Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: ZERO NOISE technique  (Read 315603 times)
Plekto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 551


« Reply #280 on: February 14, 2009, 02:43:59 PM »
ReplyReply

I had to search for this again.  Could we get this made a sticky?
Logged
cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #281 on: September 25, 2009, 09:16:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi GLuijk,

I'm just wondering if you could explain in details how to make your layer mask for brightness ?



Step 1: curve apply to the original image
Step 2: negate of what?
Step 3: how do you do that? make it white/transparent the shadows and midtones?
Step 4: do you apply a Gaussian of 5.8 ratio?

In term of the saturation, which value did you apply to your picture? do you use the same value every time with the same camera?

For the original image from ZN (figure 1), did you apply a gamma of 2.2 and a sRGB color space?


Regards,
Ced.
Logged
Guillermo Luijk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1289



WWW
« Reply #282 on: September 25, 2009, 09:37:45 AM »
ReplyReply

To create the layer mask for the Bright curve I do:

1. Go to the output image from ZN and do: Selection -> All, and then Edition -> Copy. With this a copy of the image is in the Clipboard
2. Now show the layer mask of the curve by clicking on the curve icon while keeping 'Alt' pressed. At that time the mask will be totally blank. Do now Edition -> Paste. This will paste the luminance of the image in the layer mask (greytones image).
3. Without leaving the layer mask yet do: Image -> Adjust -> Invert, so that the Bright curve will affect less the highlights and more the shadows (that are the ones we want to lift).
4. Now adjust levels on the mask layer to your like: clipping to pure white all the areas where the curve must work 100% (i.e. the shadows of the scene), and clipping to pure black the areas that are to be 100% protected (the highlights).
5. Finally do some gaussian blurring (5-6 px radius, depending on camera resolution) to preserve microcontrast detail.

BTW there is a Linux version working 4 times faster than the original, and a DNG output version is finally on the way.



The guy who translated the source code from VB6 to C++ is a C optimizer freak, and is doing a lot of improvements to my code to make it run faster. I hope we manage to do the DNG output version soon.

Regards
Logged

cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #283 on: September 25, 2009, 10:28:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi GLuijk,

That's a fast reply...  

I'm aware of that Linux version but there is no binary for 64bits...  with my custom shell script with ImageMagick, I don't have to apply a blending ratio: I'm overlaying a transparent mask with the exposure differences (2 masks with 3 images).

http://imagebin.ca/view/my5hgs.html

so step 1 and 2; it's just making a difference between the image with the curve and the original image?

http://imagebin.ca/view/1ZgIxG4A.html

step 3:

http://imagebin.ca/view/ZAS0hCE.html

Please let me know if that's correct?  

can I automate step 4? by detecting a kind of the luminance ratio?
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 03:11:50 AM by cedricb » Logged
Guillermo Luijk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1289



WWW
« Reply #284 on: September 25, 2009, 02:56:43 PM »
ReplyReply


The images don't display.
Logged

erick.boileau
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 469


WWW
« Reply #285 on: September 25, 2009, 03:31:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi GLuijk  !
is it working for MAC (64 bits) ?
Logged
jmb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


« Reply #286 on: September 26, 2009, 12:23:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Guillermo,

Quote from: GLuijk
BTW there is a Linux version working 4 times faster than the original, and a DNG output version is finally on the way.

Are you guys working on updating the windows version as well?

JMB
Logged
cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #287 on: September 26, 2009, 03:12:24 AM »
ReplyReply

I've updated the images link...
Logged
Guillermo Luijk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1289



WWW
« Reply #288 on: September 26, 2009, 04:49:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: jmb
Are you guys working on updating the windows version as well?
Definitively I'd like a DNG output version. I don't like the way DCRAW develops the RAW files from my 5D so I want to be able to fuse them in the undemosaiced domain and then take them noise-free into ACR.

Quote from: erick.boileau
is it working for MAC (64 bits) ?
Someone managed to run the Linux version in a Mac under Ubuntu, but there is no native Mac version yet.

Quote from: cedricb
I've updated the images link...
I think the best is you download this TIFF file from the tutorial and look at the mask layer. What you need to achieve is a mask that is dark in the highlights of the scene, pure white in the deep shadows of the scene, and  blurred to preserve local microcontast.

Regards
Logged

klane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 785

I live in a c-stand fort.


« Reply #289 on: September 26, 2009, 01:52:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: GLuijk
Definitively I'd like a DNG output version. I don't like the way DCRAW develops the RAW files from my 5D so I want to be able to fuse them in the undemosaiced domain and then take them noise-free into ACR.


Someone managed to run the Linux version in a Mac under Ubuntu, but there is no native Mac version yet.


I think the best is you download this TIFF file from the tutorial and look at the mask layer. What you need to achieve is a mask that is dark in the highlights of the scene, pure white in the deep shadows of the scene, and  blurred to preserve local microcontast.

Regards

Id love to have a native version for mac! Id pay for it.
Logged
cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #290 on: November 16, 2009, 09:01:10 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: GLuijk
I think the best is you download this TIFF file from the tutorial and look at the mask layer. What you need to achieve is a mask that is dark in the highlights of the scene, pure white in the deep shadows of the scene, and  blurred to preserve local microcontast.
Hi Gluijk,

I've been able to reproduce your brightness adjustments with ImageMagick. To produce the step 3, I've convert the ZN image (gamma 2.2) to the Rec601Luma colorspace. Then I've applied a threshold of 35% of luminance to produce a black and white mask (which I can overlay over the alpha channel of the negate gamma image).



Do you think I could generate the optimum luminance threshold based on something from the image? histogram?

For the brightness and contrast curves, is possible to generate the different points based on the histogram of the image?

...last one, how do you perform/calculate your WB patch in ZN which I think you set the -r parameter of dcraw?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 04:33:53 PM by cedricb » Logged
cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #291 on: November 19, 2009, 03:33:41 PM »
ReplyReply

If I want to use TuFuse to do the tone mapping. Do I need to have 5 images (1-2-3 2-3-4 3-4-5) and use the ZN technique to produce 3 images? ...or is there any way to produce the 3 images from the 3 catches?
Logged
Guillermo Luijk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1289



WWW
« Reply #292 on: November 24, 2009, 03:48:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: cedricb
If I want to use TuFuse to do the tone mapping. Do I need to have 5 images (1-2-3 2-3-4 3-4-5) and use the ZN technique to produce 3 images? ...or is there any way to produce the 3 images from the 3 catches?

You can fuse your RAW files in ZN, and then create several replicas in PS just pushing exposure up at 2EV intervals. Just make sure all areas of the scene get a correct exposure in some image in the set and TuFuse will work finely.

I requested the author of TuFuse to expand the autobracketing option in TuFuse to avoid this mess with ZN outputs.

Regards
Logged

cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #293 on: November 24, 2009, 04:45:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks a lot, I've tried it with enfuse and works perfectly. Do you think, we should get a better result with: 0EV 1EV 2EV 3EV 4EV ?  ...difficult to see the difference!

Can you shed some light on this please?

Quote
how do you perform/calculate your WB patch in ZN which I think you set the -r parameter of dcraw?
Logged
Guillermo Luijk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1289



WWW
« Reply #294 on: November 24, 2009, 05:11:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: cedricb
Thanks a lot, I've tried it with enfuse and works perfectly. Do you think, we should get a better result with: 0EV 1EV 2EV 3EV 4EV ?  ...difficult to see the difference!

Can you shed some light on this please?
If it's difficult to see the difference you already gave the answer.
Logged

cedricb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #295 on: December 01, 2009, 04:33:51 AM »
ReplyReply

A tribute to your tutorials using ImageMagick http://cbompart.wordpress.com/category/image-processing/

I hope you don't mind, I've used your lounge images so people can relate to your tutorials and compare. Please let me know if I need to add any copyright, etc.
Logged
NathanSoliz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


WWW
« Reply #296 on: December 08, 2009, 10:27:35 PM »
ReplyReply

I had to sign up for this forum in order to say thanks!
This is an amazing process and a wonderful applications.

I hope you make a lot off it and share with the world

I do have some questions since I'm still learning.
When you sat 4stops, you mean via your shutter speed? I have a Canon 20D and I stopped it for in AV mode, 4 clicks on my shutter. Is this right?
I'm a little fuzzy on the lingo.

Thanks,
Nathan Soliz.
Logged
Hoang
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83



WWW
« Reply #297 on: December 09, 2009, 12:04:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: NathanSoliz
I had to sign up for this forum in order to say thanks!
This is an amazing process and a wonderful applications.

I hope you make a lot off it and share with the world

I do have some questions since I'm still learning.
When you sat 4stops, you mean via your shutter speed? I have a Canon 20D and I stopped it for in AV mode, 4 clicks on my shutter. Is this right?
I'm a little fuzzy on the lingo.

Thanks,
Nathan Soliz.
If your camera is set to the default settings, each click should be 1/3 of a stop, so you'd need 12 clicks.
Logged
NathanSoliz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


WWW
« Reply #298 on: December 09, 2009, 11:29:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Hoang
If your camera is set to the default settings, each click should be 1/3 of a stop, so you'd need 12 clicks.

Ok thanks, yes my camera's settings are set by 1/3 in the settings options.

So may I ask more?
I'm using Manual M42 lenses and some Nikon's on my Canon 20D. I set my F stop on the lens wide open (1.4f) and my 'shutter speed' is set to what I want to see in the end result.
Once I take that shot, for example... @ 1/160th, I then go down 12 clicks?

Hmmm I may have been doing it wrong then.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 11:30:18 AM by NathanSoliz » Logged
Plekto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 551


« Reply #299 on: June 28, 2010, 12:13:26 PM »
ReplyReply

I was wondering if the admins here could perhaps make this and a few other longer-running threads bookmarked/at the top so that they are easy to find?  I had to search for a couple of minutes to find it again, and if someone had joined in the last seven months, they'd not even know it exists.   This really is the best software that almost nobody knows about.
Logged
Pages: « 1 ... 13 14 [15] 16 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad