Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Z3100 printing incorrect size  (Read 1920 times)
pcox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 154


WWW
« on: September 10, 2007, 01:36:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi folks -
This is a strange one. I've been trying to get my Z3100 to print a roughly 24x24" print. The image is sized in photoshop (cs3), all print driver settings are made appropriately.

The first time I printed it, a section of the image was printed on an A4-sized section of the roll. The gloss enhancer was set to whole page, and the area of the gloss enhancer was exactly A4 in size.

Every subsequent time I've printed it, the image itself is scaled down to A4 size - no truncation, just shrinking.

The printer reports the proper width for the roll in the front panel LCD, the driver is set to the correct paper size and the driver 'print preview' shows the print taking up the full width of the roll. I have unloaded and re-loaded the paper to no effect. I have also done a cold restart of the printer.

Anyone seen this before? Going to call HP support about it tomorrow.

Cheers,
Peter
Logged

Peter Cox Photography
Photography Workshops in Ireland
Fine Art Landscape Photographs
www.petercox.ie
Harry Carpenter
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 03:23:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Peter. Are you printing from CS3 using print with preview and setting the paper size on the fly in the HP driver?
The driver is a bit clumsy and when you set a new paper size you have to back off out of the driver and then back in in order to see the correct size displayed or it will just fall back to its default size which is A4 or letter.

Failing that do you have any other printers on the same computer. I just wonder if any settings are getting their wires crossed.

Is it connected via usb or a network.

If you still have trouble try qimage as a free trial. It is a bit clumsy to navigate around but it may help with laying out your prints as you want.

If you do get a solution can you post it back here just in case it happens to someone else.
Logged
pcox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 154


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2007, 04:25:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Harry -
I always make sure to double check the paper size (among other things) when printing by doing just that. It's definitely using the right size. As I mentioned, the HP print preview (displayed after sending the print to the spooler, and generated by the driver) shows the image occupying the full width of the roll (as it should), along with the correct dimensions.

I own qimage, and have the same problem printing from it. This is either a problem with the printer itself, or it's the driver (telling me one thing, sending the printer another).

The printer is connected via the network.

Cheers,
Peter
Logged

Peter Cox Photography
Photography Workshops in Ireland
Fine Art Landscape Photographs
www.petercox.ie
Harry Carpenter
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2007, 04:41:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I am assuming that you have printed succesfully from this computer to this printer before now.

If so, what changed and when.

Do you have access to a laptop or another computer and load the driver to try printing from that. I suspect it is the driver but it would be good to remove any variables from the equation.

If it was the printer I think you would get a partial image, so I think the problem lies before this which means it must be when it is sent out from your pc or when the settings are first generated.

My first thing would be to uninstall and reinstall the driver, but with windows tendency to collect crap and hold onto it that may not solve the problem.

I tend to think out loud and write it all down when I am on a PC but try one of these even if only to discount it.

H.
Logged
WaltZ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 11:24:24 PM »
ReplyReply

I had the same problem at one time, except I was able to see the bad print size in the preview window.

First, I found that I only had to set the Document Size on the Paper/Quality tab, and that I could leave the Resizing Option on the Features tab set to Actual Size.  I had been trying to keep these two in sync, but the Resizing Options drop-down kept losing the paper sizes I had set up, and would fall back to A4.

Second, you can change the default paper size and other settings in Windows:  Start / Printers and Faxes / right-click on Z3100 and select Printing Preferences...
- On Paper/Quality tab, under Document Size, select your paper size.  As long as you're here, check Show Preview Before Printing.
- On Features tab, make sure "Actual size" is selected under Resizing Options.
- Again, as long as you're here, go to the Color tab and select Application Managed Colors.
- Click OK.
Logged

rwheat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2007, 11:42:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Running windows, I find that I have to reselect the correct paper size in Printer Preferences (the last step before the print happens) after having already set it all up in CS3 and the driver and having seen the correct preview from the driver.
If I don't do this, I get a letter size print even though the preview looked ok.
In addition, if I try to print a 16-bit image I get paper size issues.
Hope this helps,
Richard.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad