ~/Desktop/Frontier Export/*.jpg

But I have absolutely no idea what happens with the color profiles. There is a way to assign profiles in Automator though...

Im just very new to this all... Maybe someone with more experience in Automator/color profiles can have a look on my little workflow? Would be great :-)[attachment=2383:attachment]
« Last Edit: April 30, 2007, 11:46:59 AM by arsbbr » Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9093



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2007, 11:59:40 AM »
ReplyReply

You should be able to add use the Apply ColorSync Profile automator script after you have an actual image.

Or just make a droplet in Photoshop to open the PDFs and convert to a raster image in the color space you wish.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
htbyron
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2007, 09:22:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You should be able to add use the Apply ColorSync Profile automator script after you have an actual image.

Or just make a droplet in Photoshop to open the PDFs and convert to a raster image in the color space you wish.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=107508\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

   
Looks like I'm sticking with QImage for printing.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad