Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Batch Rename in Lightroom?  (Read 27194 times)
stevepeix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« on: April 14, 2008, 03:50:57 PM »
ReplyReply

I searched but couldn't find any info on how to rename a batch of images in Lightroom.  It seems like it should be real simple and it probably is.  Can you please enlighten me?  I'm trying to rename groups of images...

Thanks!
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9098



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 03:54:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I searched but couldn't find any info on how to rename a batch of images in Lightroom.  It seems like it should be real simple and it probably is.  Can you please enlighten me?  I'm trying to rename groups of images...

Thanks!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=189524\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Select the images. Hit the F2 key. You may now wish to build a custom naming template.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
stevepeix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 04:54:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Select the images. Hit the F2 key. You may now wish to build a custom naming template.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=189525\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Thanks!  I thought it'd be simple I really did spend way too much time trying to figure it out looking on Adobe's site etc. before posting the question.
Logged
haring
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 219


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2011, 09:40:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Select the images. Hit the F2 key. You may now wish to build a custom naming template.

Wow! Soooo simple!
Logged

JimAscher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335



WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2011, 10:48:50 AM »
ReplyReply

I confess some confusion over this query.  Does Steve really desire to give a batch of photos all the SAME name?  I give my photos individual names (designations) of which only a portion of the name/designation might be duplicative.  What am i missing here?
Logged

Jim Ascher

See my new SmugMug site:
http://jimascherphotos.smugmug.com/
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2011, 11:24:55 AM »
ReplyReply

I wouldn't worry, Jim, it's a 3 year old thread that's been disinterred.
Logged

elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 262


« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2011, 04:28:05 PM »
ReplyReply

But just to put Jim's mind at rest, from F2 you can do sequential numbers, text + sequential numbers, text + original number, etc., etc.
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
JimAscher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2011, 05:26:58 PM »
ReplyReply

But just to put Jim's mind at rest, from F2 you can do sequential numbers, text + sequential numbers, text + original number, etc., etc.

I hadn't noticed that.  Would possibly be useful for me on an occasion when i might have different subjects existing within one folder.
Logged

Jim Ascher

See my new SmugMug site:
http://jimascherphotos.smugmug.com/
elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 262


« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2011, 03:58:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I usually rename files at import to camera model + original number, but sometimes I forget. F2 fixes that.
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
JimAscher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335



WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2011, 09:55:44 AM »
ReplyReply

I usually rename files at import to camera model + original number, but sometimes I forget. F2 fixes that.

That's another interesting usage.  In the past I've generally only used one camera on a "shoot," but lately I've been using up to three cameras.  However, the Metadata separates out that information for me, to the extent I want to refer to it. But it's useful to hear what other members are employing this simple (F2) function for.
Logged

Jim Ascher

See my new SmugMug site:
http://jimascherphotos.smugmug.com/
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2011, 10:05:10 AM »
ReplyReply

You're right, the metadata does show the camera serial and that's why I prefer not to include it in the file name. But it's not uncommon. Whatever scheme you use, the key requirement is to ensure no two original files can possibly share the same filename. So my preference is to rename after entering the titles, to have the dates first in YYMMDD form, and to have a 4 digit sequential number for each day, so 111125_0013 Borrowdale.nef is the 13th picture I took today and Borrowdale came from the title field.
Logged

JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2011, 04:10:34 AM »
ReplyReply

As john already mentioned, the key requirement of filenaming is to assure a unique name within your realm.  The european EAN system, similar system exists in other parts of the world, or the worldwide isbn system focus on exactly that requirement. In essence those systems have a two part naming, the issuer/owner and a sequence. Once issued, never to be reused again.
Putting the date in the filename is something i do not do personally.
I believe in short strings, otherwise you will get onto trouble reading the full filename on your screen. So mine is assignment id plus sequence, f.e.: jasm0070-0001 .Also on the "the turning gate" website there is a tutorial on filenaming that gives some more practical advice.
The one thing i want to take out of my concept is the "-" sign. Will do this as of january 1 2012. For proper functioning of lightroom in my case i do not have to rename all my exisiting files. It is primarely for further reducing the filenamelength and be prepared for extending the realm.

Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2011, 06:43:11 AM »
ReplyReply

It's usually a bad idea to rename existing files. Lightroom doesn't really demand it - just add keywords and other metadata and you'll be able to find your existing pictures easily enough. Secondly, it would mean you now have your originals recorded in Lightroom with new names, and your backup copies with the old names - or a huge new backup. So resist the tidy urge, leave existing filenames as they are, and implement a stronger file naming convention with all new pictures.

My preference for including the date is because one isn't always seeing the files through a tool capable of reading metadata, and secondly the combination of date and number is a short and guaranteed unique identifier.
Logged

JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2011, 01:37:05 PM »
ReplyReply

John, you are absolutely correct wrt file renaming. In my previous post i was not clear enough. I do not intend to rename existing files. For several reasons i made a decision to use a slightly different filenaming convention as of january 1, 2012.
My own workflow within LR is primarely supported and controlled by keywords, virtual copies, smart collections, collections an collection sets. Filenames have little role in this concept, but are of importance on OS - more precisely on file system- level, regardless of how LR is used. Whatever filenaming convention one prefers will work, as long as you take into account the realm in which this has to provide uniqueness to a file (as well as the limitations of total pathlength imposed by the file systems used).
Wrt to files being used outside of the control of Lightroom: that is exactly the reason for me for removing the hyphens.
Logged

Fine art photography: www.janrsmit.com
Courses and workshops: www.centrumbeeldbeleving.nl

Jan R. Smit
GeraldB
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


WWW
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2011, 06:32:10 PM »
ReplyReply

I have also found the renaming capabilities in Lightroom quite weak if you don't fit the preconceived idea of naming. For example I like to prefix my file names with the date, so I go select all in a folder, F2 and add the date. Say one makes a mistake and does that action twice. Now you have something like 20111201-20111201-DSC1234.NEF. How do you fix that? I would like to  be able to tell Lightroom to take all instances of 20111201-20111201 and change it to 20111201-. I don't see a way to do that. I must be the only dummy to make a mistake like that. Angry
Logged

NikoJorj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1063


WWW
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2011, 11:17:51 PM »
ReplyReply

I have also found the renaming capabilities in Lightroom quite weak if you don't fit the preconceived idea of naming. For example I like to prefix my file names with the date, so I go select all in a folder, F2 and add the date. Say one makes a mistake and does that action twice. Now you have something like 20111201-20111201-DSC1234.NEF. How do you fix that? I would like to  be able to tell Lightroom to take all instances of 20111201-20111201 and change it to 20111201-. I don't see a way to do that. I must be the only dummy to make a mistake like that. Angry
Make a naming scheme withe {date}-{original filename} and you're done... Original name doesn't change.
Logged

Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
bwana
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 183


« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2011, 09:40:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Rather than use lightroom, I rather use 'a better finder renamer'. This mac application has innumerable options for renaming files FAST. I like to copy the files from the sd card to the mac. Then the application uses the exif data to rename each file with the date and time it was taken. Then I import into lightroom.

I only find that lightroom has a problem with certain renaming conventions, but this is easily avoided.  "Better finder renamer" has myriad options.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 10:02:56 PM by bwana » Logged
meyerweb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 163


« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2011, 10:10:06 PM »
ReplyReply

There's a version of this software for Windows, too, although I've not tried it.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2791



WWW
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2011, 02:44:13 AM »
ReplyReply

If you want to use a renaming utility - and there's really no need - make sure you are careful to do it before files get registered in Lightroom. Otherwise, you can lose some or all of your Lightroom work because you'll have broken its connection to the originals.
Logged

GeraldB
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2011, 06:10:42 PM »
ReplyReply

The problem with Lightroom rename is that it assumes you start with a unmodified file name from your camera and then you ADD prefixes and suffixes to the name. However if you wish to change anything or subtract anything then no go. I'll investigate Better Finder Ranamer for Windows. Thanks for that tip.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad