Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Drobo external drives are you using it  (Read 43920 times)
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« on: November 17, 2007, 08:16:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I have had so many Lacie & Maxtor drive crash (actually not the hard drive but the power mechanism)  I need something a bit more automatic and dependable.

The Drobo system intrigues me.   With this system in addition to
to backing up to large drive (and DVD's)  should  be sufficient to keeping the files safe and up to date.


Anyone have real experience using this system (Drobo).
I am thinking of using 1 TB   drives to maximize storage options.


Any quirks or problems, surprises etc.

I know there already has been some discussion  about the system but would like an updated review by people really using it
« Last Edit: November 17, 2007, 08:47:55 PM by larryg » Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9329



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2007, 10:00:51 PM »
ReplyReply

It looks cool and I'm intrigued by it but man, its kind of expensive considering its cost with NO storage. For a lot less, I got a 5 bay Raid unit. It is cool how you can keep adding various sized disks but I'm not sold yet at that price point. Plus USB 2.0? I've seen it demo'ed in person at least twice, it seems like a smart idea. Its proprietary and I don't believe you can gang them up. But I think it initially seems a few hundred bucks too expensive for what its providing. Plus it or a Raid 1, I'm never going to sleep at night with just one, even two sets of data.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2007, 11:00:08 PM »
ReplyReply

What 5 bay raid unit did you buy?
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9329



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2007, 09:29:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
What 5 bay raid unit did you buy?
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The Sonnet 500:

[a href=\"http://www.sonnettech.com/product/fusiond500p.html]http://www.sonnettech.com/product/fusiond500p.html[/url]
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2007, 11:49:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The Sonnet 500:

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/fusiond500p.html
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153834\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hmm...

I keep looking at cheaper options like the Cavalry 3tb or the lacie etherdisk raid.

I've even found an AMS 5 bay e-sata job on newegg which would be more interesting if it was even mentioned on the AMS web site.

Who reviews these things?  I'm tired of the "Be the first to review yadayada"
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9329



WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2007, 11:51:11 AM »
ReplyReply

One reason I went with the Sonnet was I wanted to have both JOBD and a Raid 1. So of the five bays, I have two drives set as a Raid, one a single backup drive. When I looked at other solutions, that wasn't always possible (they either all had to all be JOBD or Raid). Not sure why but I've been pretty happy so far with the Sonnet.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2007, 11:51:35 AM by digitaldog » Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2007, 02:58:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I think I'm going to pick up a buffalo drivestation quattro.  $425 for a 1TB version.  $750 for a 2TB version.  At that price I'm willing to give up features.

Sorry to the OP about hijacking the thread.
Logged
dseelig
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 460


« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2007, 12:25:58 PM »
ReplyReply

In reading Doug Plummers blog about the drobo I decided against it David
Quote
I think I'm going to pick up a buffalo drivestation quattro.  $425 for a 1TB version.  $750 for a 2TB version.  At that price I'm willing to give up features.

Sorry to the OP about hijacking the thread.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=153923\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
rethmeier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 780


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2007, 01:48:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm using the Drobo with 4 Samsung 500 GB drives.
The set-up cost me a bit over $1200 AUD.
I like it and it's piece of mind.
My images are now stored on 3 different places.
Logged

Willem Rethmeier
www.willemrethmeier.com
Sydney Australia
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2007, 03:51:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
In reading Doug Plummers blog about the drobo I decided against it David
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154725\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

wnere is Doug's blog located?  I would be interested in reading it

This is the kind of information needed to make an informed decision, especially with a propriatory system
Logged
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2007, 04:52:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Google his name.  Or something like "Doug Plummer's Blog".  As I recall it was the first item in the list.
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2007, 03:54:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Google his name.  Or something like "Doug Plummer's Blog".  As I recall it was the first item in the list.
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


[a href=\"http://dougplummer.blogs.com/]http://dougplummer.blogs.com/[/url]
Logged
larryg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468



WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2007, 01:05:33 PM »
ReplyReply

I purchased two 500gb My Books (already had two of them)  and will be putting all raw on one drive and backing them up on DVD and 2nd drive.

This will give some assurance of protection.  
I am leaning toward's not purchasing the Drobo solution since it is propriatory.    

Thanks for those who responded.  It would appear to me not very many (at least on this forum) are jumping to the Drobo solution?
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2007, 02:07:06 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm just not enamoured of the USB format.  If it was SATA, I'd give it some thought (maybe not a lot, since it's still a bit pricey for just the shell).
Logged
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2007, 06:41:04 PM »
ReplyReply

If it was a NAS device or supported E-SATA I'd go for it.
Logged
SusanFleck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


WWW
« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2007, 07:06:26 PM »
ReplyReply

While we are on the topic of Drobo, I have one that I am not sure has been answered.

I use a Mac and currently have multiple drives attached to it. I back up to CD/DVD and these multiple drives and then take them off site for security in the event of theft/fire. What I am wondering is whether I can do the same with Drobo? I would like to have this Drobo system with a drive(s) for keeping work on site, but also insert another drive or two, back up the information and take it off site. Can I do that with this system? I seem to think from reading their on-line literature that I can, but am not sure.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

Susan
Logged

wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5807



WWW
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2007, 11:59:39 PM »
ReplyReply

I may be wrong, but my understanding of the Drobo is that it tries to keep the full data set within the 'box' even if one or more drives are removed.  That DOESN'T mean that a drive you remove will have the full backup on it as the information is shared across the drives that Drobo has access to.  If you remove a drive it redistributes the information and rebuilds the data set across the remaining drives.  Now if you were to remove ALL of the drives and later replace them... no I don't think that would work either.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
SusanFleck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


WWW
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2007, 01:01:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Mike!
Logged

a_krause
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52


« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2007, 07:00:53 PM »
ReplyReply

i am not sure if i fully understand the question, but with drobo you can make sets. sooo say if you have 3 drives in with a bunch of data that is backed up hard drives. you can copy it to the drobo, store it, and then use it for a later date. i think the problems occur if you remove it while the drobo is still on and only replace 1 of the drives, bc it will think that a drive has died... dont quote me on any of this. check out drobospace.com its a forum where they can better answeer your questions
Logged

PatrikR
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2007, 07:12:19 AM »
ReplyReply

In my opinion the drobo is a toy. It suffers from poor implementation, parts and so on of a great idea. Backing up to single disks is probably safer than playing russian roulette with this toy.

I guess drobo is better than nothing but their marketing is questionable. They say it's great for video and safe storage. My experience says it's extremely slow and highly unreliable.
Logged

Patrik Raski - Espoo, Finland
Pages: [1] 2 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad