Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom 2.0 Beta  (Read 5778 times)
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« on: April 19, 2008, 06:26:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Folks:

Two short but informative instructional videos for Lightroom 2.0 Beta have been provided over at http://lightroom-news.com/  I thought the one on exposure matching was really intriguing...

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
francofit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 142


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2008, 11:14:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Hi Folks:

Two short but informative instructional videos for Lightroom 2.0 Beta have been provided over at http://lightroom-news.com/  I thought the one on exposure matching was really intriguing...

Mike.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=190694\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Yes, cool! THANK YOU

I never noticed the "Exposure Matching" command and please note...
it's already there in the current 1.x release.
Logged

Franco
StuartOnline
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2008, 11:46:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Just happen to run across these.

There are three Lightroom Tutorials for Beta 2 that maybe found via:
http://www.jkost.com/lightroom.html

The Library Module
The Develop Module and Export Options
The Photoshop Integration and Output Modules

I found them to have some good information about LR Beta 2.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2008, 11:53:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Just happen to run across these.

There are three Lightroom Tutorials for Beta 2 that maybe found via:
http://www.jkost.com/lightroom.html

The Library Module
The Develop Module and Export Options
The Photoshop Integration and Output Modules

I found them to have some good information about LR Beta 2.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=190784\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks for sharing.
Logged

Francois
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2008, 11:16:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Just happen to run across these.

Thanks for the reminder!  The last time I was there the Develop module video wasn't ready yet...

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Per Ofverbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2008, 03:21:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Just a quick question:  If you have LR 1.4.1 (for actual work), and LR B2 on the same machine (Mac in my case), with separate databases and original images, will they keep those settings in Application Support and Preferences separate too, or will running the beta overwrite settings for 1.4.1?

I haven´t even launched the beta, since I´m worried about this.  I do have backups, but not the time to fiddle with restoring efter every trial run I do....
Logged

Per Ofverbeck
My Webpage

"In a world without walls or fences, who needs Windows or Gates?"
StuartOnline
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2008, 07:09:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Just a quick question:  If you have LR 1.4.1 (for actual work), and LR B2 on the same machine (Mac in my case), with separate databases and original images, will they keep those settings in Application Support and Preferences separate too, or will running the beta overwrite settings for 1.4.1?

I haven´t even launched the beta, since I´m worried about this.  I do have backups, but not the time to fiddle with restoring efter every trial run I do....
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


In the first video [a href=\"http://www.workshopsondemand.com/ps_lightroom/lrb2_p01/]http://www.workshopsondemand.com/ps_lightroom/lrb2_p01/[/url] she talks about what happen when you install and run LR B2.  LR B2 will not over write LR 1.4.1.  Will run as a separated program.

Now I am using a PC but I am sure the same will apply for those who are on a Mac.

Stu
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9165



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2008, 08:17:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Just a quick question:  If you have LR 1.4.1 (for actual work), and LR B2 on the same machine (Mac in my case), with separate databases and original images, will they keep those settings in Application Support and Preferences separate too, or will running the beta overwrite settings for 1.4.1?

Use the "Store presets with catalog" option and all is fine. That's usually a necessary setting when you copy all this to another driver to take on location as an example. You want the presets to travel with the catalog.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2008, 12:20:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Some more Lightroom Beta 2.0 videos here:
http://www.photoshopcafe.com/lightroom/videos.htm

The one on local adjustments is really well done.

Mike.

P.S.  I have 1.4.1 and 2.0 Beta on the same Windows machine and use them both with no problem.  I just can't run them both at the same time.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Per Ofverbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 139



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2008, 02:31:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
In the first video http://www.workshopsondemand.com/ps_lightroom/lrb2_p01/ she talks about what happen when you install and run LR B2.  LR B2 will not over write LR 1.4.1.  Will run as a separated program.

Now I am using a PC but I am sure the same will apply for those who are on a Mac.

Stu
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

OK, Stu, thanks.  Didn´t start the tutorials before trying to launch the beta; didn´t think the anwer was in there.  Seems I was wrong....


Quote
Use the "Store presets with catalog" option and all is fine. That's usually a necessary setting when you copy all this to another driver to take on location as an example. You want the presets to travel with the catalog.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=190962\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks a lot, Andrew!  Had overlooked that option altogether; obviously that´s the solution.  Assume the version in App Support is still the active one, and that the one saved with the catalog is just for backup/export, right?

Quote
Some more Lightroom Beta 2.0 videos here:
[a href=\"http://www.photoshopcafe.com/lightroom/videos.htm]http://www.photoshopcafe.com/lightroom/videos.htm[/url]

The one on local adjustments is really well done.

Mike.

P.S.  I have 1.4.1 and 2.0 Beta on the same Windows machine and use them both with no problem.  I just can't run them both at the same time.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=191018\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thank you, Mike!  I suppose the LR crew at Adobe realized that people would want to continue using 1.4 for production runs while testing the beta on their off time ("kicking the tyres..."), and that they did foresee this kind of potential problem.

Will try the beta as soon as I have time for it....  Those local adjustments might mean I won´t really need PS in the future.....
Logged

Per Ofverbeck
My Webpage

"In a world without walls or fences, who needs Windows or Gates?"
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad