Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Printing problems  (Read 3224 times)
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« on: May 30, 2007, 04:04:17 PM »
ReplyReply

I am loving Lightroom.  I encountered a couple of problems printing from Lightroom today.


1.  Out of memory   when going to print the message on the (Epson 7600 review print screen) no print just red letters  Out of Memory.
I rebooted the computer to clear it out and that seemed to clear the problem up.
I have 4 gb of memory (Dual Processor)


2.  I enlarged to 24x30 in Lightroom wen to print on the Epson 7600  When the review screen came up no image was shown.

I ended up exporting the file to Photoshop and printed from Photoshop

Any thoughts on what is causing this problem with Lightroom?

Any help appreciated
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2007, 04:08:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Any help appreciated
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120287\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Well, it would be useful to tell us what computer, OS and version you are running...kinda hard to guess without that stuff.
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2007, 04:33:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Computer: Dell PC,    Windows XP  OS

Is there anything else needed  (don't know processor speed off hand)
I know it has a dual processor with 4gb of memory

Thanks
Logged
Jon Meddings
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 142


« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2007, 07:09:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I am loving Lightroom.  I encountered a couple of problems printing from Lightroom today.
1.  Out of memory   when going to print the message on the (Epson 7600 review print screen) no print just red letters  Out of Memory.
I rebooted the computer to clear it out and that seemed to clear the problem up.
I have 4 gb of memory (Dual Processor)
2.  I enlarged to 24x30 in Lightroom wen to print on the Epson 7600  When the review screen came up no image was shown.

I ended up exporting the file to Photoshop and printed from Photoshop

Any thoughts on what is causing this problem with Lightroom?

Any help appreciated
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120287\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Same problem here Larry. I'm running on a Windows platform (XP) with 2 Gb memory and large amounts of disk space for swapping.

In my case I export from LR to CS3 to upres and sharpen with Photokit. When I return to LR I can now no longer print the image on my Epson 7800. Works fine from either PS or Qimage but not LR.

It has been suggested to me that the problem is a known limit of LR for 10,000 pixels in maximal size on any dimension. This may be correct as it is only the large prints that are a problem for me.

However, given that I'd love to know how large Jeff can print a fine art print from LR using Photokit!

This issue has dimmed a lot of my enthusiasm for LR. I still love the image handling and editing but find I still need both PS and a separate standalone printing program. This obviates some of the benefits I thought I'd realize with LR.
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2007, 08:01:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Same problem here Larry. I'm running on a Windows platform (XP) with 2 Gb memory and large amounts of disk space for swapping.

In my case I export from LR to CS3 to upres and sharpen with Photokit. When I return to LR I can now no longer print the image on my Epson 7800. Works fine from either PS or Qimage but not LR.

It has been suggested to me that the problem is a known limit of LR for 10,000 pixels in maximal size on any dimension. This may be correct as it is only the large prints that are a problem for me.

However, given that I'd love to know how large Jeff can print a fine art print from LR using Photokit!

This issue has dimmed a lot of my enthusiasm for LR. I still love the image handling and editing but find I still need both PS and a separate standalone printing program. This obviates some of the benefits I thought I'd realize with LR.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120324\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Jon, You are right.  I printed up to 14x20 with no problems  I hit the print button, goes to espon printer menu  (I preview before printing)  everything was ok the image showed in the preview and printed.  I then tried the 24x30 and everything ok until the preview and the preview screen in the Epson printer menu is empty.

Maybe this does exceed LR's capabilites?   My raw file is from a Phase One P25 file so the resolution should be fine.

Other than that I am quite pleased with the entire workflow.  It seems so much simpler to use than Photoshop etc.

Thanks for your reply
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2007, 05:02:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Here is what I have found so far.

Not a memory problem on computer (or processor)

Computer geek says that it is probably the printer memory.
Photoshop may handle sending data to the printer different than Lightroom  (for example: Photoshop sends bits and pieces while Lightroom could be dumping the enire file).  This is a suggestion
from the computer guy not from anyone familiar with these programs

I have sent an email Lightroom Tech department and await thier reply

Anyone have a clue what might be happening here?
Logged
theophilus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 154


« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2007, 10:47:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Sometimes I get the "out of memory" error when Lightroom is rendering previews (i.e. I copy-pasted settings to an entire folder to remove sharpening).  I know the system is not out of memory, I have 2 GB and Lightroom is using about 800 MB at that point, and the sytem reports 800 MB still free (XP SP2).  Restarting Lightroom solves the issue.
Logged
tbiehn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2007, 09:42:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Sometimes I get the "out of memory" error when Lightroom is rendering previews (i.e. I copy-pasted settings to an entire folder to remove sharpening).  I know the system is not out of memory, I have 2 GB and Lightroom is using about 800 MB at that point, and the sytem reports 800 MB still free (XP SP2).  Restarting Lightroom solves the issue.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120567\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
tbiehn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2007, 09:48:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I had the same problem and have found that the largest that I can print is 18"x24".
You might want to try incrementaly downsizing your print untill it is accepted. Also I have found that it helps to restart Lightroom to clear the memory before printing a large print. Also try setting the print resloution to 240.
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2007, 10:16:38 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I had the same problem and have found that the largest that I can print is 18"x24".
You might want to try incrementaly downsizing your print untill it is accepted. Also I have found that it helps to restart Lightroom to clear the memory before printing a large print. Also try setting the print resloution to 240.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120629\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I have been searching the internet and found someone with same problem. His solution was to turn of Print Preview and the print will print out ok.   I will try this and see.

Also restarting lightroom when printing large clears memory for the job.
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2007, 12:36:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Response from Lightroom Tech:
FYI  I had the DPI setting at 360 DPI and will try lowering that setting to 300 or lower, if still doesn't work I will resort to just using Photoshop to print larger prints for the time being


Thank you for contacting Adobe® Web Support for assistance with Adobe
Photoshop Lightroom 1.0®

I understand that when you print to a print size of 24x30, nothing
prints even though you can print to 14x20 from Lightroom and print the
same image to 24x30 from Adobe Photoshop CS2®.

It is unclear what settings you are using to print. In the Library
module, is there a “?” symbol in the upper right corner of the th
umbnail? If there is, see the solutions in this support document on our
website:

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/knowledgebase...x.cfm?id=333657

If the original image is available to Lightroom, check the resolution
you are using to print with from Lightroom. In the Print module the
Print Job settings in the lower right contain the Print Resolution
setting. If this is a high number, it may be sending more data to the
printer driver than that driver can handle. Try printing at a variety of
resolution settings to see if a lower setting will work at that size.

On most printers a setting of 240 dpi will produce a good quality print,
there may be some noticeable improvement up to 300 dpi, and going above
300 dpi rarely makes a discernable difference. The
printer itself will scale the image up to a higher dpi if it prints at a
higher resolution.

It may also help to contact Epson® to see if there is a way to set the
driver to use more RAM, which could help if the driver is running out of
RAM to work with the larger image size.

I hope this information helps to resolve your issue.
If you require further assistance with this issue, please update your
web case with complete details, including what steps you have applied,
the print settings you are using and any error messages you
are receiving.

You may also call Technical Support at (800) 642-3623. We are available
from 6:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday - Friday, Pacific Time.

Kind regards,


Leland B.
Adobe Web Support
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad