Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 6.5 fps with the EOS 40D?  (Read 3180 times)
acmeglue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« on: December 11, 2007, 07:04:29 PM »
ReplyReply

One of the selling point to me was the 6.5 fps with Canon 40D, and I just got it. Somehow, no matter what setting I use I get about 3 fps, same as my 5D. On the 40D I use a vertical grip with two fully charged batteries. I tried the Live View settings:
- Live view off
- Silent mode 1, 2 or disable (made no difference)
- 16GB Sandisk III (shot with or without the CF card)
I fired 40D side by side with the 5D. Just can't get it over 3 fps.
anyone know how I can get 6.5 fps? Thanks!
Logged
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1453


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2007, 07:29:10 PM »
ReplyReply

According to the review at dpreview.com, they couldn't get 6.5fps either, and they only got up around 6 when the shutter speed was very fast. IIRC they needed 1/4000 sec to get above 6 fps. Not particularly useful when shooting, say, indoor basketball.

(Disclosure: I have a 40d on order, but haven't shot one yet. I won't be using it for sports photography. That's why I have 1-D2 bodies.)
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
macgyver
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 510


« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2007, 10:15:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
One of the selling point to me was the 6.5 fps with Canon 40D, and I just got it. Somehow, no matter what setting I use I get about 3 fps, same as my 5D. On the 40D I use a vertical grip with two fully charged batteries. I tried the Live View settings:
- Live view off
- Silent mode 1, 2 or disable (made no difference)
- 16GB Sandisk III (shot with or without the CF card)
I fired 40D side by side with the 5D. Just can't get it over 3 fps.
anyone know how I can get 6.5 fps? Thanks!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=159982\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

If you are only getting 3fps, make sure you are in the right drive mode. There is a continuous mode and a continuous High mode. Make sure yours has the (H).
Logged
acmeglue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2007, 09:25:10 PM »
ReplyReply

set continuous shooting mode to H. got 6.x fps. thank you both!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad