Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: NEC Calibration Problem  (Read 15234 times)
Thomas Krüger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 450



WWW
« Reply #40 on: February 29, 2008, 08:31:43 AM »
ReplyReply

That's right, the software in Europe is different. And NEC USA doesn't sell Spectraview to customers in Europe. So if you reside in Europe you need to search the Internet underground...
 

Quote
Are you in Europe?  NEC Europe provides completely different software from NEC US.  I think they're intended to, and presumably do, accomplish the same things, but as I understand it they're completely different applications, written separately from the ground up.  Why, I've never been able to imagine.

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178203\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged
meierruedi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68


« Reply #41 on: February 29, 2008, 10:15:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That's right, the software in Europe is different. And NEC USA doesn't sell Spectraview to customers in Europe. So if you reside in Europe you need to search the Internet underground...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178211\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks! I shall do as soon as I've got some time!

Did anybody do any comparison between the two?

Is it possible to compare different profiles at all (wondering because it gets partly written into the AGP card and affects brightness and contrast settings as well)?
Logged
J mandell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #42 on: March 01, 2008, 02:08:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, I'd start D65 TRC2.2. Maybe 150cd/m2

Hmmm... I have another question: the only canned setting that gives the user D65 and a 2.2 gamma is Broadcast Video. Do I use that or do I use something else and change the parameters? I've done the Broadcast Video, but the curve it produces isn't flat by a wide margin. On the other hand, I have to say, I'm not sure what kind of curve I'm looking at.
Thanks.

(By the way, the 150 setting works fine, but out of curiosity, what does m2 mean?)
Logged
meierruedi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68


« Reply #43 on: March 01, 2008, 02:39:13 AM »
ReplyReply

m2=square meteres...

According to NEC gamma 2.2 doesn't make sens with LCD monitors. They recommend the L* setting.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8030



WWW
« Reply #44 on: March 01, 2008, 08:34:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
m2=square meteres...

According to NEC gamma 2.2 doesn't make sens with LCD monitors. They recommend the L* setting.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178398\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Maybe someone in Europe with that version, but not with the US software, pick gamma 2.2.

J. you can modify a setting and save off a custom target to use so yes, start with Broadcast Video and modify to your needs or just make a new custom target and set as you wish and save.

Cd/m2 is the unit of measured luminance (Candela's per meter squared).
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
pixel wrangler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30


WWW
« Reply #45 on: March 02, 2008, 12:53:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi MNP500:

I've arrived at this party pretty late, and don't know if you've got your issues sorted out.

If not, you may want to run the Eye-One Diagnostic on your puck. GMB replaced mine under warranty a few months ago when my profiles got wonky, and the puck failed the diagnostic tests.  

You should have the software on the dvd that came with the puck, or I think you can download it from Gretag Macbeth's website.

Hope this helps.

ron
« Last Edit: March 02, 2008, 12:54:24 AM by pixel wrangler » Logged
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad