Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: In Camera Settings  (Read 2196 times)
W00DY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« on: January 26, 2008, 01:19:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi All,

As far as I know, when you import a RAW image into Lightroom it applies it's own default settings. Does this mean that it is pointless shooting RAW and also changing the in camera settings?

For example I usually up the contrast and saturation slightly in camera to get better results (which means less PP work) but then when imported into Lightroom I see a flat RAW file with none of the in camera tweaks I have made.

Is this correct?

Cheers.
Logged
flash
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 151


« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 02:12:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi All,

As far as I know, when you import a RAW image into Lightroom it applies it's own default settings. Does this mean that it is pointless shooting RAW and also changing the in camera settings?

For example I usually up the contrast and saturation slightly in camera to get better results (which means less PP work) but then when imported into Lightroom I see a flat RAW file with none of the in camera tweaks I have made.

Is this correct?

Cheers.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=169665\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Lightreom does not use any in camera settings. you could create your our calibration settings or presets to achieve a similar result.

Gordon
Logged
W00DY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 02:50:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Lightreom does not use any in camera settings. you could create your our calibration settings or presets to achieve a similar result.

Gordon
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=169669\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks Gordan,

I thought this was the case. Is there any RAW conversion programs that do read in camera settings?
Logged
GregW
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 305


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 05:42:06 AM »
ReplyReply

In the case of Nikon, Capture NX respects the in camera settings.  I'm sure there are may Canon users here who will know if DPP does the same.
Logged
flash
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 151


« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 02:54:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Thanks Gordan,

I thought this was the case. Is there any RAW conversion programs that do read in camera settings?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=169674\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

any RAW converter that uses the Canon SDK will do so. DPP obviously but also programs like Breeze Browser. Programs like Lightroom, Capture 1, Lightzon. DX0, Aperture etc which offer more creative options, do not.

Gordon
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2108


« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2008, 02:57:51 PM »
ReplyReply

In general, the camera manufacturer-supplied RAW conversion software reads the in-camera settings for that manufacturer's own models, as you'd expect. However, you should treat these in-camera settings as defaults or as a starting point, not as the "only answer" or the "right answer."
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad