Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 2 LR Questions  (Read 2503 times)
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« on: November 19, 2007, 04:30:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I've decided to see if I can do without some of my third party tools - JAlbum and Qimage.

Question re printing:  the left and right arrows don't scroll through the filmstrip on the bottom of the page?  User error of some kind?

Web: I've selected several exif items for a custom caption.  Is there any way to insert a line break?  I want to be able to force a line break so the Title appears on a new line, would also like the file name on it's own line.  Any way to do this?

thanks.

Edit: found the text edit answer here: http://lightroom-news.com/2007/05/22/forma...editor-for-web/
« Last Edit: November 19, 2007, 04:35:17 PM by Tim Gray » Logged
Ian Lyons
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 05:37:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I've decided to see if I can do without some of my third party tools - JAlbum and Qimage.

Question re printing:  the left and right arrows don't scroll through the filmstrip on the bottom of the page?  User error of some kind?


The arrow keys in "Print" module only work when you have multiple images selected
Logged

Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2007, 05:48:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Ah ha!  thanks.
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2007, 06:53:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I've decided to see if I can do without some of my third party tools - JAlbum and Qimage.

Question re printing:  the left and right arrows don't scroll through the filmstrip on the bottom of the page?  User error of some kind?

Web: I've selected several exif items for a custom caption.  Is there any way to insert a line break?  I want to be able to force a line break so the Title appears on a new line, would also like the file name on it's own line.  Any way to do this?

thanks.

Edit: found the text edit answer here: http://lightroom-news.com/2007/05/22/forma...editor-for-web/
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Seems to work ok in IE7, but Firefox keeps everything on the same line... here's an example...   The file name and "Royal Ontario Museum" should appear on separate lines.  Everything seems to be enabled in the Firefox options.  Any ideas?

[a href=\"http://www.timgrayphotography.com/galleries/20071119_u_of_t/content/071113_5825_U_of_T_large.html]http://www.timgrayphotography.com/gallerie...of_T_large.html[/url]
Logged
ajtaylor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2007, 01:09:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Have you tried out TTG Slimbox gallery - http://theturninggate.net/blog/adobe-light...limbox-template ?

Well worth a play !
Logged
paulbk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 469



« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2007, 03:18:41 AM »
ReplyReply

re: Qimage (gone)

Last night I deleted all vestiges of Qimage (Studio Edition) from my computer. Over the years Qimage has become cult software. You either love it, or find that the UI has ďevolvedĒ to an increasingly impenetrable and unnecessary mess. Mike Chaney is clearly a smart guy. And apparently with very good eyes. I know that he knows that folks who use his software run their monitors at high resolutions (1600x1200).  So why not use a BIG LEDGIBLE FONT for old folks like me. Boggles. In any event, Qimage is gone. The older I get, less is more.

Since the recent fix in CS3, I print from Photoshop. (I use an Epson 4000. Itís a little long in the tooth, I know. Waiting for the new 78xx series with no ink cart change needed. Or maybe even a Canon or HP.) Someday I hope to use Lightroom for printing.

Lightroom is a tectonic shift in post processing for photographers with a very bright future. Itís become a must have. Waiting for the print module to mature. I use it mostly for cropping (the best), color, and tonal adjustments. Donít need the database feature, but Iím sure it works for pros.

I do RAW convert and capture sharpening in DPP. I don't know if any third party RAW converter will every best the OEM for image quality (resolution detail, tonal response, and color fidelity). DPP interface is dated (clunky) with nowhere near the magic controls in Lightroom, but you start with a very solid image.

my $0.02
p
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 03:33:09 PM by paulbk » Logged

paul b. kramarchyk
Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad