Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Aargh, need shortcut!  (Read 3233 times)
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« on: March 28, 2007, 03:08:18 PM »
ReplyReply

The new tone curve thingy in lightroom has changed the way I work with RAW files, I now adjust brightness, recovery if needed and then straight to the tone curve to use the on screen up/down thingy adjust to change the curves relative to the tone under the mouse, a G-d send for facial tones.

Thing is that by default the cursor is a magnifying glass, I have to scroll down and click on the tone tool to change the cursor. I can get back to magnify by using ESC but as you will appreciate that I'm moving between the tone tool and the magnify a lot, especially when zooming in or out to deal with specific tonalities. Is there a keyboard shortcut for that tone tool, please pretty please?

Another thing, the crop ratio by default is 'custom' for the sensor size. In ACR it is sticky on the last setting, I crop a lot as I have to shoot weddings for 8X10" but proof at 7X5", is there any way to set a 'default' as presets don't save the crop data?

I bought and downloaded the Lightroom video tutorial which is where I found out about that amazing toning tool but would appreciate any further help.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2007, 03:11:27 PM by pom » Logged

61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 04:18:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Instead of trying to switch between the two constantly, keep your curser as the TAT (Targeted Adjustment Tool) and use Z to zoom in/out.

I don't know of any way to change the crop behavior.
Logged
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 05:17:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Instead of trying to switch between the two constantly, keep your curser as the TAT (Targeted Adjustment Tool) and use Z to zoom in/out.

I don't know of any way to change the crop behavior.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109208\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I tried that but the problem is that you then don't have the hand tool to move the image around unless I have the navigator window open which I don't by default to give me more 'image' while developing. I can let the navigator window hover back on screen specifically for this but it all starts getting a bit clunky. It is also not set as default so every time I move in or out of the develop mode I have to scroll down and reselect it.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2007, 05:20:52 PM by pom » Logged

61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2007, 05:28:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Just like in Photoshop, press the spacebar to turn your curser back into a hand.
Logged
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2007, 05:50:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Daniel, have to admit I didn't know that the spacebar did that in PS either! Many many thanks! You've saved me a lot of bother. Just like I just realised that 'C' was the crop shortcut in ACR which would have saved me a lot of time had I known it for the past couple of years!  

Now if only Lightroom wouldn't take so blinking long to render previews I could get some work done. I have to say that I really really love the way it integrates with ACR 3.7 so that I can do all my work in ACR 4 in LR and then batch for sharpening and sizing in PS seamlessly. Oh and lightroom is screaming for a huge screen in a way that ACR never did, I do wish they had kept the develop options as tabs rather than a long scrolly thing as in ACR, or at least provided keyboard shortcuts rather than having to scroll down.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2007, 06:13:58 PM by pom » Logged

61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2007, 07:20:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Actually there are keyboard shortcuts for the side panels. Command/Ctrl + 1 through 9. That works in every module. :)

You can get a full list of keyboard shortcuts here:
http://web.mac.com/sidjervis/iWeb/Lightroo...FAQ%20INFO.html
Logged
Richard Marcellus
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70


« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2007, 08:50:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Try ctrl - alt - shift - T on Windows (probably cmd- option - shift - T on the Mac).
I think this is the shortcut that you are looking for.

It works differently than ctrl/command - 2 which will open and close the tone curve side panel, but won't put you in the target adjustment mode.

The equivalent command for target adjustments of hue is
ctrl - alt - shift - H

for saturation it is

ctrl - alt - shift - S

and for luminance it is
ctrl - alt - shift - L


Richard
Logged
francofit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 142


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2007, 01:52:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
....I do wish they had kept the develop options as tabs rather than a long scrolly thing as in ACR...[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109238\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

If you do not know the "Solo Mode " capability, then try it: it makes every panel less crowded.
(on PC, right click on every kind of left or right Panel and you can choose the Solo Mode while also enabling/disabling the other options)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 01:54:58 AM by francofit » Logged

Franco
mauermer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2007, 06:14:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
If you do not know the "Solo Mode " capability, then try it: it makes every panel less crowded.
(on PC, right click on every kind of left or right Panel and you can choose the Solo Mode while also enabling/disabling the other options)
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=109316\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
It is also right-click on a Mac - Solo Mode is a very useful thing and always activated in my Lightroom...
Logged

Brgds

mauermer

"TIME IS WHAT PREVENTS EVERYTHING FROM HAPPENING AT ONCE"    (John Wheeler)
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2007, 06:36:21 AM »
ReplyReply

You people are great! Many many thanks.

I actually gave up on solo mode as I wanted both the Basic and Tone curve open at the same time, the others not being used for regular proofing, scrolling down was easier than clicking and scrolling, however with the above shortcuts as well as the direct shortcut I think I'll be going back to solo mode!
Logged

Jim White
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2007, 01:40:00 PM »
ReplyReply

I might not understand really what the problem is, but I keep the "Basic" and "Tone" panels open with all else closed by right clicking on a panel, deselecting what I don't want, deselect "Solo mode", select "expand all". The histogram can then be closed leaving only Basic and Tone open.
Or whatever you want.

Does that help? Hope so.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad