Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: HP z3100 new driver error 'arguements invalid'!!!!  (Read 8575 times)
ricgal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2007, 04:17:14 PM »
ReplyReply

I spoke to HP Ireland support today and they guided me throught the install successfully-  I have to say i was impressed as they seemed to know what they were doing.

1. remove old driver- PROPERLY  -settings-printers&faxes -   file-    server properties- drivers- delete/remove HPZ entry

2, disable anti virus and firewall

3 install using 'file port'  connection option with ethernet unplugged from printer

4. connect printer then from printers and faxes dialogue right click on driver-  go to properties and then ports tab-  click add port select TCP/IP and put in IP address of printer from front pane

Bob should be your second cousin and it all works lovelyl
« Last Edit: May 24, 2007, 04:24:57 PM by ricgal » Logged

www.ricbower.com- Art and Fashion Photography
www.ricbower.co.uk- Wedding Photography
www.ricbowerphotography.co.uk- Commercial Photography
Shutterbug2006
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2007, 04:19:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Alas, still no luck. I did direct the software to install to "FILE: Port" as you suggested, René, but it still returned the "invalid arguments" error message. I didn't delete any ports before trying this. The printer is connected to a port named "HPDesignjetZ310024inPhoto" with a description of "HP Standard TCP/IP Port." I'm afraid if I delete that I won't be able to print, which I can still do because the previous driver version is working. Sorry to be a pain...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=119300\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You've not made it to the final step. After installing to File:Port, you have to change it to the TCP/IP port WITH the correct IP address. I'm afraid you need to delete the other port already listed - it's part of your conflict.
Logged
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427



« Reply #22 on: May 26, 2007, 07:37:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Certainly- that only makes sense!  Forgive me- for whatever reason I was thinking that my post would be directed to the original poster.  Could I bother you again to elaborate on the process you used to delete the directories? ie. which directories, etc..

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=119036\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Sorry for the delay in posting.  I'm finally back home where I can look at my machine and notes again.

The directory (folder) I had to delete during my install attempts was:

\program files\HP Designjet Z3100 Photo Series
Logged

Regards,
Ron
DHDSP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #23 on: May 29, 2007, 12:12:32 PM »
ReplyReply

I hope you solved your problem by now.

If not, I had the same problem this morning. Deleting directories , stopping the spooler, deleting drivers / directories by hand did NOT  help.

An hour ago I got a small tool from the HP Hotline called " Scrubber2.0.zip".
This tool is some kind of magical deinstaller, et voila : the installer routine now worked perfectly. Go figure.

The only thing that went wrong is that the easy management software was deinstalled too... Now I have to go find my CD ...

CU
Peter
Quote
Hi -- Help appreciatied
I get three qaurteres of the way through installing the new windows driver for the z3100 and an error comes up-  'arguements invalid'  I press ok and the installer bums out-  this happens on both my XP machines,  can anyone shed some light please???
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=118966\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
Ernst Dinkla
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2881


« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2007, 07:28:03 AM »
ReplyReply

I had similar problems with the "arguments etc" error. Deleting files etc didn't work. First I removed all the HP software in the Windows Configure menu. After that all files.
In the Settings>Printers>Server Properties all the non-used removable ports were taken out + the HP port, all removable forms, all the drivers. I have to admit a lot has been gathered there that wasn't needed. Then I checked that all the virus protections are removed. Rebooted both system and printer, checked the virus settings again.
The driver then installed fine, it searched for the network connection and reinstalled it.
The Easy Care installed and it updated itself right away. Color Centre installed. Firmware installed and the 68.03 error appears. Rebooted the printer again and it is ready now. I have to collect the new profiles.


There is an issue with the direct printing setting in the driver. If I avoid the (Windows) spooling in the driver and send the print data directly to the printer through a normal Ethernet cable then the printer doesn't start, it reports however which application sends the data but suffocates after that on a 79-04 error. With the spooling it doesn't have that problem. I have to test this again with the new driver and firmware though.

Ernst Dinkla

try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/
Logged
Harry Carpenter
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2007, 04:41:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I have just had the same issue and tried all of the methods above. What worked in the end was to tell the install that the printer was connected via usb and I would connect it afterwards. The install then took seconds to complete.
Just hope it was worth the hassle.
Logged
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2007, 04:01:04 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have just had the same issue and tried all of the methods above. What worked in the end was to tell the install that the printer was connected via usb and I would connect it afterwards. The install then took seconds to complete.
Just hope it was worth the hassle.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=122173\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I tried to help soemone in France with the same problem on Windows that is. The only way to get it to see the printer was through the USB connection. I did tell him to delete all drivers and turn off Norton. I assume that thye did get it to work.
Funny , when I received my shipping non Postscript printer , I installed and updated the entire software kit, firmware, everything without a problem. Perhaps that is where the version B of the same software comes in?
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad