Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Problem using an I1 manually  (Read 4979 times)
Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« on: July 28, 2008, 11:45:39 PM »
ReplyReply

I have just received my I1 Photo and have started creating profiles for my printers. The 918 patch that comes with I1 Match is fine but when I try to use Bill Atkinson's 1728 patch I can't get a clean reading. It continually gives me the 'too many errors' message. Is this just me being clumsy, or is there a limit to what can be scanned using the ruler?

Cheers,

Jeff
Logged

Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 06:35:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have just received my I1 Photo and have started creating profiles for my printers. The 918 patch that comes with I1 Match is fine but when I try to use Bill Atkinson's 1728 patch I can't get a clean reading. It continually gives me the 'too many errors' message. Is this just me being clumsy, or is there a limit to what can be scanned using the ruler?

Cheers,

Jeff
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=211315\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I just answered my own question. With a lot more perseverance, I managed to read the 1728 patch chart. Actually, it wasn't too bad once I worked it out. It would be really nice though if Xrite gave some vague indication about what was needed instead of showing how to use Easy RGB in a glib video. I guess it must help with IO sales
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2008, 08:07:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Perhaps you were scanning too quickly or unevenly? Also, sometimes going too slowly will lead to errors. Gotta aim for that happy middle point.
Logged

Czornyj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 08:38:04 AM »
ReplyReply

BTW - many thanks! I didn't realize that I can make a profile from 1728p. target in i1Match
Logged

Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 05:11:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
BTW - many thanks! I didn't realize that I can make a profile from 1728p. target in i1Match
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Here's how to do it, courtesy of Eric:

[a href=\"http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/i1BigTargets/index.html]http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/i1...gets/index.html[/url]

Cheers,

Jeff
Logged

Czornyj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1436



WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 05:23:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Here's how to do it, courtesy of Eric:

http://people.csail.mit.edu/ericchan/dp/i1...gets/index.html

Cheers,

Jeff
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=211572\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I alredy googled that out  Thanks again, Eric and Jeff! I really appriciate it - I didn't even know, that Measure Tool in PM 5 works without a dongle - in RWCM it was written, that it only works in 4.1.5
This makes my urge to get PM a little smaller
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 08:20:35 PM by Czornyj » Logged

Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2008, 04:21:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I alredy googled that out  Thanks again, Eric and Jeff! I really appriciate it - I didn't even know, that Measure Tool in PM 5 works without a dongle - in RWCM it was written, that it only works in 4.1.5
This makes my urge to get PM a little smaller
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=211576\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Measure tool works without a dongle still but the compare and average function don't. If anyone has  a copy of 4.1.5 lying about, I'd love to get a copy. It looks like a lot better proposition than doing it in Excel.
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9218



WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2008, 08:31:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Measure tool works without a dongle still but the compare and average function don't.

Compare does, Average doesn't. Spot works in demo as well.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2008, 10:19:49 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Compare does, Average doesn't. Spot works in demo as well.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=212026\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks Andrew. That makes Excel a bit easier.

Cheers,

Jef
Logged

eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4205



« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2008, 07:06:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I just answered my own question. With a lot more perseverance, I managed to read the 1728 patch chart. Actually, it wasn't too bad once I worked it out. It would be really nice though if Xrite gave some vague indication about what was needed instead of showing how to use Easy RGB in a glib video. I guess it must help with IO sales
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=211367\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Do you have the "new" ruler with the backing plate ? This is an absolute must-have.

Edmund
Logged
Jeff-Grant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231


WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2008, 07:09:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Do you have the "new" ruler with the backing plate ? This is an absolute must-have.

Edmund
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=212945\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


I sure do. I only just bought the kit.  
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad