Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Shooting Tethered/LR/Canon 5D/New MacBookPro  (Read 7429 times)
mistybreeze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 177


« on: May 23, 2008, 11:12:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Can anyone lead me to up-to-date workflow info on shooting tethered in Lightroom with a 5D on a new MacBook Pro? Are there any do's and don'ts? Is the workflow for the 5D the same as the 1DS that Martin Evening offers? Does length of camera-to-computer cord matter?

Thank you!
Logged
mistybreeze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 177


« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2008, 06:31:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Sorry I neglected to put a question mark in the title.

Is there no one shooting tethered in Lightroom with a 5D and LOVING it?
Logged
sniper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 571


« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2008, 10:07:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Heres a link, I haven't tried it myself but it's claimed to work ok.  Wayne

http://photoshopnews.com/2006/12/06/tether...g-in-lightroom/
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2448



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2008, 11:05:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Here's his most recent advice
Logged

Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1533


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2008, 12:58:53 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Sorry I neglected to put a question mark in the title.

Is there no one shooting tethered in Lightroom with a 5D and LOVING it?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=197692\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Yes, after having many connectivity problems using EOS Utility and DPP. I switched to EOS Utility and Lightroom and it is a much more stable, usable setup.
Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
mistybreeze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 177


« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2008, 03:27:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you all.

My assistant tells me I have EOS Utility on the software disc that came with my 5D. He used it to experiment with the process on his Dell laptop. My new MacBook Pro is coming soon and none of us know what to expect with that.

If the Canon software is being used to bring the images into Lightroom, is the Canon software processing my RAW files? Or is it just a conduit, allowing Lightroom to actually do its thing?

Are RAW files saved to the CF card in addition to being saved and processed in LR?

I wish I had the time to read everything.  
Logged
Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1533


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2008, 04:50:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Thank you all.

My assistant tells me I have EOS Utility on the software disc that came with my 5D. He used it to experiment with the process on his Dell laptop. My new MacBook Pro is coming soon and none of us know what to expect with that.

If the Canon software is being used to bring the images into Lightroom, is the Canon software processing my RAW files? Or is it just a conduit, allowing Lightroom to actually do its thing?

Are RAW files saved to the CF card in addition to being saved and processed in LR?

I wish I had the time to read everything. 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=197765\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Misty, Lightroom is doing the processing in this workflow. And yes there is a setting, in EOS Utility if I remember correctly, that allows for both downloads and writing to CF card. That is what I do, because I only use the tethered laptop to show clients what I am doing and to create instant backups.
Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1432


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2008, 01:49:06 PM »
ReplyReply

I use Eos Capture in the Utility and use Lightroom to watch the folder where EOS Capture places the tethered images. I set up and shoot some images, make develop settings in LR then save this out as a dev. setting . On your auto import settings in LR you can then select this dev setting for all incoming images.
The folder must be empty when you set it to be the auto import hot folder.

The 5D is tricky on the Mac as you have to do some strange manipulations to get it to work. You need to have the review image on the Canon set to view any image on the card before tethering. I cannot understand how Canon are so stupid as not to even mention this on their site, let alone make an update.
You can also shoot tethered into Phase 1.
Logged
dmward
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 48


« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2008, 04:29:14 PM »
ReplyReply

I tested this approach with my 5D, and while it works, it is tedious.

If I have to do much tethered shooting in the future I will be tempted to dust off an old Dell notebook and use Breeze Systems software, it worked so well when I used it several years ago, I wish he would write a version for the Mac.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad