Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard  (Read 3206 times)
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5791



WWW
« on: November 10, 2007, 02:37:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Folks:

Came across this website this morning; thought it might be of interest to some...

Mike.

http://www.macintouch.com/leopard/compat.html
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8199



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2007, 01:28:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi Folks:

Came across this website this morning; thought it might be of interest to some...

Mike.

http://www.macintouch.com/leopard/compat.html
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=151806\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks Mike.

It really looks like it is better to wait another 2 months before upgrading to Leopard.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Per Ofverbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2007, 03:34:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Thanks Mike.

It really looks like it is better to wait another 2 months before upgrading to Leopard.

Regards,
Bernard
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=151876\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes, it´s even worse than I thought....

To add to the list, Unsanity´s Fruit Menu (which is my main navigation method on all my Mac´s) isn´t compatible either.

There´s nothing wrong with Tiger, really.  Everything works, no new frills to learn.  Concentrate on working with images instead of recalcitrant software, that´s what I´ll do.
Logged

Per Ofverbeck
My Webpage

"In a world without walls or fences, who needs Windows or Gates?"
eleanorbrown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 632


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2007, 01:04:41 PM »
ReplyReply

I (probably unwisely) installed Leopard on my G5 quad core almost right away (tho retaining a clone of my hard drive with Tiger on a separate drive, just in case).  Lightroom RAW processing is working with Phase One and Canon RAW files just fine and CS3 is also working fine.  At first I had a number of CS3 freezes  where the image file would just "disappear" but still be open--- but now I haven't had this happen in the last several days at all, and I've been working with Lightroom and CS3 several hours each day.  Imageprint 7 with Leopard fix is working fine, as is Disk Warrior to rebuild my directory(when started from the DW disk).  Fruit menu does not work, and I miss that.  iPhoto and iWeb also seem to be working fine and I've been using both of these apps the last several days also. Integrated Color is OK, as is Toast for burning discs.  Silverkeeper and Super Duper back up are working flawlessly.

One thing that I had a complaint about is that since I worked on my web site with Leopard, computers in an office were freezing when they tried to go to the site (that may have been just the time I was uploading...don't know.  Anyway when I access it from any of my Macs, it works flawlessly...so go figure??

Hope this helps from first hand experience.  Long story short, my system with Leopard is working so good now that I backed it up on the external drive (using Super Duper) that I had Tiger on).  I felt that safe.

Also, iView MediaPro works fine with leopard.

BTW--the way the dock opens---stacks and/or all those huge folders in a grid drive me crazy.  I yearn for the doc that I can right click on a folder and it opens with a simple vertical list of the contents of that folder---no curved menus with big icons and no grids with those huge folder icons---waaay too much eye candy for me.  Hope apple gives us the choice to set the dock opening like it used to be.  eleanor
« Last Edit: November 11, 2007, 02:31:41 PM by eleanorbrown » Logged

Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2007, 02:43:13 PM »
ReplyReply

I too have had only one problem with Leo on my MacPro, MacBook Pro and G4. C3 works just fine as does all my other software, including PS plugins.

The only exception is LR 1.2 going to Print mode, which is a nuisance but hardly crippling as I usually use CS3 for printing using Canon's 16 but Export module.

Time Machine alone is a really good reason to go to Leo.

Bill



Quote
I (probably unwisely) installed Leopard on my G5 quad core almost right away (tho retaining a clone of my hard drive with Tiger on a separate drive, just in case).  Lightroom RAW processing is working with Phase One and Canon RAW files just fine and CS3 is also working fine.  At first I had a number of CS3 freezes  where the image file would just "disappear" but still be open--- but now I haven't had this happen in the last several days at all, and I've been working with Lightroom and CS3 several hours each day.  Imageprint 7 with Leopard fix is working fine, as is Disk Warrior to rebuild my directory(when started from the DW disk).  Fruit menu does not work, and I miss that.  iPhoto and iWeb also seem to be working fine and I've been using both of these apps the last several days also. Integrated Color is OK, as is Toast for burning discs.  Silverkeeper and Super Duper back up are working flawlessly.

One thing that I had a complaint about is that since I worked on my web site with Leopard, computers in an office were freezing when they tried to go to the site (that may have been just the time I was uploading...don't know.  Anyway when I access it from any of my Macs, it works flawlessly...so go figure??

Hope this helps from first hand experience.  Long story short, my system with Leopard is working so good now that I backed it up on the external drive (using Super Duper) that I had Tiger on).  I felt that safe.

Also, iView MediaPro works fine with leopard.

BTW--the way the dock opens---stacks and/or all those huge folders in a grid drive me crazy.  I yearn for the doc that I can right click on a folder and it opens with a simple vertical list of the contents of that folder---no curved menus with big icons and no grids with those huge folder icons---waaay too much eye candy for me.  Hope apple gives us the choice to set the dock opening like it used to be.  eleanor
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=151965\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
Andy M
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2007, 03:24:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Both CS2 and Lightroom have been fine for me

The only problem I have encountered is with Skype, which has nothing to do with photography.
Logged
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2884



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2007, 03:36:19 PM »
ReplyReply

I've been on Leopard for 2 weeks with my portable, and the only problem I've had so far has to do with LR metadata on a file, when viewed in list mode in the finder the finder will restart as it tries to build the preview.  Dragging that image into iWeb also causes a problem.

The solution is pretty simple, just strip out the metadata once I have the jpeg created.

I'll probably wait another week to install it on my MacPro, I may even wait for the first incremental upgrade which is probably coming soon.  Many more critical things on that machine.

I miss fruit menu as well.  Unsanity has been pretty good in the past, hopefully we'll see a new version from them soon.
Logged

tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 240


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2007, 04:23:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Be careful with SuperDuper. The developers say it isn't Leopard compatible.
http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/Sup...escription.html


I bought a family pack and put it on every Mac my wife and I own and haven't had any major problems.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad