Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Calibration not working? luminosity & White Point  (Read 3778 times)
mda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« on: October 19, 2008, 04:09:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi - hopefully someone will have some insight for me.
I am having a strange problem with my LCD monitors and calibration.

The monitors are LCD
Samsung 740T
Samsung 740B

Calibration tool - i1 display2
Vista
Geforce 7300 card

The calibration has worked great in the past, i have had the system for about 2 years now.
Recently though, i am experiencing problems with the Luminosity targeting and the White Point manipulation while calibrating.
The Luminosity, when calibrating, cannot be moved above 60?  Having no way to reach the 120 target.
When trying to adjust the White Point (when not using Native, as i had in the past) settings, the moving up and down of the RGB seems to do nothing at all to shift the color.

This all results, as you could imagine, as incorrect color.  My reds (in CS) have been pumped up, and the dark levels are all too high, but then print out too dark.

Any idea on what the culprit could be?

There are 2 different monitors, and they both exhibit the same problem, so i'm not sure that they are the problem.
(when loading past profiles, it seems to go back to somewhat normal, but not really)

I've taken great care of the puck, so i'm not sure that it could be broken or something?

Any help would be fantastic!!!!
Also, if anyone has a recommendation on a LCD replacement in the $300 to $400 range, feel free to mention...

Thanks so much!
Logged
Czornyj
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1373



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 04:36:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mda
Hi - hopefully someone will have some insight for me.
I am having a strange problem with my LCD monitors and calibration.

The monitors are LCD
Samsung 740T
Samsung 740B

Calibration tool - i1 display2
Vista
Geforce 7300 card

The calibration has worked great in the past, i have had the system for about 2 years now.
Recently though, i am experiencing problems with the Luminosity targeting and the White Point manipulation while calibrating.
The Luminosity, when calibrating, cannot be moved above 60?  Having no way to reach the 120 target.
When trying to adjust the White Point (when not using Native, as i had in the past) settings, the moving up and down of the RGB seems to do nothing at all to shift the color.

This all results, as you could imagine, as incorrect color.  My reds (in CS) have been pumped up, and the dark levels are all too high, but then print out too dark.

Any idea on what the culprit could be?

There are 2 different monitors, and they both exhibit the same problem, so i'm not sure that they are the problem.
(when loading past profiles, it seems to go back to somewhat normal, but not really)

I've taken great care of the puck, so i'm not sure that it could be broken or something?

Any help would be fantastic!!!!
Also, if anyone has a recommendation on a LCD replacement in the $300 to $400 range, feel free to mention...

Thanks so much!

It seems to be colorimeter malfunction. Try to check it - if it's i1, there's a dignostics software on X-rite site:
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx...;SoftwareID=506
Logged

mda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 04:52:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Czornyj
It seems to be colorimeter malfunction. Try to check it - if it's i1, there's a dignostics software on X-rite site:
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx...;SoftwareID=506



Thanks Czornyj,
I forgot about that tool...  Unfortunately all tests were "successful"  and a "Pass" for the overall test.

So i'm still at square one.
Logged
The View
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 997


« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2008, 07:07:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mda
Thanks Czornyj,
I forgot about that tool...  Unfortunately all tests were "successful"  and a "Pass" for the overall test.

So i'm still at square one.


I also got some weird luminosity results in advance mode of the i1d2.

When I recalibrated today, my 24" white iMacs luminosity level was measured as 85 cd/2. That was three bars up from the minimum brightness, where I had set it 6 weeks ago to reach 120 cd2.

Now I cranked up the brightness to 50% of maximum brightness to reach 120 cd/2.

This is weird. I wonder if some changes in system software can cause this.

As you are Windows and I am on a Mac I just wonder what's going on. Because my i1d2 also passed the check-up software test.


PS: the images look the same even when I switch from the 6 week old profile to the new one.
Logged

Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.
mda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2008, 07:57:19 PM »
ReplyReply

For more background troubleshooting.

I've also updated all drivers -  Graphics Card and newest version of the Match3 software.
Tried to calibrate again, with same bad results,

then rolled back the graphics drivers to 2 or 3 previous versions, and went to the older Match3 software - and again, the same results.

As a note for calibrating the white point.  When at the point where to adjust each slider, they look like this:

Red = 100%
Green = 0%
Blue = 100%

when i change these with the monitor controls, the color shifts on screen - but the software doesn't read the changes.
Which is the same effect as the Luminance - the screen changes but the software doesn't recognize it.

This would say that it's the software - but the old version used to work just fine, and doesn't now -
as well as the puck passes all the x-rite tests........


Very frustrating, as i don't feel like investing in a whole new system, just to solve a problem, or rather - ignore it.


Logged
The View
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 997


« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 09:43:18 PM »
ReplyReply

If you have an LCD display, use "native white point" and 2.2 gamma.

If you don't use native white point, you will get a color cast.
Logged

Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.
mda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2008, 09:49:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Yeah,
I used to experiment with 5000 and 5500,
but have been actually using Native White point for a while now -  like the past year i guess.

But this problem has just started within the last few weeks.

THanks though...
Logged
jackbingham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 206


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2008, 03:06:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: The View
If you have an LCD display, use "native white point" and 2.2 gamma.

If you don't use native white point, you will get a color cast.


Ah........no. Use native white if your monitor and calibration tool can not do a reasonable job of smoothing the tonal loss that will occur from making the adjustments in the video card. That being said there is no reason to use native unless you don't care about a screen to print match. If you need them to match native is not the answer. There is no correlation between not using native and getting a cast. Actually the opposite is more likely to be true unless the display manufacturer actually produces the
white point you want.
Logged

Jack Bingham
Integrated Color Corp Makers of Coloreyes Display
rdonson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1420


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2008, 03:52:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mda
Yeah,
I used to experiment with 5000 and 5500,
but have been actually using Native White point for a while now -  like the past year i guess.

But this problem has just started within the last few weeks.

THanks though...

Have you checked to make sure that some color utility hasn't been applied in the last couple of weeks?  Something like Adobe Gamma or perhaps some wonderful goodie from MS?
Logged

[span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'][span style='font-family:Arial'][span style='font-family:Geneva'][span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%']Regards,
Ron[/span][/span][/span][/span]
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad