Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Problem with Adobe licensing  (Read 15855 times)
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« on: April 25, 2007, 09:34:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Dear all,

Adobe Japan's customer center is telling me that they cannot migrate my Creative Suite ultime 2.3 PC license to a Mac one. They are asking me to pay 1700 US$ once more just to change platform.

I know that Adobe does migrate licenses from PC to Mac in the US and feel the answer of Adobe Japan to be unacceptable. You get to wonder why you bother paying these hefty license fees to end up being treared this way.

Could anyone please give me the email address of an Adobe person in the US or Japan that deals with such matters?

Thank you in advance,

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 05:45:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Has nobody migrated licenses from PC to Mac around here?

If you have thanks a lot in advance for confirming the name/email of your Adobe contact.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Richard Marcellus
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 06:59:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Are you planning to upgrade from CS2.3 Premium to CS3 Design Premium or another bundle?

If so I believe that you can make the Windows --> Mac transition at the same time, for the same upgrade cost as staying on the same platform. At least this appears to be the case in North America. I ordered my upgrade from CS2 Premium to CS3 Design Premium over the phone and the operator said that I could make a platform switch, though in my case I didn't.


Richard
Logged
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2007, 07:37:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Bernard,
I did change from pc to mac, without paying, I don't have the email, but I I will call them tomorrow and give you the infomation, so hold on.

BlasR
Logged

BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2007, 07:39:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Are you planning to upgrade from CS2.3 Premium to CS3 Design Premium or another bundle?

If so I believe that you can make the Windows --> Mac transition at the same time, for the same upgrade cost as staying on the same platform. At least this appears to be the case in North America. I ordered my upgrade from CS2 Premium to CS3 Design Premium over the phone and the operator said that I could make a platform switch, though in my case I didn't.
Richard
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114442\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks for the answer.

Well, CS3 is not for sales in Japan yet, but the person on the phone was clearly saying that it was impossible to change platform whatever...

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2007, 07:40:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Bernard,
I did change from pc to mac, without paying, I don't have the email, but I I will call them tomorrow and give you the infomation, so hold on.

BlasR
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114445\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks for your kind help!

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2007, 08:29:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Bernand,
Adobe tell me if you never change before, adobe in japan need to change it for you without cost, You going to need to sign a paper the  you're not going to sale or give away your other license of adobe photoshop.

BlasR
Logged

Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2007, 08:36:12 AM »
ReplyReply

Is there this kind of issue when you get a new PC and need to re-install on that machine?
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2007, 09:12:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Bernand,
Adobe tell me if you never change before, adobe in japan need to change it for you without cost, You going to need to sign a paper the  you're not going to sale or give away your other license of adobe photoshop.

BlasR
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114527\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hi BlasR,

Thanks for asking. I have never switched before, but the problem I have is that I cannot even go being the person answering the phone at the Adobe Customer center, and that person is telling me it is not possible.

Adobe Japan is a black box, there is no email address published on their website, and I don't know who to contact inside...

This situation is driving me crazy.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2007, 09:18:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Bernand here is the phone number for here 1800 833-6687-2 He tell me the just look at the website for japan and email them from there

BlasR
Logged

Carol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2007, 03:28:49 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Is there this kind of issue when you get a new PC and need to re-install on that machine?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114528\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
No, just remember to go to 'Tools-->Deactivate' and deactivate the copy on your old machine.  Adobe kindly allows activation on two machines provided they will not be used simultaneous - so home/office or office/laptop etc is quite legal.  So if you will not be using the old machine, deactivate it before dumping it/giving it to a charity/or similar.

Just don't do what I did once when I was asked to fill in at short notice for a speaker who had to cancel an engagement due to a medical emergency.  I had CS2 on 3 machines and swopped activations between the three - and in a dash to get to the venue on time (it was a 3 hour drive away), I forgot to deactivate on one machine and reactivate on the laptop.  Talk about embarrassment when you get there and the damn thing won't start because of activation.  Fortunately a member of the group who I was giving the talk to lived 5 mins away from the venue so he went and fetched his laptop which had CS2 on it.
Logged

[span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'][span style='color:green']Carol[/span][/span]
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2007, 04:24:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Bernand here is the phone number for here 1800 833-6687-2 He tell me the just look at the website for japan and email them from there

BlasR
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114536\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Chris_Brown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 786



WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2007, 05:20:51 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Adobe Japan's customer center is telling me that they cannot migrate my Creative Suite ultime 2.3 PC license to a Mac one. They are asking me to pay 1700 US$ once more just to change platform.

I know that Adobe does migrate licenses from PC to Mac in the US and feel the answer of Adobe Japan to be unacceptable. You get to wonder why you bother paying these hefty license fees to end up being treared this way.

Could anyone please give me the email address of an Adobe person in the US or Japan that deals with such matters?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=114286\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I have migrated Pagemaker and Photoshop from PC to Mac (a long time ago), but only individual programs not entire suites. At the time, Adobe USA told me to wait until a new version came out and the cost of migration would be included in my upgrade price. When I actually placed the order, I simply bought the Mac version of each program and when registering the software, entered the PC serial number and everything worked fine. My experience is ancient and I get the impression that Adobe is watching out for their shareholders these days.
Logged

~ CB
Roy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2007, 02:56:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Here is a note in John Nack's blog that implies you should have no trouble switching platforms, no matter where you live:

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2007/05/cs3_switching_p.html

Perhaps you should make Adobe in Japan aware, or enlist John's aid.
Logged

Roy
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2007, 11:57:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I am increasingly mad at Adobe Japan.

I have just spent another 30 minutes on the phone with one of their sales manager in Japanese, and his answer was invariably that it is impossible to migrate a PC license to a Mac one (whether it is done together with an upgrade or after upgrading to the latest level).

According to him, the decision to make this impossible in Japan was taken based on an analysis of the "Japanese market needs"... That's when I considered pressing the big red button on my desk, the one launching a scud to the Adobe building in Osaki.

Even my grand mother speaks about switching from PC to Mac, we ARE the market and those are our needs.

I had always been treated in a normal way by Adobe until now, but this kind of attitude is just completely un-acceptable.

Regards,
Bernard
« Last Edit: May 14, 2007, 12:55:38 AM by BernardLanguillier » Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #15 on: May 28, 2007, 01:12:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Dear all,

This issue is still bugging me big time. I have tried to contact John Nack per the advice of another poster in this thread. He kindly acknowledged reception of my email and I believe that he understands the situation I am facing. He has unfortunately not yet followed up on his initial proposal to look into the situation. Understandably his job is to work on product developement and I cannot really blame him for prioritizing my issues a bit low.

So if you know anyone who can help on this PC -> Mac license migration issue @ Adobe, I would appreciate immensely you sending me a private email.

My Mac Pro is now on order and I am expecting it within 10 days, I don't see myself using Vista on it as my main OS because of this pathetic issue.

Thank you in advance,

Best regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2007, 01:20:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That's when I considered pressing the big red button on my desk, the one launching a scud to the Adobe building in Osaki.

Where does one get one of those buttons?

Oh, and good luck.

Can you buy an upgrade license to the mac?  $200 vs $600?
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2007, 01:40:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Where does one get one of those buttons?

Oh, and good luck.

Can you buy an upgrade license to the mac? $200 vs $600?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=119930\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Either way, Adobe japan is telling me that I have to buy a new Mac license from scratch, as if I had never owned any Adobe license before...

Considering the license I was considering upgrading to, they are badsically asking me to give them 298.000 Yen instead of 138.000 Yen (upgrade license)... meaning a nice 160.000 Yen or 1350 US$ present.

The funniest thing is that I will never pay that kind of money. Very worst case I would have to buy a new PS license for Mac without upgrading anything else, and that new PS license will cost 40% less than the CS upgrade license I was considering... They will in fact loose money on this, I will loose a lot of convenience... A completely non sense story.

Regards,
Bernard

p.s.: I found the big red button on ebay.nk
« Last Edit: May 28, 2007, 01:41:08 AM by BernardLanguillier » Logged

A few images online here!
Kenneth Sky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 421


WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2007, 07:27:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Why do all these stories about Adobe's response to problems with CS 3 give me the sense of deja vu that recall Canon's response to problems with the iPF 5000 printer? Could it be corporate arrogance? I would not have believed it of Adobe. Their history is not one of arrogance. So it probably is just that the application has grown so large and the permutations and combinations of the marketplace so complicated they couldn't have anticipated all the bugs - notwithstanding a prolonged public beta. If only Adobe would take some public ownership of the problems, they would be able to do a better job of damage control.
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7873



WWW
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2007, 08:12:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Why do all these stories about Adobe's response to problems with CS 3 give me the sense of deja vu that recall Canon's response to problems with the iPF 5000 printer? Could it be corporate arrogance? I would not have believed it of Adobe. Their history is not one of arrogance.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=119963\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I think that we need to make a clear distinction between technical issues with the product (that can happen and will be solved in due time - even if it is never fast enough) and commercial issues like the one I am facing in Japan.

I would never think of calling technical issues "arrogant", but the behaviour of Adobe Japan about this PC to Mac migration is most definitely arrogant. I am not only talking about the attitude of the people I tried to speak to (can a wall be arrogant though?), but the overall refusal to migrate PC licenses to Mac ones is typically the kind of thing I would expect of a company that thinks that it doesn't need to please its customers anymore.

It does seem that Adobe is more customer friendly in the US, which is great, but it doesn't solve my issue in Japan.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad