Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Slide Show problem.  (Read 3784 times)
Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« on: July 18, 2008, 09:21:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I take a collection of slides (120 on the most recent occasion) and click on Slideshow. After adjusting the various parameters to include a 8 second duration and 2 second dissolve, I click on Play All. The slideshow starts properly and runs for maybe 20 slides - and suddenly goes back to the first slide and starts the show all over again.

The place where it restarts varies each time - sometimes it will be after 20 or 30 pix, sometimes it gets half way or even more before returning to the first slide.

I'm using a MacBook Pro and LR 1.4.1. Anybody got any ideas what I can do to get a whole show to run?

Bill
Logged
CynthiaM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2008, 05:01:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I take a collection of slides (120 on the most recent occasion) and click on Slideshow. After adjusting the various parameters to include a 8 second duration and 2 second dissolve, I click on Play All. The slideshow starts properly and runs for maybe 20 slides - and suddenly goes back to the first slide and starts the show all over again.

The place where it restarts varies each time - sometimes it will be after 20 or 30 pix, sometimes it gets half way or even more before returning to the first slide.

I'm using a MacBook Pro and LR 1.4.1. Anybody got any ideas what I can do to get a whole show to run?

Bill
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=209310\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I have the same exact problem on a windows XP machine.  It can't get through a round of whatever is in the slideshow module without  LR stopping and restarting with the first image.  Where it stops varies, but the failure to get to the last slide never varies.
Logged

Cynthia Merzer
My Home page
Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 07:24:18 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have the same exact problem on a windows XP machine.  It can't get through a round of whatever is in the slideshow module without  LR stopping and restarting with the first image.  Where it stops varies, but the failure to get to the last slide never varies.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221454\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Well, I'm glad I'm not alone! I hoped LR2 would correct this issue, but it is exactly the same. I've tried "select all" while in Library, but it doesn't help.

Anybody got any ideas?

Bill
Logged
CynthiaM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105



WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2008, 09:03:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Well, I'm glad I'm not alone! I hoped LR2 would correct this issue, but it is exactly the same. I've tried "select all" while in Library, but it doesn't help.

Anybody got any ideas?

Bill
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221468\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

As the French would sat, "Moi aussi!" (me, too).  I've tried selecting all the images then hitting play, closing and re-opening LR, re-booting, nada.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 09:24:25 PM by CynthiaM » Logged

Cynthia Merzer
My Home page
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1422


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2008, 09:10:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Anybody got any ideas?

Bill
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221468\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Wait patiently.  With any luck it will be fixed in the upcoming 2.1 release.  There are enough bugs to squash and I hope that Adobe gets them.  Rumors are we won't have to wait too long.
Logged

[span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'][span style='font-family:Arial'][span style='font-family:Geneva'][span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%']Regards,
Ron[/span][/span][/span][/span]
Richowens
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 845



« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2008, 10:01:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Leave the slideshow running and it will build all the needed previews to run completely. I just did one with 167 images from a collection. It "rewound" twice before it ran from beginning to end.

 Rich
Logged

CynthiaM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105



WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2008, 09:37:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Anybody got any ideas?

Bill
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221468\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I found this on the Adobe forum.  Select your images for the slideshow ( you may need to get them into a collection so you can put them in the order you want).  From within the Library module, up on the menu bar, go to Library>Previews>Render Standard sized Previews, then click Build All in the dialog box.  Let it do its thing. Then go into the Slideshow module and click Play. When I follow this, it plays through to the end, although transitions are a little jittery.
Logged

Cynthia Merzer
My Home page
Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2008, 06:10:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Leave the slideshow running and it will build all the needed previews to run completely. I just did one with 167 images from a collection. It "rewound" twice before it ran from beginning to end.

 Rich
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221487\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks, Rich - I'll try this tomorrow and report back.
Bill
Logged
Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 06:12:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I found this on the Adobe forum.  Select your images for the slideshow ( you may need to get them into a collection so you can put them in the order you want).  From within the Library module, up on the menu bar, go to Library>Previews>Render Standard sized Previews, then click Build All in the dialog box.  Let it do its thing. Then go into the Slideshow module and click Play. When I follow this, it plays through to the end, although transitions are a little jittery.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221548\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks Cynthia - I'll try this too and report back.
Bill
Logged
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5791



WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2008, 01:12:32 AM »
ReplyReply

You can add me to the list of people who have had this happen.  I'll try the suggestions...

Thanks!

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Bill Caulfeild-Browne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2008, 08:04:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Leave the slideshow running and it will build all the needed previews to run completely. I just did one with 167 images from a collection. It "rewound" twice before it ran from beginning to end.

 Rich
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=221487\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I tried both your suggestions and Cynthia's. They both seem to work!

 Also, I have just got Martin Evenings book on LR2 and it has opened some other doors - but I haven't had time to read it in detail yet.

Many thanks for your solutions - I owe you both one!

Bill
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad