Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 [5]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Eizo or NEC  (Read 82490 times)
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #80 on: May 14, 2008, 01:44:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Do you happen to know if the Spectraview software is compatible with either XP pro 64 bit or Vista x64?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=191752\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

EDIT: for the record, SPECTRAVIEW WORKS ON VISTA64, but you have to ignore an ominous dialog box during installation, see my second message a few posts down.

original post...

Nope, Spectraview wouldn't install on my new Vista 64 bit system, tried the latest download just a few days ago.

However, Gretag Eye One Match 3 in combination with my Eye-One Display 2 runs OK on Vista64, but requires manual calibration with my LCD2690WUXi in order to get a decent profile at anything less than about 200 cd/m2.  OTOH under XP32 Spectraview can automatically knock out a good 140 cd/m2 profile in about a minute.

Made me appreciate what a great package Spectraview is.  Hopefully the approach of 64 bit PS will force the issue in the not too distant future.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 11:41:16 AM by bill t. » Logged
WillH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138


WWW
« Reply #81 on: May 14, 2008, 09:20:03 AM »
ReplyReply

SpectraView II is compatible with Vista x64, and signed x64 drivers for the iOneD2 and iOnePro are included. For others sensors you will need to install x64 compatible drivers manually.

When you say it wouldn't install, what exactly happened? What kind of video card and sensor do you have?



Quote
Nope, Spectraview wouldn't install on my new Vista 64 bit system, tried the latest download just a few days ago.

However, Gretag Eye One Match 3 in combination with my Eye-One Display 2 runs OK on Vista64, but requires manual calibration with my LCD2690WUXi in order to get a decent profile at anything less than about 200 cd/m2.  OTOH under XP32 Spectraview can automatically knock out a good 140 cd/m2 profile in about a minute.

Made me appreciate what a great package Spectraview is.  Hopefully the approach of 64 bit PS will force the issue in the not too distant future.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195651\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

Will Hollingworth
Senior Manager, Product Development
NEC Display Solutions of America, Inc.
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #82 on: May 14, 2008, 11:37:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
When you say it wouldn't install, what exactly happened? What kind of video card and sensor do you have?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195693\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks WillH, I needed that.

I stand corrected.  I tried again and this time Spectraview installed and ran (beautifully) on Vista64 with my EyeOne Display 2 puck.

But for the record, during install I got this scary MessageBox...
[attachment=6577:attachment]

However, installation completed and everything works fine.  Nec needs to do a little rewording on that dialog.

Good software though, very sweet looking calibration on the NEC2690.  About 140, 160 cd/m2 is the minimum brightness needed to get a good report on the "Validate" graph.
Logged
Nill Toulme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 741



WWW
« Reply #83 on: May 14, 2008, 11:43:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
...  About 140, 160 cd/m2 is the minimum brightness needed to get a good report on the "Validate" graph.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195733\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
That's interesting, and disappointing.  I'd have a very hard time using a monitor that bright in my work environment.  

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
Logged
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #84 on: May 14, 2008, 12:20:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
That's interesting, and disappointing.  I'd have a very hard time using a monitor that bright in my work environment.  [a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195734\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I initially had some trouble with that brightness level as well.  I brought up the ambient light in proportion, now everything seems fine.  After years or working in the murk I find I prefer a brighter workspace, although it seemed sort of immoral at first.
Logged
Nill Toulme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 741



WWW
« Reply #85 on: May 14, 2008, 01:46:39 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd have to buy some lights.  ;-)

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
Logged
WillH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138


WWW
« Reply #86 on: May 14, 2008, 01:59:52 PM »
ReplyReply

So you see a message about NaViSet when you install SpectraView? I know NaViSet is not compatible with x64 Windows, but you shouldn't need it to install and run SpectraView II.

Quote
I stand corrected.  I tried again and this time Spectraview installed and ran (beautifully) on Vista64 with my EyeOne Display 2 puck.

But for the record, during install I got this scary MessageBox...
[attachment=6577:attachment]

However, installation completed and everything works fine.  Nec needs to do a little rewording on that dialog.
Logged

Will Hollingworth
Senior Manager, Product Development
NEC Display Solutions of America, Inc.
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #87 on: May 14, 2008, 02:32:38 PM »
ReplyReply

From where the error message occured during automatic installation, I assumed "NaViSet" was the USB puck driver, and that "Setup will now terminate" referred to the whole process, not just whatever NaViSet is.  No matter, this is the best monitor calibration package ever!
Logged
AlanG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 195



WWW
« Reply #88 on: May 14, 2008, 10:02:24 PM »
ReplyReply

I am addressing this post to WillH at NEC. (If you are still following this forum.)

I have the 2690SV and like it a lot.  Thanks NEC!  Since you are here, I thought I'd ask you for confirmation of the best way to calibrate it.  At first I simply used the default settings and the screen looked fine.

Then I read in the manual and it advises when calibrating a wide gamut monitor to set the SVII software to use "Factory Presets" for color calibration rather than have the sensor measure the color while calibrating.  

I feel that if this is the way this monitor should be calibrated, it would be a good idea to make that information more prominent.  (Or somehow have the software automatically use the factory presets when calibrating a wide gamut monitor.)  As it is, one has to read the Spectraview II manual pretty thoroughly before one might realize this. And does everyone read the manual?
« Last Edit: May 14, 2008, 10:03:47 PM by AlanG » Logged

Alan Goldstein
Goldsteinphoto website

I have a new fine art project. Please take a look:
Fine art site

Galleries of images at Photoshelter:
Galleries
WillH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138


WWW
« Reply #89 on: May 15, 2008, 10:51:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Alan

I agree the setting is not very well documented. We are going to change it to default to the recommended setting based on the monitor and color sensor combination being used.

It was primarily aimed at the LCD2180WG-LED model when used with colorimeters since that combination can have a high measurement error unless the custom calibrated colorimeter or a spectral device is used.

Thanks for your feedback.


Quote
Then I read in the manual and it advises when calibrating a wide gamut monitor to set the SVII software to use "Factory Presets" for color calibration rather than have the sensor measure the color while calibrating. 

I feel that if this is the way this monitor should be calibrated, it would be a good idea to make that information more prominent.  (Or somehow have the software automatically use the factory presets when calibrating a wide gamut monitor.)  As it is, one has to read the Spectraview II manual pretty thoroughly before one might realize this. And does everyone read the manual?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195819\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

Will Hollingworth
Senior Manager, Product Development
NEC Display Solutions of America, Inc.
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 [5]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad