Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: tethering H 25  (Read 1448 times)
WBusch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


WWW
« on: February 29, 2008, 08:04:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,
I have a H 25 Back and  want to tether it to a new Mac Book Pro. I shoot tethered 100 % of the time with the laptop plugged into  an AC outlet. Will the firewire outlet in the mac book pro provide enought power to run the back without errors in the files or functioning problems? I am looking for someone that has used a newer mac book pro with a phase one H back. The reason for my asking is : phase one gave me a strange answer to this question. Sounded like they wanted to sell me their portable power solution. I don't think it would work anyway because my shoots go 10 + hours sometimes. Thats why I just plug into AC outlet. My current PC laptop works fine with my Canon 1ds , but doesn't give enough power to the H 25. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  
                                            Thanks Bill
Logged

Bill Busch      ! If It Is To Be   It Is Up To Me !
yaya
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 08:37:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi,
I have a H 25 Back and  want to tether it to a new Mac Book Pro. I shoot tethered 100 % of the time with the laptop plugged into  an AC outlet. Will the firewire outlet in the mac book pro provide enought power to run the back without errors in the files or functioning problems? I am looking for someone that has used a newer mac book pro with a phase one H back. The reason for my asking is : phase one gave me a strange answer to this question. Sounded like they wanted to sell me their portable power solution. I don't think it would work anyway because my shoots go 10 + hours sometimes. Thats why I just plug into AC outlet. My current PC laptop works fine with my Canon 1ds , but doesn't give enough power to the H 25. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  
                                            Thanks Bill
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


[a href=\"http://industrialcomponent.com/addlogix/firecable.html]Firewire booster[/url]

rgds
Logged
witz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 09:28:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi,
I have a H 25 Back and  want to tether it to a new Mac Book Pro. I shoot tethered 100 % of the time with the laptop plugged into  an AC outlet. Will the firewire outlet in the mac book pro provide enought power to run the back without errors in the files or functioning problems? I am looking for someone that has used a newer mac book pro with a phase one H back. The reason for my asking is : phase one gave me a strange answer to this question. Sounded like they wanted to sell me their portable power solution. I don't think it would work anyway because my shoots go 10 + hours sometimes. Thats why I just plug into AC outlet. My current PC laptop works fine with my Canon 1ds , but doesn't give enough power to the H 25. Any help would be greatly appreciated.  
                                            Thanks Bill
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178202\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


you can use one of three options....

1. a powered firewire hub ( cheapest and easiest to find... bout $50 )

2. a powered firewire express card

3. the portable power solution.

note. I was pretty pissed when my new macbookpro arrived and it would not work with my h20.... very pissed! the only time I ever use the macbookpro is on location shoots! I bought a hub and all worked fine.... cept for the fact that you have to have a few extra things hanging off the macbookpro.... I use a 12v source with a 75w inverter when no ac is avail. pain! like a step backwards! by the way... macbooks don't have this issue... only the pros do.
Logged
WBusch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2008, 10:04:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Witzke,
thanks .
Which hub did you buy and where
I would like to buy local if possible
Logged

Bill Busch      ! If It Is To Be   It Is Up To Me !
witz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2008, 10:28:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Witzke,
thanks .
Which hub did you buy and where
I would like to buy local if possible
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


belkin FR hub... nice and small.
[a href=\"http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006BHCEK]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006BHCEK[/url]

I bought mine at compusa.. but they have them at apple stores and I think I even saw one at target the other day.

by the way.... I have an express card fw I'm not using if you want it... $50 shipped ( includes a 120v power supply )

here's the one I have...
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch.hmx?S...D=done&nextloc=
« Last Edit: February 29, 2008, 10:31:05 AM by witzke » Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad