Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Vista 64 bit, CS3 and Memory  (Read 14874 times)
Carol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2007, 06:22:30 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm using Win XP x64 Pro/4Gb RAM and don't have a problem with it except:-

1.  My accounts program doesn't work (expecting an update for XP x64 and Vista x64 later this summer).

2. Check online forums for the motherboard you are intending to buy as some have problems if all 4 RAM slots are occupied.

Check all your peripherals (printers, internal modems, scanners etc.) have 64-bit drivers.  I had an Epson laser printer and although it had a 64-bit driver for WinXP x64, it was very rudimentary compared to the 32-bit driver.  When it died on me I did a thorough web search and replaced it with a Lexmark C534dn which has wonderful drivers and is a much better printer.  Epson still haven't released 64-bit drivers for my scanner - but not too worried about that as I only use it around 2 or 3 times a year now, and when I need it I just hook it up to an old XP x32 system and bring the files in across the network.

Gretag-Macbeth has drivers for their Eye One Display 2 pucks and these work well on Win XP x64 - but they still do not have drivers/software for Vista x64, even though they have been promising these since late January.

2Gb memory sticks are now at around the same price as 2x1Gb sticks - so I would recommend that you go for the former as this leaves space for an additional 4Gb should you decide to up the RAM later.  I am contemplating going to 8Gb in early June - but this means I will have to sell on my 4x1Gb sticks.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2007, 06:25:06 PM by Carol » Logged

[span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'][span style='color:green']Carol[/span][/span]
jliechty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2007, 09:26:24 PM »
ReplyReply

For what it's worth, while Vista in general still has a few small issues with color management, the GMB drivers can be made to work in Vista x64 with a simple workaround. The method is this: after installing the GMB software but before connecting the puck, reboot the system and press F8 immediately after the BIOS screen (before the Windows scroll bar). From the text menu, choose the option to enable loading of unsigned drivers. Plug in the device and calibrate as usual. Subsequent reboots need not be done with unsigned drivers enabled, but any time you wish to calibrate you must boot with that option enabled.
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2007, 01:55:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
For what it's worth, while Vista in general still has a few small issues with color management, the GMB drivers can be made to work in Vista x64 with a simple workaround. The method is this: after installing the GMB software but before connecting the puck, reboot the system and press F8 immediately after the BIOS screen (before the Windows scroll bar). From the text menu, choose the option to enable loading of unsigned drivers. Plug in the device and calibrate as usual. Subsequent reboots need not be done with unsigned drivers enabled, but any time you wish to calibrate you must boot with that option enabled.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120347\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


would you know if that solves the NEC Spectraview II vista 64 issue?  (uses a GMB puck as well, but different software).
Logged
jliechty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2007, 03:43:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
would you know if that solves the NEC Spectraview II vista 64 issue?  (uses a GMB puck as well, but different software).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120472\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
No, I'm not sure. If it has drivers that work on XP x64, then there is a reasonable chance that it will work (but not enough that I'd recommend proceeding with an install of Vista x64 if you were considering it).
Logged
dwdallam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2044



WWW
« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2007, 05:47:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I migrated to Vista x64 for stability. It is 30% slower on the whole, than XP x64.

However, it has never, never crashed and I was able to get a fairly complex system up and running. I'd say the driver support on Vista x64 is better than the driver support on XP. Of course check and make sure you have full driver support before you switch though.

I also see 3255MB RAM available in CS3.

The cool part about an x64 OS is that the app can soak up all the RAM it can, and you have RAM left over for the OS and other running programs.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=113602\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Vista is bloatware fromt eh Blaotware specialists.

I agree, use WIN XP 64. That's what I'm going to also.

I do believe that you can run CS3 under Linux too with some knowledge of translation programs, such as WINE. This may be the wave of the future--no more dancing with an OS that is more problem to work with then actually doing our business.

Other than that, it's also strange that CS3 is still 32 bit. That means we'll have to wait anotehr two or more years before we can get 64bit benifit from ouor 64bit CPUs. Oh well

Do you ever feel like you spend more time keeping up with the tools than actually producing the product?
Logged

61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #25 on: May 31, 2007, 06:20:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I do believe that you can run CS3 under Linux too with some knowledge of translation programs, such as WINE. This may be the wave of the future--no more dancing with an OS that is more problem to work with then actually doing our business.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120517\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
That's an appropriately named application. Like actual wine, it may taste good but too much will give you a headache.

All kidding aside, wine has been "the wave of the future" that since '93 and hasn't delivered. Whether it works varies from app to app. Switching to a more complicated OS and using unreliable emulation will get you no-where fast. If you want an OS that is not a PITA, then switch to OS X and be done with it.
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad