Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Z3100 New Driver and Photoshop Crash  (Read 3443 times)
Harris
Guest
« on: March 12, 2008, 03:32:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I installed the new driver for the Z3100 and then when I attempted to print in CS3 Photoshop crashed.  Has anyone had similiar experiences?  Any recomendations other than re-installing CS3.
Harris
Logged
Geoff Wittig
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1017


« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 09:01:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I installed the new driver for the Z3100 and then when I attempted to print in CS3 Photoshop crashed.  Has anyone had similiar experiences?  Any recomendations other than re-installing CS3.
Harris
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=180946\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yep. I had exactly the same experience, and HP tech support walked me through it painlessly. This happens when you install the new driver without completely removing the previous driver. At least with WinXP; I don't speak Mac.  
You need to remove all traces of the driver on your hard drive, and remove the Z3100 from your list of printers. If memory serves, you also have to edit a line in the registry to complete the removal. Then you do a clean install of the new driver, turn on the printer, plug in the USB cable and wait for Windows to recognize it and automatically install it. It's worth the trouble of clearing out an hour block in your schedule to have HP's tech support walk you through it.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 09:02:13 PM by Geoff Wittig » Logged
Hellstan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2008, 05:43:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Yep. I had exactly the same experience, and HP tech support walked me through it painlessly. This happens when you install the new driver without completely removing the previous driver. At least with WinXP; I don't speak Mac.   
You need to remove all traces of the driver on your hard drive, and remove the Z3100 from your list of printers. If memory serves, you also have to edit a line in the registry to complete the removal. Then you do a clean install of the new driver, turn on the printer, plug in the USB cable and wait for Windows to recognize it and automatically install it. It's worth the trouble of clearing out an hour block in your schedule to have HP's tech support walk you through it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181006\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Geoff,
With mine & Mac, it refuses altogether to load it, telling about a "server error", while the files to load are on my HD, without any server.
Your procedure might apply as well to Mac.
Johan
Logged

neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2008, 05:58:39 AM »
ReplyReply

I wish HP would make their remove all HP script for removing all HP stuff on their site. The only problem is it removes ALL printers so if you are a production shop you'd loose all your printers.
It would be useful if there were a printer model specific script but with so many shared components I doubt this would be possible.
Logged
Hellstan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2008, 06:04:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I wish HP would make their remove all HP script for removing all HP stuff on their site. The only problem is it removes ALL printers so if you are a production shop you'd loose all your printers.
It would be useful if there were a printer model specific script but with so many shared components I doubt this would be possible.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181050\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Do you think, Neil, previous firmware and driver has to be removed on Mac too ?
Logged

neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2008, 06:19:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Do you think, Neil, previous firmware and driver has to be removed on Mac too ?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181053\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
The firmware is not resident on the host or other clinets so no for the firmware.
Often I delete the printer driver in the Printer Setup Utility before upgrading drivers.
I've seen problems with the caches by not doing so beforehand.
Logged
Harris
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2008, 03:47:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Geogg,

Thanks for your reply - followed through with what you suggested and all is running well.       Did not need to remove firmware in reply to another post on this thread.  I do agree that it would make life a lot easier for all of us if there was a script that would remove everything that needs to be removed rather than making us chase our tails.

Thanks again,
Harris
Logged
Hellstan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 158


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2008, 03:53:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Geogg,

 I do agree that it would make life a lot easier for all of us if there was a script that would remove everything that needs to be removed rather than making us chase our tails.

Thanks again,
Harris
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181191\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Might ask Steve Wozniak to show what to HP…  
BTW, how do you know which is where and what to remove ?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 03:54:32 PM by Hellstan » Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad