Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Tripod for hiking  (Read 6597 times)
Sigi

« on: February 29, 2008, 04:57:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Hello,
I am a serious amateur photographer and I am looking for my first tripod. I shoot a lot of landscape and weight is of utmost importance for me - I want to take the tripod on hiking trips in very remote areas and for extended trekking trips in the mountains - sometimes for weeks in a row. I don#t mind spending money as I am looking for quality. I would also like some recommendations on ballheads. I found the site of Really Right Stuff but thought I check here with the experts first.

I have a 40 D and my heaviest lens is the 70-200mm/2.8

Thanks for any advice.

Sigi

sbacon

« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 05:04:54 PM »
ReplyReply

I do a lot of my photo work on the trail, hiking and backpacking. I highly recommend the RRS BH-40 LR II. And it is a perfect compliment (IMHO) to my trusty Gitzo G1228. The combination is solid and lightweight - just 4.5 lbs. with the Gitzo short column.
dchew

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 05:47:21 PM »
ReplyReply

I second the 1228, which is now the 2540 (I think).

It used to be there was only one ballhead of choice, the Arca Swiss.  Now there are several:  RRS, Arca Swiss, Markins, Kirk, etc.  I don't think you would be disapointed with either of those.

Just be sure to use either RRS or Kirk plates.  They make the entire mechanism successfull.  

Dave Chew

Thomas Krüger

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 01:29:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I use the Gitzo 2540LVL with a Markins Q10 ballhead. The camera is mounted with a Kirk L-plate. If you put also the Kirk Long Rail Plate LRP-1 in your bag you can also shot horizontal panoramas.
Sigi

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2008, 01:30:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you for your advice

pete_truman

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2008, 04:19:44 AM »
ReplyReply