Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: What Happened to My Originals?  (Read 2364 times)
ron lacy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« on: November 20, 2007, 01:55:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I recently upgraded Lightroom to 1.3 and have upgraded to Leopard on my iMac.  Now when I work in the develop module I seem to lose the original file.  I have the edited/developed image, but the original is gone?!  Have I done something different or is there an issue with the new upgrades?  In the past I would have the original (file name 1234.dng for example and the new file 1234.dng-1).  Now all I have is the edited file ( still 1234.dng).

I am no expert with LR so I may have inadvertenly done something, but I would appreciate your help.
Ron
Logged
ron lacy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 05:03:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I recently upgraded Lightroom to 1.3 and have upgraded to Leopard on my iMac.  Now when I work in the develop module I seem to lose the original file.  I have the edited/developed image, but the original is gone?!  Have I done something different or is there an issue with the new upgrades?  In the past I would have the original (file name 1234.dng for example and the new file 1234.dng-1).  Now all I have is the edited file ( still 1234.dng).

I am no expert with LR so I may have inadvertenly done something, but I would appreciate your help.
Ron
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154458\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Does anyone have an idea about what is going on with my copy of LR?  Any help much appreciated.
Thanks
Ron
Logged
KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 616


« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2007, 08:43:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Does anyone have an idea about what is going on with my copy of LR?  Any help much appreciated.
Thanks
Ron
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155322\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Before you updated to 1.3, did you do a back up of your libary per the instructions?
Logged

The destination is our goal but its the journey that educates us.
tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2007, 06:26:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Are you sure you aren't thinking of Aperture? Aperture has a preference to always make a new copy when you edit but LR doesn't.
Logged
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5560



WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2007, 05:01:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Are you sure you aren't thinking of Aperture? Aperture has a preference to always make a new copy when you edit but LR doesn't.

I was wondering about that when I read the OP's question.  Lightroom allows virtual copies, but the only way that I know in Lightroom to have a 1234.dng AND a 1234.dng-1 within the Lightroom library would be to export out the original file as 1234.dng-1 and then reimport it as a separate file.  Then again, I'm no Lightroom expert...  If you do an edit in Photoshop for example then it adds an '-edit' to the original.  Is this what you meant?

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
ron lacy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2007, 10:32:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I was wondering about that when I read the OP's question.  Lightroom allows virtual copies, but the only way that I know in Lightroom to have a 1234.dng AND a 1234.dng-1 within the Lightroom library would be to export out the original file as 1234.dng-1 and then reimport it as a separate file.  Then again, I'm no Lightroom expert...  If you do an edit in Photoshop for example then it adds an '-edit' to the original.  Is this what you meant?

Mike.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155607\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Perhaps you guys are right.  As I said I am no expert in LR.  However, one of the advantages of LR is that it is lossless and you never lose the original.  However when I do an edit I do lose the original unless I "reset" the edits, then i have lost the edited file.  That doesn't seem to make sense to me.  Any thoughts?
Ron
Logged
tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2007, 07:10:49 AM »
ReplyReply

"Lossless" means you're not making any permanent changes to the original file. For example, if you open a jpeg in Photoshop, change the brightness and save the file, that file is changed permanently.

In LR, if you work on a raw file and make a "change", what LR records in instructions about what to change. LR doesn't really change the file itself (this may be different for jpegs or tiffs, I don't know).

You can revert to the original by resetting the edits or by making a virtual copy and resetting the edits there. That way you can have you edits and the original.

Another way to do this is to make the edits you want and save a snapshot. then you can revert to the edited image or the original just to see what you've done.

I hope I'm clear -- it's very clear in my head. Let me know if I'm not.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad