Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Nec 2960 for photo editing?  (Read 25221 times)
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9218



WWW
« Reply #40 on: May 27, 2008, 06:56:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
So yours is the 3090 Multisync with separate Spectraview II software?

Yes. As far as I know, there's only one 3090 (or 2490, or 2690) with the name SpectraView. You can purchase with or without the software and even a supported Colorimeter. You want to drive this fine display with the NEC software as you're now taking advantage of all the technology inside that unit.

Quote
The NEC supplier was spinning me the line that the Spectraview monitors (as opposed to the Multisync)  were hand picked off the prodcution line and had some hardware modifcations to enable use of the Spectraview software - was I being fed marketing b*ll?

Again, you want the SpectraView line. There might be a less expensive unit of the same size called Multisync but what you want is on this page:

necdisplay.com/SupportCenter/Monitors/spectraview2/
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
CJD
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97


« Reply #41 on: May 28, 2008, 05:38:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
necdisplay.com/SupportCenter/Monitors/spectraview2/
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198426\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


I've done some googling and it may be that European NEC models (I'm in the UK) are different to the US models.

This looks like this means that in Europe the Multisync models listed on your link will not fully support the SV software and only European NEC screen variants badged as SV will support the SV software (due to internal hardware changes).
Logged
dudu307
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #42 on: May 28, 2008, 06:21:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I've done some googling and it may be that European NEC models (I'm in the UK) are different to the US models.

This looks like this means that in Europe the Multisync models listed on your link will not fully support the SV software and only European NEC screen variants badged as SV will support the SV software (due to internal hardware changes).
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You can do it. I changed my 2990wuxi to SV 2690.

Check this link:

[a href=\"http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11427&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=&sid=cce928bcc00a66990462a770054f8348]http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/....[/url]
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 06:36:29 AM by dudu307 » Logged
CJD
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97


« Reply #43 on: May 28, 2008, 07:04:13 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
You can do it. I changed my 2990wuxi to SV 2690.

Check this link:

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/....
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198505\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Cheers for the link

Looking at the last post in thhe thread though, NEC may have shut down this avenue on later models and this workaround may not be availalbe on the European Multisync3090?
Logged
Czornyj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436



WWW
« Reply #44 on: May 28, 2008, 10:56:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Cheers for the link

Looking at the last post in thhe thread though, NEC may have shut down this avenue on later models and this workaround may not be availalbe on the European Multisync3090?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198507\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

In my new 2190UXi the combination has been hanged, so it's possible. But you can always get Spectraview II profiler...
Logged

Pantoned
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 98


WWW
« Reply #45 on: May 28, 2008, 01:43:14 PM »
ReplyReply

A part of allowing basiccolor to use hardware calibration, do you know what other changes does it make to the monitor??, I tried it and the brightness comes down a little, and the led turns green.

Arnau




Quote
You can do it. I changed my 2990wuxi to SV 2690.

Check this link:

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/....
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198505\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

---------------------------------------
www.arnauanglada.com
dudu307
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #46 on: May 29, 2008, 09:40:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
A part of allowing basiccolor to use hardware calibration, do you know what other changes does it make to the monitor??, I tried it and the brightness comes down a little, and the led turns green.

Arnau
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198586\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


In theory nothing, just that, possibility of hardware calibration, maybe it resets your previous adjustments?

My led is green when working, orange in standby.


Edu

p.d ahhhh, and if you can, use Spectraview software to calibrate by hardware... it's a lot easier...
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 [3]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad