Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom crashing...HELP  (Read 3310 times)
point-n-shoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« on: October 08, 2007, 11:05:24 PM »
ReplyReply

I have used Lightroom with CS2 for quite a while with NO problems.  I decided to install the 30-day trial version of CS3...after it expired, Lightroom continued to ask if I wanted to open exported photos in CS3, so I uninstalled it and ran CS3 Cleaner (level 1). Ever since then, I cannot get Lightroom to work. I open it and within a few minutes I receive the dreaded
Code:
"Adobe Photoshop Lightroom has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
(Yeah, I'll bet.)  Photoshop CS2 started to do the same thing, but I was able to repair it through "Control Panel / Add-Remove Programs / Repair".

I have uninstaled and reinstalled LR several times, even trying older versions 1.0 and 1.1 to see if it made a difference...it didn't. The last uninstall I deleted all the catalogs and files, and even all registry keys associated with Lightroom, but when I reinstalled the same thing happened.

I attempted to "repair" the install (through Add/Remove Programs) like I did with CS2...but I get the following error message:

"The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click OK, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package 'Adobe_Lightroom.msi' in the box below.

The box (mentioned above) currently contains the following path:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:\DOCUME~1\ME\LOCALS~1\Temp\{22BD4AAF-E147-4995-82E3-B105B55ADAC2}\
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and when I click "OK" the file cannot be found.  

I ran a search on my hard drives for "Adobe_Lightroom.msi", but nothing came up. Unfortunately I dont have an installation disk because I purchased LR as a download from the Adobe Store.  I tried calling Adobe support but I was placed on permanent hold!!

Anyone here have an idea on how to fix this?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 11:10:03 PM by point-n-shoot » Logged
John.Murray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 893



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 02:00:10 PM »
ReplyReply

I remember you from:

http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index....pic=13958&st=20

Quote
Dude, there's no "thrill" (other than saving $1100 on a software suite), and its effortless. Download the program, run the keygen...done. I'm not proud of the fact that I can't afford to spend that kind of coin on software...but on the same token I'm not ashamed that I scored a free copy. Is it wrong?...yeah. Do I care?...not really.

Do you actually have a legitimate license for Lightroom?Huh  Why not post your issues on Adobe's tech forum - it's very helpfull for registered users of their products . . .

If you actually have a valid license, then my apologies in advance!

 . . .  the same advice though . . . .
« Last Edit: October 09, 2007, 02:05:29 PM by Joh.Murray » Logged

sniper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 583


« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 03:01:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Maybe the left you on hold because of your previous post???   Wayne
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 03:51:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Well I paid for LR and regard it a big waste of money. Slow, unreliable, buggy, poor design, a work in progress....
Potentially great, still betaware as far as I'm concerned, so I wouldn't blame anyone for using a cracked version until Adobe got the programme working.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
fnagy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2007, 07:04:45 PM »
ReplyReply

JJJ

I bet you are the type that would run to the nearest solicitor if your images were used without your permission and they made money with them.

"Do unto others before they do unto you?"

Hope you solve your problem, never wish any undo hardship on others and keep using that symbol on your site, someday you might get it.
Logged

Love & Peace
Frank
John.Murray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 893



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2007, 07:07:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well I paid for LR and regard it a big waste of money. Slow, unreliable, buggy, poor design, a work in progress....
Potentially great, still betaware as far as I'm concerned, so I wouldn't blame anyone for using a cracked version until Adobe got the programme working.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144913\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


so . . . it would be ok to take one of the excellent images from your site, and claim it as our own?

oh yeah, then expect you to maybe change sharpness or a few other settings for us as well?

I don't want to dump on you jjj, my experience with Lightroom is very different - none the less, theft is theft - why would you condone that?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2007, 07:14:05 PM by Joh.Murray » Logged

fnagy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2007, 07:08:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry previous post was to point-and-shoot, but also seems to apply to jjj, (whoops, two wrongs do make a right!)

Man I am full of bad cliches today!  Brain seems fried, these come along every once in a while.
Logged

Love & Peace
Frank
fnagy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2007, 07:16:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
so . . . it would be ok to take one of the excellent images from your site, and claim it as our own?

oh yeah, then expect you to maybe change sharpness or a few other settings for us as well?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144960\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


I have had that experience before, they thought they were doing me a favour by exposing my images to the public (not even a credit line?), then asked for a high res version?

After several months of headaches, and a threat of a Law Suit, and charges of copyright infringement, they coughed up the approriate $  never heard back from them for more work (I thought they really liked my images?)
Logged

Love & Peace
Frank
David Sutton
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2007, 01:33:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have used Lightroom with CS2 for quite a while with NO problems.  I decided to install the 30-day trial version of CS3...after it expired, Lightroom continued to ask if I wanted to open exported photos in CS3, so I uninstalled it and ran CS3 Cleaner (level 1). Ever since then, I cannot get Lightroom to work. I open it and within a few minutes I receive the dreaded
Code:
"Adobe Photoshop Lightroom has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
(Yeah, I'll bet.)  Photoshop CS2 started to do the same thing, but I was able to repair it through "Control Panel / Add-Remove Programs / Repair".

I have uninstaled and reinstalled LR several times, even trying older versions 1.0 and 1.1 to see if it made a difference...it didn't. The last uninstall I deleted all the catalogs and files, and even all registry keys associated with Lightroom, but when I reinstalled the same thing happened.

I attempted to "repair" the install (through Add/Remove Programs) like I did with CS2...but I get the following error message:

"The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click OK, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package 'Adobe_Lightroom.msi' in the box below.

The box (mentioned above) currently contains the following path:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:\DOCUME~1\ME\LOCALS~1\Temp\{22BD4AAF-E147-4995-82E3-B105B55ADAC2}\
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and when I click "OK" the file cannot be found. 

I ran a search on my hard drives for "Adobe_Lightroom.msi", but nothing came up. Unfortunately I dont have an installation disk because I purchased LR as a download from the Adobe Store.  I tried calling Adobe support but I was placed on permanent hold!!

Anyone here have an idea on how to fix this?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=144760\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Can't help with the missing Lightroom.msi, but a real longshot on it crashing: were you using the same LRCat each time?
Logged

point-n-shoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2007, 09:44:47 PM »
ReplyReply

HMMM...eight replies and only ONE person actually addressed the specific issue.  What a waste of bandwidth.

Quote
[SNIP] were you using the same LRCat each time?

I dont think so...it asked me to create a new one when I reinstalled.   I did leave the old ones on my internal storage drive...do you think that could be the problem?
Logged
David Sutton
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 882


WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2007, 12:11:16 AM »
ReplyReply

I did leave the old ones on my internal storage drive...do you think that could be the problem?

Only if the same catalogue was opened each time. Not if it was just sitting there.
I had a problem with a corrupt LRcat when running on two machines. Fixed it by reinstalling LR on one machine and then repairing the LRcat.
Other things I have found to cause LR to close are other software running at the same time (eg  related to sound or video, or Bridge for heavens sake) or possibly something plugged in to your computer (eg through a usb port). Sorry I can't be more helpful.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad