Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Software for downsizing of MF files  (Read 4050 times)
ynp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


WWW
« on: September 21, 2007, 12:42:36 PM »
ReplyReply

We are preparing a 76 pages catalogue for printing. The printshop we use here in Moscow declined our 33 mpx. files (RGB, Sinar eMotion 75). They had no problem with our 22 mpx. files before. Now they claim that our files clog their  computers and insist that we should downsize  all our files to 300 dpi. 22 x 26 centimeters. I am sitting at my computer and doing this in Photoshop (10% a time). With the arrival of my eMotion 75 I spend more time downsizing my files . Is there a software to automate the downsizing and keep the quality?
Yevgeny
P.S. I hope this not off topic at the MF forum
Logged
Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 12:48:03 PM »
ReplyReply

When downsizing, there is no advantage to downsizing in multiple steps, especially if doing so in 16-bit mode. Shrinking directly to the final output size in Photoshop using Bicubic Sharper method in 16-bit mode will be as good as or better than any other method.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 12:48:43 PM by Jonathan Wienke » Logged

Henry Goh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2007, 12:48:07 PM »
ReplyReply

If you are using CS2 or CS3 and are downsizing, I do not see why you need to do it at 10% per time.  Just set the final size you need and it will do it in one go.
Logged
ynp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 12:54:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you all for your prompt replies.
 Yevgeny
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 12:55:49 PM by ynp » Logged
Dustbak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2370


« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2007, 01:10:20 PM »
ReplyReply

You can also use Adobe Bridge. Select all the files you want to downsize, go to the Image processor and have them downsized to what you like in either Tiff, PSD or JPG. You can even run an action (or more) over the files.

Fastest in my opinion, I would love to hear a faster way (especially with simultaneously running actions). Hmmm.. maybe a droplet but that is not as flexible.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 01:10:52 PM by Dustbak » Logged
Streetwise
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 122


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2007, 01:33:56 PM »
ReplyReply

I know Genuine Fractals is really good at up-rezing files, but is there any advantage to use it to scale down?

Dave
Logged
mattlap2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 134


« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2007, 01:42:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Yevgeny,

You can scale your images when exporting right in Capture Shop 5.    In the export menu there is a choice called Scale and just input your dimensions and your DPI.  

Matt
Logged
Henry Goh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2007, 02:04:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I know Genuine Fractals is really good at up-rezing files, but is there any advantage to use it to scale down?

Dave
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141032\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

GF does not have a negative scale so you can't downsize using GF.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2007, 02:45:29 PM by Henry Goh » Logged
ynp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2007, 02:10:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Matt,
Thank you very much for your very useful tip.

I am learning Capture Shop and not very familiar with the software.  I am migrating from Capture Pro to Capture Shop for tethered shooting after upgrading to LV version. My main  workflow  is based on the  Brumbaer Tools.
Thanks again,
Yevgeny
Quote
Yevgeny,

You can scale your images when exporting right in Capture Shop 5.    In the export menu there is a choice called Scale and just input your dimensions and your DPI.   

Matt
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141037\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
thsinar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2066


WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2007, 12:21:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Yevgeny,

and I would lke to add to Mat's post: you can do this in batch process, by selecting all the files you wich to scale in the contact sheet and then exporting them.

Best regards,
Thierry

Quote
Yevgeny,

You can scale your images when exporting right in Capture Shop 5.    In the export menu there is a choice called Scale and just input your dimensions and your DPI.   

Matt
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=141037\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

Thierry Hagenauer
thasia_cn@yahoo.com
RobertJ
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 591


« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2007, 01:14:22 PM »
ReplyReply

PhotoZoom Pro with S-Spline - my favorite.  You can batch process files as well.
Logged
rainer_v
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1130


WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2007, 06:09:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
PhotoZoom Pro with S-Spline - my favorite.  You can batch process files as well.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=142257\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
photozoom is very good for upsizing. for downsizing i dont like it, for its tendency to creats in this case stairsteps on diagonals. i prefer photoshops algorythm
Logged

rainer viertlböck
architecture photographer
munich / germany

www.tangential.de
RobertJ
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 591


« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2007, 07:56:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Rainer, you're right.  I figured it was just the preview in PhotoZoom that was showing stairstepping, until I processed it, and it was still there.  But yeah, upsizing is excellent.

So for downsizing, PhotoShop it is!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad