Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR RAW noiser than JPG at 1600 ISO  (Read 1700 times)
stefpix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« on: March 26, 2007, 04:22:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi
I started trying LR -
I used to shoot mostly JPG but now I am doing RAW+JPG.
in the shots with my Nikon D80 at ISO 1600 the JPGs have blacker blacks and way less noise.

I have the D80 NR reduction on.

I was wondering what settings for Noise Reduction and sharpening should I use to get better results at high ISO

thanks'
stefano
stefpix dot com
Logged
tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 240


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 08:08:32 AM »
ReplyReply

When you shoot a jpeg, the camera makes a series of decisions about your image for you -- how much sharpening to apply, the tone curve, the color space, how much noise reduction, etc. Shooting raw allows you to make these decisions at the time of processing.

Without a doubt, the proprietary Nikon software inside your camera (or in Nikon's raw developing software) will do a better job than LR.

That's why the jpeg will have less noise than the raw file -- no decisions have been made about the raw file -- it's just the raw data that comes off the ccd.

I don't know what settings in LR are best. If I have lots of noise to deal with, I edit in PS and use Noiseware to get rid of the noise.
Logged
alain_lestrade
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2007, 02:29:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi
I started trying LR -
I used to shoot mostly JPG but now I am doing RAW+JPG.
in the shots with my Nikon D80 at ISO 1600 the JPGs have blacker blacks and way less noise.

I have the D80 NR reduction on.

I was wondering what settings for Noise Reduction and sharpening should I use to get better results at high ISO

thanks'
stefano
stefpix dot com
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Would you mind giving an example please? I'm interested in the topic. I've been using LR for 6 months and I shoot RAW. Is it possible to have a couple of original files RAW+JPEG in order to test with LR?

Thanks in advance

Alain. [a href=\"http://www.pbase.com/alain_lestrade/profile]http://www.pbase.com/alain_lestrade/profile[/url]
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad