Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 2 Beta Available  (Read 21018 times)
John Hollenberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 765


« on: April 01, 2008, 11:04:13 PM »
ReplyReply

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/lightroom/

Enjoy!

--John
Logged
John Hollenberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 765


« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 11:15:49 PM »
ReplyReply

See also the brief review of the public beta of LR 2.0 on Outback Photo:

http://www.outbackphoto.com/CONTENT_2007_0...Beta/index.html

Edit:  There is also a review by Ian Lyons here:

http://www.computer-darkroom.com/lightroom...a/lr-2-beta.htm

--John
« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 11:23:04 PM by John Hollenberg » Logged
francofit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 142


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 11:46:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Some additional notes and Beta Resources on     Lightroom Journal.

  Exciting News ...
Logged

Franco
Nick Rains
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 700



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2008, 12:09:25 AM »
ReplyReply

I knew it was coming today but had no details, there is some really nice stuff here.

Hmm, let's see...

Dodge and Burn
Photomerge
Multiple Monitors
etc
Logged

Nick Rains
Australian Landscape Photographer
www.nickrains.com
iPad Publishing
www.photique.com.au
potato1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 01:27:04 AM »
ReplyReply

The dodge and burn looks cool:

http://www.timaustinimages.com/p985663506/...4B0F9#403573156
Logged

[span style='font-size:11pt;line-height:100%'][span style='font-family:Arial']timaustinimages.com[/span][/span]
Mosccol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2008, 04:38:05 AM »
ReplyReply

All looks very exciting.

I may wait for the bug count to go down a bit before testing (only due to time available).

Does anybody know if this version allows the re-export of untouched jpgs?
Logged
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1905



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2008, 05:34:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
All looks very exciting.

I may wait for the bug count to go down a bit before testing (only due to time available).

Does anybody know if this version allows the re-export of untouched jpgs?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186346\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Ditto - Ill download and play around with it - but I wont be doing any serious work with 2.0 until the offical release.
Just quietly.. im pretty excited about local corrections
Logged

Andrew Fee
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2008, 06:12:20 AM »
ReplyReply

And yet they still haven't fixed the JPG exporting.

EDIT: Quick example.
Lightroom:

Lightroom 2:

Photoshop:

(excuse the slightly different crop)

Look at the artefacts that Lightroom adds around all the text. An extreme example, but it's very annoying.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 06:26:46 AM by Andrew Fee » Logged
StuartOnline
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2008, 06:31:56 AM »
ReplyReply

I just installed LR 2 Beta and had no real problems.
LR 1.3 is still running as LR 1.4 Beta loads as a separate program.
The only problem I found with LR 1.4 Beta will not open existing catalogs.
However with that said I did find that when importing images from the current location where I had LR 1.3 photos that all information from 1.3 was active in LR 2 Beta.
Meaning all changes made to images with LR 1.3 where still there after importing to LR 2 Beta.

Stu
Logged
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1905



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2008, 06:54:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Ditto - Ill download and play around with it - but I wont be doing any serious work with 2.0 until the offical release.
Just quietly.. im pretty excited about local corrections
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186349\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I forgot to add - as excited as I am about local correction capability [and I think that is uber cool  ] - WTF happened to adding soft proofing to Lightroom?  
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9000



WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2008, 07:00:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
All looks very exciting.

I may wait for the bug count to go down a bit before testing (only due to time available).

Does anybody know if this version allows the re-export of untouched jpgs?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186346\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You can export from the Print module to JPEG if that's what you mean.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9000



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2008, 07:01:27 AM »
ReplyReply

I'd especially be interested in how users find the new output sharpening in the print module compared to output from 1.3.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1420


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2008, 07:15:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I'd especially be interested in how users find the new output sharpening in the print module compared to output from 1.3.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186366\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


If its based on PK Sharpener its got to be good.  
Logged

[span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'][span style='font-family:Arial'][span style='font-family:Geneva'][span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%']Regards,
Ron[/span][/span][/span][/span]
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1420


WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2008, 07:17:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I forgot to add - as excited as I am about local correction capability [and I think that is uber cool  ] - WTF happened to adding soft proofing to Lightroom? 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186363\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


sigh...... looks like softproofing will be in LR v 3 or v4 or .....

Oh well, Qimage will continue to be my print tool of choice.
Logged

[span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'][span style='font-family:Arial'][span style='font-family:Geneva'][span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%']Regards,
Ron[/span][/span][/span][/span]
michael
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4808



« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2008, 07:33:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, the new output sharpening is based on Photokit Sharpener and is the result of a collaboration between Jeff Schewe and the Lightroom enginners.

No, there is no softproofing yet!  

I am recommending a million man march on Adobe's corporate headquarters to demand it.

Michael
Logged
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1905



WWW
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2008, 07:43:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I am recommending a million man march on Adobe's corporate headquarters to demand it.

Make it a million and 1  
Logged

canlogic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97


WWW
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2008, 07:44:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Yes, the new output sharpening is based on Photokit Sharpener and is the result of a collaboration between Jeff Schewe and the Lightroom enginners.

No, there is no softproofing yet!   

I am recommending a million man march on Adobe's corporate headquarters to demand it.

Michael
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186373\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Having just upgraded to the new Aperture 2 I thought I would use it till LR2 and then switch back. After using it for a couple of weeks I doubt that I will switch back. Sharpening still needs some work as does softproofing but with the new plug in features and the results I am getting Adobe will have to make it very very good before I will buy the update.
Logged

1dmkIII, some lenses, Epson 7880, iMac, Leica M8, other stuff
barryfitzgerald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568


« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2008, 08:12:53 AM »
ReplyReply

And no distortion and perspective correction! Arrgghhhhhh

Oh well, it looks decent enough in other ways..
Logged
lbalbinot
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70


WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2008, 09:11:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Just installed it. It's much, much faster than the 1.X branch. A significant improve on speed on all modules.

The retouch tools are very cool but you can't, for instance, dodge and burn individual channels, which is a must for me. If I had that I'd never use Photoshop again! I like the small 1:1 preview window too.

The good side of not using Photoshop anymore is that you can do all the workflow over RAW images. You don't need gigantic 16-bit TIFFs anymore.

Regards,
Luis
Logged

Luis F Balbinot
luisbalbinot.com
barryfitzgerald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568


« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2008, 09:40:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Just installed it. It's much, much faster than the 1.X branch. A significant improve on speed on all modules.

Regards,
Luis
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=186394\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Well that is welcomed news, I never felt LR was that fast, it was acceptable..never speedy though.

I shall have to try it later on, when I get the chance
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad